We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in this beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James Mulvey Inn, Carriage House BB
Ranked #6 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a return visit to the Mulvey, now called the James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House. Same fantastic wooded setting, but they are renting only the Carriage House rooms, hence there is a change of address to 807 Harriet St S. The Carriage House rooms were always the best anyway- very architectural with lots of nice original art. So now they do an off site breakfast at the Lowell Inn which proved to be a plus for us because you can go at 10. But it is all a more private experience, for you and yours, in a couple of the best rooms in town. We like it.

Room Tip: Either room is beautiful. I've stayed in both and they are equally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the James Mulvey Inn for one night to celebrate our anniversary. We had stayed here previously when it had been under another owner. We stayed in the Bordeaux Suite. We were disappointed that the room is MUCH smaller that it appears in the photos. Also, if you are tall, take note that it has sloped ceilings and you might have a headache from bumping your head if you don't watch yourself when walking through. My husband is 6'5 and did not like the room at all because of this. Also, there is NO bathroom DOOR! I found this irritating and although I have been married for ten years, I do appreciate a little privacy when using the facilities. Overall, we were not at all impressed....

Also, make sure and take note that although this is a "Bed and Breakfast," the breakfast is not served on-site and guests are given a voucher to dine elsewhere. We ended up getting to breakfast late and not being able to use the voucher. So, the breakfast that we were so looking forward to was a disappointment. We did miss not having breakfast on-site and found it not convenient to drive around town to honor a voucher. However, we ended up eating an early lunch at the Freight House and it was delicious.

We love Stillwater and this is a cute place, but we will not return.

Room Tip: Tall people should beware of the sloped ceilings in the Bordeaux Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anybodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stillwater's James Mulvey Inn provides an intimate alternative to everyday lodging. The owners have revamped a stone carriage house in a quiet neighborhood and enhanced the location with a carefully tended garden and swimming pool, visible below the second-floor guest rooms (there are two). The inn is a five-minute drive from Stillwater's bustling and ever-so-charming riverfront downtown, which features a terrific restaurant called Domacin. On the banks of the St. Croix and just across the border from Wisconsin, this is a town not to be missed. But I am not a fan of bathtubs in bedrooms, so was somewhat disappointed by the whirlpool steps from our very comfortable bed. Because the inn features itself as a romantic getaway, some may find the so-close bath just fine. Also, no cable, so be prepared. But the owners have made dozens of old movie DVDs available for free to stuff into a TV screen hanging from the ceiling at the end of the bed. Or you could bring your own. If you get bored, read the guest comments in the room's log: Many people seem to spend a weekend and fall in love again. The inn's a bit pricey for what is being offered, but is quiet and unique. And after all, what price tag can you put on love?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband surprised me by taking me to Stillwater's Carriage House Bed and Breakfast for our anniversary this past winter. We stayed in the Bordeaux Suite and truly loved it! Upon arriving, there was no formal check-in process - the key was waiting in the door for us upon arrival. This truly made for a private experience. The Inn Keepers stocked our cupboards before we came with juices, water bottles, chocolates, wine, peanuts, and Keurig coffee cups. Being that it was in the middle of winter, we really enjoyed the fireplace and the jacuzzi tub. Downtown Stillwater is just a short drive away and we enjoyed going to the cute shops and having access to a nice selection of restaurants. For breakfast, the Inn provided us with vouchers for the Lowell Inn Restaurant, which was delicious! I highly recommend the Carriage House for a short weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Staying in the Art Deco suite of the James Mulvey Englishman's Carriage House is always a unique experience, and this was not our first stay at this favorite place of ours. True and Jill are art collectors and consummate decorators, and they’ve created an elegant retreat. Walking into the suite feels like stepping back into the 30’s as you are enveloped in the warm and sensuous art deco décor. Abundant wall art—some of which is absolutely stunning—fixtures, and many other little details create a perfect experience. Really, the attention to detail is amazing. We also love the unique hotel-like independence (no sense of stepping into someone else’s home) along with the Bed and Breakfast coziness and luxury. Breakfast at the Lowell Inn is a delightful variation on the usual B&B routine as well. Thanks True and Jill for creating the perfect place to enjoy the distinctive pleasures of old Stillwater! We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prof-PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The James Mulvey Inn is a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of our city life of raising children, jobs, and busy, busy busy calendars. Located in a residential area of Stillwater yet very close to all the wonderful restaurants and cozy shops, this 2 bedroom option Bed and Breakfast is exactly what we needed. The rooms are wonderful, quaint and very private. The fireplaces and views are spectacular. In addition, what we actually loved was that no breakfast is served on the premises. To some, this may seem like not desirable, but for my wife and I, getting a private breakfast at the wonderful and historic Lowell Inn (that was included in the price of our stay at The Mulvey Inn) was the perfect way to reignite our love and friendship in our get-away. We highly recommend this Inn!

By the way, we think Marx is just a divine place to have dinner as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art Deco Suite. It. Is. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorTrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The James Mulvey Inn consists of just two rooms that are offered to the public. Both are on the upper floor of an historic carriage house.

The grounds are beautiful; the location is right in town but nonetheless secluded and very quiet. The outdoor pool looked inviting but with the temperature in the 40’s we passed. The location is one mile up a very steep hill from downtown Stillwater. Most people will choose to drive.
The decoration is fun, unique, uncluttered, and not Victorian. We stayed in the Art Deco room and loved it.
This Inn is unusual in a number of ways:
We found a welcoming note and instructions but never saw any representative of the Inn. Breakfast is served at the Lowell in which is nearly a mile away. They provide a voucher that covers the entire cost.
There are no public areas of the house. You are getting a very nice room and use of the gardens and grounds around the carriage house, but do not expect to use or even see any common areas inside the building.
This is the most private B & B that I have ever stayed at.
We would recommend the James Mulvey Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.7 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.0 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
105 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Mulvey Inn, Carriage House BB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Mulvey Inn, Carriage House BB

Address: 807 Harriet St S, Stillwater, MN 55082-5740
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Bed and Breakfast. The Estate of James Mulvey has graced historic Stillwater for 133 years. Located on an acre and one half campus on Stillwater’s south hill area, walking distance for downtown, the Italianate mansion and stone Carriage House have welcomed guests to an historic inn experience for over 20 years. Currently, two luxury suites are being made available for guest reservations in the Carriage House – the Bordeaux Suite and the Art Deco Suite. These rooms have been the luxury suites of the Inn since its beginning in 1992. The Carriage House itself is a unique historic structure. Built originally to house the Mulvey’s collection of carriages and fine horses. Today the Carriage House, with pool, resembles an English cottage in the Cottwolds. Guest visits to our Inn provide a uniquely private bed and breakfast experience. Our arrangements and preparations allow your to feel welcome in our Inn, without a social reception. Likewise, you may enjoy breakfast in your room or share it with your loved one, on white linen at the historic Lowell Inn. Stillwater is the Jewel of Minnesota. Its bluffs hug the edge of one of the most beautiful rivers in the Midwest, and visitors find numerous year-round activities in all seasons to keep this a favorite destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing