We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great B & B in beautiful Stillwater. The service was amazing. The grounds were gorgeous. Unbelievable breakfast in the morning. Nice selection of rooms are available. Within walking distance of downtown Stillwater.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Rivertown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Agatha Christie grand suite. Loved the attention to detail and the jet tub. The cleanliness is excellent. The garden was gorgeous. The breakfast was delicious. The service friendly and attentive. We did give a couple of suggestions to improve the suite. Install a makeup mirror due to dim lighting in the bathroom. We didn't like the mattress and the rail at the end of the bed made it difficult to get out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and loved it. Chef Ray is fantastic and you shouldn't miss the wine hour starting at 5pm. The breakfast is one-of-a-kind wonderful prepared by the chef, and then you are ready for the day. We start the weekend by getting massages at the Just For Me Spa to kick-start our time away from the kids. The bedchamber rooms are a bit smaller than the suites and are worth the increased price. You can eat outside on the wraparound porch which is such a treat!

Room Tip: If you are tall make sure you look carefully at the description of the bed. We like the Browning Su...
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I went there for an overnight stay for our anniversary and this will now be an annual visit for us! We've been to quite a few bed and breakfasts in Minnesota and this one is by far the best! There is ample parking, and the house and grounds are absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite and loved it! The attention to detail in this themed suite was amazing. When we stepped into the room we felt so comfortable there that we wished we could have stayed for two nights. A very romantic room. The picture on the website doesn't do it justice! Very large shower with two shower heads and steam availability. A large whirlpool tub also. The bed was unique and so comfortable. The breakfast was delivered to our room and was delicious of course! Every amenity you may need is made available to you, from wine, coffee, to bottled water. We just cannot say enough good things about this place! Stillwater is a great town, if you are planning a romantic overnight stay, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the main shopping street, but beware becasue it is three blocks straight up! Not bad going down but a bit strenuous walking up! As with most of Stillwater, the Inn is Victorian with heavy furniture and a bit dark, even in summer sunlight. Our room was in the attic but there is air conditioning and a fan so it was comfortable sleeping even on a hot muggy night. The bed was comfortable and we loved the double whirlpool tub, especially after climbing up from downtown. WIne and snacks are served from 5 to 6 each evening. It was very pleasant to sit on the wide porch and relax. Breakfast was served on the porch the next morning with all guests at tables for two. This was, for us, a welcome change from the typical B&B where you all sit together and have to make conversation over breakfast. Not bad but on a romantic weekend away it was nice to have a table to ourselves. Breakfast itself was wonderful. The chef came out and described each of the four courses in detail which was interesting. Serously the best bran muffin ever! Fresh squeezed juice, great coffee. Overall great experience and we would go back.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures online and choose a decor that appeals to you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 2nd anniversary by doing something unique so we stayed at Rivertown Inn for a night. Our experience was fantastic!!! We stayed in the Lewis Carroll bedchamber. The room was so cute and interesting. It was apparent that a lot of thought and planning went into the decor and theme of the room. We've stayed at a few B&Bs, but this one was unlike any other. There was a cocktail hour at 5pm with complimentary wine and appetizers and the three-course breakfast was out of this world! It was the fanciest, tastiest, most well thought out breakfast I've ever had. And the chef was there to answer questions and present each course. The experience and special touches at this inn were well worth the price. I hope to stay there again in the future, but next time I might stay in a suite!

Room Tip: Bedchambers don't have shower stalls. Suites have full bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franz131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This B&B is stunningly beautiful. The attention to detail in each and every piece on display in the common areas and rooms is amazing. We stayed in the Byron Suite and it was comfy, cozy and elegant. It's fun to just appreciate the artwork, books and architecture in the room. The social hour was fun and we met some nice people. And the breakfast was outstanding! The grounds are also beautiful.

The only thing that kept it from being a 5-star experience was the shower in the bathroom. There is a really great, 2-person jacuzzi in the bathroom with a pull-out shower head. Unfortunately, the shower seemed to only have two heat settings: scalding or freezing. That made for a bit of an unpleasant experience in the morning. But had that not occurred, it was a solid 5-star experience!

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $246 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing