We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lacking basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We got a very basic room -- 2 queen beds, no fridge (we had to go buy a styrofoam cooler and ice for soda and drinks), and no VCR or DVD -- and the price was almost $200 a night. The bathroom wallpaper was peeling and the shower faucet was almost falling off. The toilet did not flush very well, to top it off, the non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Overall, pretty disappointing. Wasn't expecting much out of a CI&S in Stillwater but basics would have been nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairnsrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_stil, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Thank you for the review on our property from your stay in Stillwater. I wanted to let you know that we do offer Suites that would provide you with a microwave and a refridgerator in your room.
We do not have DVD players in any of our rooms as like in most hotels, these are not considered "basics."
We are addressing the other issues with our staff and hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
H Davis, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We have 5 people in our family. We got a suite with a king bed and a sofa pull-out, so one kid slept on the floor (since two teens cannot sleep with each other, heaven forbid). Overall, it's a very nice hotel, big pool, clean, great breakfast, nice staff. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family-with-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We needed a get away so we came to the Country Inn & Suites in Stillwater. I traveled with my family (2adults & 3kids), it was perfect for all of us. Kevin the night/ daytiime front desk employees was great, very friendly & he assisted us with whatever we needed. The room was big and clean. The pool was nice & warm, the hot tub was nice & HOT. Breakfast was awesome. It was a very relaxing night for us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmn2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Country Inn was was a well kept and comfortable place. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a very nice indoor pool. It is located on a busy road a ways out of town, but was not noisy at all. There are many stores and restaurants in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

It is very disappointing to go to a hotel to swim and relax, only to find the pool so cold NO ONE will go into it. We were there on a Saturday night to Sunday morning....no one in the pool.
As we were checking out, guests were asked, "how was everything?" the answer..."good."
I said, to the people that had been complaining about the cold pool, "was the pool good?" "Or was it so cold no one would go in?"
Because they all had disappointed children. Then they all agreed that it was very cold. In fact, we asked Sat. if they would turn up the heat. We were told it would take 5 hours to warm up. We said, good, then it will be warm in the morning. It was the same in the morning. The hot tub had at least a foot of gray foam covering it!
I was assured that they would comp "ME" another stay. Which they did, but why would you want to go again?
I will probably try it on a HOT summer day since I did receive a free night. If it is better, I will let you know.
Hotel managers need to know that a warm pool brings the families back. Charge us more for a room, so you can pay to warm up the pool. 80 degrees sounds warm. It is 18.6 degrees below body temp. 85 is 13.6 degrees below body temp. I wonder how many managers use their pool?

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

I feel confident in saying this was a wonderful place to stay seeing as how we were at the hotel for more than a week attending to funeral/family obligations.

The staff is friendly and courteous and the lobby was small and intimate with a fireplace, couches and chairs. There was a bookshelf full of books and books on tape that you could rent. While most lobbies are beautiful, etc. I never feel good hanging around them. Not the case here. We sat down there several times with family and felt so at home.

The suite was large with a sitting area/sofa bed. A bar-type area had a nice sized fridge and microwave with storage around it.

The bathroom is spacious as well as bedroom. I do agree with another review in feeling that the AC/Heat is a problem because it is located only in the bedroom. We didn't keep the door closed all night and both rooms have ceiling fans which help.

The pool is great, although it is very stuffy to sit in there if you're not swimming. While we were there ours were the only two kids and they swam every night. The pool is open late (11pm or midnight, I think) which is great!

There are several restaurants in the area as well a Kohl's, Wal-Mart and other places you always seem to need while away from home.

Note: if you are handicapped or have physical disabilities you will need to request a ground-floor room as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank me3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

This was a basic vanilla accommodation. The room was large enough - 2 queen beds, small TV, furniture was not large enough to unpack suitcases for 2 adults and 1 small child. AC unit was loud. Bottom sheet on one bed was ripped. Towels were really rough, but got new ones every day. The room appeared to be clean, although some housekeeping staff did a more thorough job than others. No mini frig or microwave in room. No fitness room, which I would have really liked. Complementary breakfast was bagels, muffins, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juice, yogurt, milk. Hard boiled eggs and sausage patties were offered one morning. Would have really liked some fruit - raisins, bananas or something to go with my oatmeal. Staff was OK, some were inexperienced and cranky and others were friendly and helpful. Somehow, clearing the dining room of all the food while a substantial number of guests were still eating at 9:30 am was a little annoying to me.

I guess 2 stars is relative to the location. Although I might go back for a short stay - we visited relatives, I might just as well stay at the holiday inn around the corner.

There appear to be no better hotels in this immediate area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
2 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater

Address: 2200 Frontage Rd W, Stillwater, MN 55082-2165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range: $92 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay® Hotel & Suites in Stillwater, MN will welcome you home after a long day of work or travel. Whether you stay in a standard room or a spacious deluxe suite, our Minnesota corporate lodging will help you relax and feel at home. We understand you need the ability to stay up to date on projects even while you aren’t in the office. If you need to catch up on some work, each guest room provides free wireless/wired internet access and telephone line. If it’s a project that requires additional space, our business hotel in Stillwater, MN allows you to arrange to meet your colleagues in our Meeting Room and consult each other in comfort. Treating our Business Guests in Style… Complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, Free Wireless/Wired Internet Access, Spacious room with executive-style accommodations, Free Local Phone Calls, Microwave, Mini-Refrigerator, Iron with Ironing Board, Hairdryer, Express Check-Out, Grand Returns Guest Loyalty Program. Book your business hotel room today with GrandStay Stillwater, MN hotel and enjoy our excellent amenities designed to accommodate all your Stillwater corporate lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossings By Grandstay Inn And Suites Stillwater
Crossings By Grandstay Inn & Suites Stillwater Hotel Stillwater
Country Inn Stillwater
Stillwater Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing