We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Phil's Tara Hideaway
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bayport, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate there for our anniversary. We know it gets crowded so went early, 5:00. Great service. We both had the filet mignon and it was delicious. Cooked perfect and melted in your mouth. Desserts were also very tasty. The tables are very close together and it does get very loud in there. But will continue to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    106
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You might have to wait awhile”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place gets crowded fast and it's small, but the food, service, owner are all worth the wait. They do have outside seating while you wait when the weather is nice, but it can be very crowded during the cooler months.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank N0nni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crowded cabin atmosphere sign how good the food is”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

At 6 p.m. on a Friday night, Phil's Tara Hideaway is bursting at the seems with humanity. Hidden away below Hwy. 36 where it ends at the St. Croix River in Stillwater, Phil's parking lot isn't nearly big enough to hold all the cars of folks coming for the great food.
Log cabin decor, tables crowded together, no room for the wait staff to get through -- none of that matters. Our group of six tried a good stretch of the menu -- steak, prime rib, walleye, salmon, scallops, new England clam chowder -- and there were members of the Clean Plate Club all the way around the table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zyskokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, unique local spot.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The food was excellent -- I've never been disappointed with the Walleye choice. The ambience is local with lots of energy and the location is a tucked away little spot that influences your mood before you walk in the door. Excellent service; good value for $$.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner last week. It is a combination of a Wisconsin supper club and a greek restaurant. It was very crowded on a Tuesday night. We started with a supper club classic, Old Fashion drink. It was excellent. The atmosphere was busy, bustling, and yet attentive. There were three in our party and we sampled the gyros sandwich, a steak, and the pork chop. Everything was excellent. We would definitely recommend this place and hope to return soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Tara Hideaway also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Tara Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing