We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly professional”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was the third experience here over 12 years. It has only improved over time. We stayed in the agatha christy suit, which is the ultimate in accommodations. They have spared no expense in every detail, from genuine antiques to Bose wave radios to bathroom fixtures. Grounds were beautiful. Breakfast was the best, gourmet breakfast we have ever had, including the descriptions and explanations of each course. He wil gladly share recipes!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a night at this Inn. We got there right before social hour and enjoyed some delicious complimentary wine. The grounds were beautiful, with many places to sit and enjoy the company of just whom you're with or of other guests. They have a lovely fountain and a gazebo so the bugs can't get you. The place would have been amazing just for this, but they went above and beyond to help my boyfriend decorate the gazebo with rose pedals, candles and champagne. He proposed at this Inn and it was the most amazing weekend of my life. The trip ended with the best breakfast I have ever had from the chef at the Inn. It was a 6 course breakfast - he even changed one item for me because of an allergy. The Inn is clean, beautiful and has something new to look at with every turn. It would be impossible to regret your choice to book at the Rivertown Inn!

Room Tip: Every room is decorated around a historical figure. I don't think you can go wrong no matter whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Rivertown Inn is the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was great, my hats off to Ray he is not only a great chef but also a great entertainer. Thank You for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Rivertown Inn is by far the nicest and most professional B&B that we have ever stayed at - and we have stayed at many! Everthing they do, they do well! And it is well worth every dollar! Since we own an organic farm, we care deeply about the food we eat, and needless to say, we throughly enjoyed the breakfast! Now we are completely spoiled and no other B&B will ever be able to top what they have done! It is obvious that their heart is in it, and that they are interested in more than the buck they make. Thank you, Rivertown Inn! Keep up the good work! You are greatly appreciated, and we will be back! :)
Mike and Mindy Housman

Room Tip: All the room are exceptionally beautiful, but one thing I liked about the rooms on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I had been anticipating a visit to The Rivertown Inn for some time now. We arrived on the afternoon of June 3rd and the moment we were greeted by Marty our enchantment began. After providing us with a tour of the fabulous mansion, we entered the Jane Austen Suite and could do nothing but smile as a sense of relaxation washed over us.
The beauty of this property is readily evident. The hidden charm eminates from the marvelous staff. The afore mentioned Marty, and Tabitha saw to our every need a smile. And Chef Ray dazzled us with a superb breakfast the following morning. It was a repast unlike anything I have every enjoyed to begin a day.
My wife and I cannot say enough positive things about this flawless experience. The Rivertown Inn has raised the bar for any other B&B.
Readers - don't second guess yourselves, make your reservation NOW!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad choice - we explored the entire property and all the rooms are spotless an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

What better way to walk into Victorian luxury than to stay a night at the Rivertown Inn. Your evening begins with historic tour followed by being taken to a room that is true to the famous writer of the times' crescendo. Following was a blissful social hour with hors d’oeuvres and wine. After a night of sound sleep you’re awakened to coffee and a steam shower. As one makes their way down to the main level a multi gourmet breakfast is served with utmost attention to detail with added love to make your stay that much more sweeter! Much worth the price and forever a romantic memory to cherish!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Ben13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We celebrated our first Valentine's Day at this Inn in 1984, and with our children finally old enough to be left home alone, we went back to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. We plan to return again! We stayed in the Christina Rossetti Bedchamber, since I am a fan of Pre-Raphaelite art. It was lovely--cozy, comfortable, and very clean. (A very large person may not be comfortable in the attached bath, since it is a very efficient use of space.) There are curtains separating the bath from the bedroom--no door, which is fine for intimate couples. The ventilation was great, with a remote controlled AC unit as well as a gas fireplace in the room.

Check-in time is 4 pm, and if you are there promptly, you will be able to see the other rooms before they are occupied. They are all different, so it is fun to include this on your tour of the house.

The food and wine were great. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room (along with bottles of water). The social hour from 5-6 pm offered delicious snacks (cheeses and crackers, including one that was homemade using cheese, salami, fruit, etc.). Get there early though, since the offerings were not replenished.

Breakfast was served at 9 AM, and we came downstairs to find beautifully set dining room tables. The five courses filled us up so much that we didn't eat again until 5 PM. It was very delicious, health-conscious food, prepared in house with fresh, local, and organic ingredients. It was presented beautifully, and the chef explained each course.

The porch and gardens of the beautiful property were also very inviting, and we look forward to sitting outside during our next visit. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood up the hill from the downtown, an easy walk.

Room Tip: The website is extensive and offers a lot of pictures and good descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
4.8 mi away
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
#1 of 3 in Oak Park Heights
252 reviews
10.7 mi away
Afton House Inn
Afton House Inn
#1 of 2 in Afton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $246 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing