We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oh dear...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stillwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lowell Inn
Save
You added Lowell Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is such a mixed bag! We spent our anniversary in the lovely corner HoneyMoon Suite (room 336) with its fun double whirlpool, electric FP, & comfy bed. Nicely decorated, including fun lighting and beautiful chandeliers. I was dismayed to find only 2 "glasses" in the room - plastic covered plastic cups! Small, chintzy towels. Found the dirty cover to a cake plate next to the FP.
Just small stuff, but so out of place in that gorgeous room! It may be picky, but it really did take away from what would otherwise have been a totally special experience. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: The HM Suite has lots of light & space, private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    27
    21
    17
See reviews for
30
77
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a funky old hotel. Fine. But to actually have a room with no bathroom door and just a curtain and charge the same for it as for a bigger room with a bathroom door is too funky. When I requested a discount on the too funky room, I was basically told that I was lucky that it had a bathroom at all. Not good enough. I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Do not book on line. Make no assumptions about the most basic things (like doors). Ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 614LynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

Minnetonka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is like stepping into by-gone era. The furnishings, lighting, everything, looks turn of the century. So with that said, be aware that it is not tip-top perfect as you would find in another newer hotel charging about the same per night. They even have actual keys for your room - not a plastic card. Our room was pleasant enough, however there was no private bathroom - that is with doors. It only had curtains that you could draw to close, but those didn't even close all the way. Anyone traveling with someone they don't know EXTREMELY well would find it rather mortifying I think. There was also no shower - just a very large jacuzzi tub with a shower head you could pull out, but did not pull out tall enough to go over my 5'5 frame. The bed was comfortable enough, but had a dip in the middle. Not bad enough to fall into or anything. The towels were of extremely poor quality. There was a dip in the floor as well which was very strange. The staff was very helpful and nice, even telling us that the next day if we wanted to go into some of the other rooms to check them out, we could. We went into about 8 other rooms. Every single one of them was different. Ours seemed to be the most dated room we saw. We had breakfaast in the George Washington room the next morning. It was decent, although the bacon tasted funky. The waitstaff there was very pleasant as well. We would stay there again - in a different room - as it is within walking distance to the main drag with all the shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel would do well to invest in new towels, new carpeting, and a good painter who knows how to scrape really well first.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so be prepared if you cannot do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family and I wanted to get away close to home for Christmas Eve. The Lowell Inn was a perfect place. The historic charm of the rooms and dining area, coupled with the amazing food, was absolutely delightful! When we woke up to a cold winter morning and our car did not start, the staff was ever so helpful and we were on the road in no time!

Room Tip: Options for jacuzzi is available and very elegant and historic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here in October for an on-site wedding. Loved the location and the validated parking. Rehearsal dinner was held on-site and it was fantastic. Wedding food was okay but the bartender was a total tool. We were asked at the last minute if we'd be interested in a free room upgrade. I love free and the woman said the room had a jacuzzi. Double bonus! What I failed to realize is that the jacuzzi was in place of a shower, was in the middle of the room, and lacked a normal bathroom. The toilet was enclosed in curtains. I kid you not. Sure the place had some charming qualities but I wasn't prepared for the room inconveniences. Would definitely ask for more details on the room next time.

Room Tip: No elevator so plan accordingly! Also, ask about the rooms in great detail! i.e. is there a door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjbadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lowell Inn. The decorations were unique, gorgeous, and charming.The jacuzzi room was very pleasant and comfortable. Bring your camera, there's lots to see at this Inn. Everything was to our satisfaction, especially the breakfeast. We were disappointed that it wasn't complimentary but trust me-- it is TOTALLY worth the money! Their breakfeast is outstanding, cooked to perfection! We also received good, attentive service from our waitress. This will ENHANCE your overall experience at this inn, as it did for ours!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I live close enough to make it to the restsurant here about once a month...everything I have had is delicious! This is family owned and operated and they are actively checking on how thing are running! I love that! I have seen many beautiful weddings here! Only a few blocks from the water, and there is a newer parking ramp next door.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 71KAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.1 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.3 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#4 of 9 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Inn

Property: Lowell Inn
Address: 102 2nd St N, Stillwater, MN 55082-5099
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lowell Inn and Restaurant and Banquet Center...where historic charm blends with contemporary elegance. Established in 1927, the Lowell Inn offers fine dining for business or pleasure and thirty-five newly restored rooms in beautiful downtown Stillwater, Minnesota. We are uniquely qualified to make your experience with us perfect, be that an intimate family celebration, a wedding, a groom's dinner or an anniversary. We also can accomodate formal events and business meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel Stillwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing