We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Patio, not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanghai Bistro - CLOSED

Shanghai Bistro
Cuisines: Chinese, American, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Patio, not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have sat on the patio many times and especially enjoy it because it is dog friendly. So friendly that they often bring out a small bag of quality dog food and a water bowl for them. The service for the animals was terrific - not so great for the humans. We waited patiently for 20 minutes before our drink orders were taken and than another 15 minutes to order food. The food was good but by the time we got it we were ready to be disappointed. Prices are inconsistent with some bargains and some outrageous.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlinggriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    12
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bad Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Been there four times, food is great! although I only ate their once because the other three times I got up and left the service was that bad.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Spine1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find on this little gem located right downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent food, fun drinks, great lunch specials! Very nice outdoor patio with full service for delicious very tasty small plates and creative, fresh fruit drinks with umbrellas flaming at your table!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I love Shanghai Bistro for their great food, wonderful service and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Amazing restaurant with great service. As beautiful inside as out. They have a great patio with cabanas, water feature, lighting and music. Love their sushi as well as their Asian delights. Make sure you search this gem of a restaurant out, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE the outdoor seating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

You can't beat the outdoor seating here. I love it out there in the summer! Inside is nice too, so no worries. There's always some type of nice background live music at night when we go there. Sushi is very good. We love sushi and have gone to several sushi places in the twin cities. This is one of our favorites. We love Stillwater too. So romantic there! This is a great place for a date. You can sit outside near a fire if it's chilly and chat for hours. Wait staff has always been friendly and knowledgeable. Good service. Not many choices for kids, so I'd recommend mostly for adults only who enjoy sushi.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank minnesotanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing