We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann Bean Mansion B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the Place to Stay!”
Reviewed June 11, 2008

This was our first time staying at a B&B, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had been skeptical about going to one because of fear of strange, overly talkative hosts or having to interact at breakfast with strangers. Erin was very hospitable, but not awkwardly so, being a young, vibrant person that was friendly and easy to talk to. There was also the option of having breakfast served to our room, which was a welcome addition to our relaxing stay.
We stayed in Cynthia's room, which we will choose next time we book. Though all the rooms looked wonderful, this one had a king sized bed and a giant, 6 foot whirlpool tub.
The breakfast was amazing, being a four course gourmet meal. I also elected for the "Victorian Basket," which added a nice touch to the experience.
Our stay changed our preconceptions about B&Bs, and we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Relaxing, inviting atmosphere. Giant tub.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank M_M_527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
169
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My husband & I booked the Tower Room for a final getaway before the birth of our first child. We found the Ann Bean Mansion to be perfect for the rest, relaxation, and privacy we needed. The room was beautiful...very cozy and a bit adventurous with the 2nd floor Tower Room. It provided a perfect set-up for an intimate and delicious breakfast in the morning! Jeremy & Erin were wonderful hosts and blessed us with their big hearts to serve so joyfully. If you're looking for a great getaway in Stillwater, the Ann Bean Mansion is the place!

  • Liked — Warm, homey feel away from home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chasedaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

My wife and I were looking for the perfect place to celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversary. We found what we were looking for at the Anne Bean Mansion in beautiful Stillwater, MN! We were amazed at the beauty of the house, and how the Drews have done so much work to preserve its historical accuracy and beauty. We stayed in the Tower Room which overlooks the neighborhood and the St. Croix river. The room was just the right size, extremely comfortable, and the perfect environment for my wife and I to slow down and relax. We especially enjoyed reading in the tower room over a cup of fresh brewed coffee.

The food was fantastic! We had a perfectly prepared pear, cream stuffed French toast, home baked muffins, and a chilled creme bru le' for dessert. We choose to eat our breakfast in the dining room with the Drews as opposed to having our meal delivered to our room. While we ate, we were able to hear more about the house and the neighbor hood. It was a wonderful experience.

One thing that particularly impressed me was the way the Drews accommodated my wife. She was 8 1/2 months pregnant during our stay, and Drews took extra time to make sure her physical and dietary needs were met. The Anne Bean Mansion is definitely the place to go to find wonderful hospitality and an elegant yet comfortable atmosphere.

I highly recommend the Anne Bean Mansion to anyone!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank philthecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Ann Bean Mansion. We were in the Tower Room and it was lovely. We especially loved having coffee in the Tower before breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful with short bread, wine poached pears, an raised apple pancake and cream brulee to top it off. Visiting with our hosts was fun and we enjoyed hearing about the house and their plans for it. Looking at the other rooms in this great Victorian was also fun as each is unique and decorated beautifully with wonderful antiques as well as new ammenities. The location close to downtown was very nice as we could just walk down to find a great spot for dinner. And the resident cat was so sweet. She came up to visit us in the tower. All in all it was a wonderful stay and we will be back

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wlnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Our second stay in Stillwater at a B&B but our first at the Ann Bean. We selected the Ann Bean based on the reviews which were written here. Everything that has been written about this place is spot on!!!!

The innkeepers were friendly and service oriented and the breakfast was amazing. We would definitely return again and again until we decide which room we like best. If you are trying to decide which b&b to stay at in Stillwater, I would most definitely read the reviews here and pay attention to them. What you see on the webpage is what you get and there are NO suprises here!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisathew8lifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We had just moved into a townhouse in the Stillwater area and lacked the space to have our family (15 people) for Thanksgiving dinner. However, we were able to secure use of the Anne Bean mansion to host our family for Thanksgiving dinner. What a blessing! The family loved looking around the mansion, visiting in the sitting room, and being able to visit and eat together. If the mansion is available next year, we would love to repeat as Thanksgiving hosts.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank UlaOakParkHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Wonderful, spacious accommodations, a real wood-burning fireplace, a whirlpool big enough to swim laps, and an easy distance into Stillwater. My wife and I were delighted from beginning to end. Check in was excellent, or host immediately warmed us up with hot chocolate and a shot of Bailey's.

Be sure to get the "Victorian Gift Basket" - the selection of cheeses, chocolates, and fruits complimented our wine and kept us nibbling and energetic all through the evening.

Even though the Mansion was full (we stayed over a Saturday night) we didn't hear any other guests - a rarity in our B&B experiences. We were shocked the next morning to find four other couples.

Breakfast was superb. Our only regret was that we had to leave.

Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EEKOakParkIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.4 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.0 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
98 reviews
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Bean Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Bean Mansion B&B

Property: Ann Bean Mansion B&B
Address: 319 Pine St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4933
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor a stress-free evening of luxury! Escape to our grand Victorian mansion, noted for exceptionally large rooms with fireplace, private bathroom and double whirlpool; gourmet breakfasts (in bed if you wish); and outstanding hospitality! Enjoy historic character with modern comforts: lounge on a luxury king bed, kick back in a whirlpool-for-two, relax with a glass of wine (or brew)! Within walking distance to historic downtown Stillwater. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ann Bean Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Ann Bean Mansion Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing