We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful , romantic getaway”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. The inn and our particular room were beautiful and the food and hospitality were excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stillwater is always a great town for a weekend get away! The Rivertown Inn is a gem we just discovered. It was a terrific place to celebrate our 44th anniversary. The room, the evening wine and appetizers, and of course the breakfast were all presented beautifully. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to stay in the St. Croix River area.

Room Tip: All the rooms we peeked into we're beautifully appointed and the online pictures are great, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It will be hard to ever find another B&B that will top Rivertown Inn!

We stayed in the Lewis Carroll studio room, and it was lovely. The bed was a bit too soft for my liking, but that's all I can think to complain about. The bathroom/tub were part of the room with a curtain separating the toilet somewhat. Everything felt very clean and was very well-maintained.

Breakfast was excellent and felt very gourmet. The ingredients were fresh, local, organic, etc. The chef came out to explain each course, and he was a fun, personable guy. It made the experience lovely.

The grounds were well-maintained and absolutely beautiful. We were there in the fall, so the colors were gorgeous. Also, the location is convenient; we walked to Main Street for dinner and shopping so we didn't have to drive and find a parking spot.

We will be planning another stay at Rivertown Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjetta17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We celebrated our 10th anniversary here and were absolutely pleased with just about everything. The property is beautifully decorated, the evening social hour very nice, and the breakfast and chef delightful. A very peaceful, quiet, pastoral setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank rdowhower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was looking for a place to take my wife for our 10 year wedding aniversary and I must say according to my wife it was the most beautiful hotel/ inn she had ever stayed in, and we have stayed in some of the worlds finest resorts so that's saying a lot. She said it was incredible and she couldn't believe that after 10 years I was still able to show her places that still wowed her. Needless to say I did my research.
I looked at many b&b's across the U.S using magazines, internet reviews, and news articles to find some of the best B&B's out there. When I stumbled across this one from the moment I saw there website I knew they would be the one. First off let me start by saying that while this place is gorgeous online the pictures do not do it justice. It IS STUNNING. The breakfast was incredible, the service was inpeckable and the location was within walking distance to the main street. I stayed in the Browning suite and while it was not my first choice (it was the only one available during the time I wanted) that feeling quickly went out the window because you guessed it, that room was also AMAZING. Seriously I would be happy sleeping in a hallway at the River Town Inn because the entire house is just incredible. All in all this was in my opinion the number one bed and breakfast in Stillwater if not then entire state and or country . The only thing I wasn't a fan of was that the sound carries a bit more in these old houses and if you are a light sleeper recommend you bring some ear plugs or sleep on the highest floor maybe even the carriage house ( top floor). But again everything else just makes up for it. Parking was also easy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great B & B in beautiful Stillwater. The service was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous. Unbelievable breakfast in the morning. Nice selection of rooms are available. Within walking distance of downtown Stillwater.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Agatha Christie grand suite. Loved the attention to detail and the jet tub. The cleanliness is excellent. The garden was gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious. The service friendly and attentive. We did give a couple of suggestions to improve the suite. Install a makeup mirror due to dim lighting in the bathroom. We didn't like the mattress and the rail at the end of the bed made it difficult to get out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
353 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Aurora Staples Inn
Aurora Staples Inn
#1 of 8 in Stillwater
407 reviews
10.7 mi away
Afton House Inn
Afton House Inn
#1 of 2 in Afton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $246 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing