We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Every Expectation!”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I had been anticipating a visit to The Rivertown Inn for some time now. We arrived on the afternoon of June 3rd and the moment we were greeted by Marty our enchantment began. After providing us with a tour of the fabulous mansion, we entered the Jane Austen Suite and could do nothing but smile as a sense of relaxation washed over us.
The beauty of this property is readily evident. The hidden charm eminates from the marvelous staff. The afore mentioned Marty, and Tabitha saw to our every need a smile. And Chef Ray dazzled us with a superb breakfast the following morning. It was a repast unlike anything I have every enjoyed to begin a day.
My wife and I cannot say enough positive things about this flawless experience. The Rivertown Inn has raised the bar for any other B&B.
Readers - don't second guess yourselves, make your reservation NOW!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad choice - we explored the entire property and all the rooms are spotless an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

What better way to walk into Victorian luxury than to stay a night at the Rivertown Inn. Your evening begins with historic tour followed by being taken to a room that is true to the famous writer of the times' crescendo. Following was a blissful social hour with hors d’oeuvres and wine. After a night of sound sleep you’re awakened to coffee and a steam shower. As one makes their way down to the main level a multi gourmet breakfast is served with utmost attention to detail with added love to make your stay that much more sweeter! Much worth the price and forever a romantic memory to cherish!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Ben13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We celebrated our first Valentine's Day at this Inn in 1984, and with our children finally old enough to be left home alone, we went back to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. We plan to return again! We stayed in the Christina Rossetti Bedchamber, since I am a fan of Pre-Raphaelite art. It was lovely--cozy, comfortable, and very clean. (A very large person may not be comfortable in the attached bath, since it is a very efficient use of space.) There are curtains separating the bath from the bedroom--no door, which is fine for intimate couples. The ventilation was great, with a remote controlled AC unit as well as a gas fireplace in the room.

Check-in time is 4 pm, and if you are there promptly, you will be able to see the other rooms before they are occupied. They are all different, so it is fun to include this on your tour of the house.

The food and wine were great. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room (along with bottles of water). The social hour from 5-6 pm offered delicious snacks (cheeses and crackers, including one that was homemade using cheese, salami, fruit, etc.). Get there early though, since the offerings were not replenished.

Breakfast was served at 9 AM, and we came downstairs to find beautifully set dining room tables. The five courses filled us up so much that we didn't eat again until 5 PM. It was very delicious, health-conscious food, prepared in house with fresh, local, and organic ingredients. It was presented beautifully, and the chef explained each course.

The porch and gardens of the beautiful property were also very inviting, and we look forward to sitting outside during our next visit. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood up the hill from the downtown, an easy walk.

Room Tip: The website is extensive and offers a lot of pictures and good descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Oscar Wilde Suite and the experience was a perfectly romantic get away. The room was exquisite...feeling more like an apartment in some palace then a carriage house suite in MN. It provided a wonderful escape and an ideal reteat to reconnect and rediscover. Then, as if the room was a secondary part of the experience, each morining brought a delectable breakfast that is engagingly explained by Chef Remler and expertly presented. The staff is tastefully unobtrusive as they carryout their tasks and yet remain primed to provide for each and every special request as needed.

Although this was our first B&B experience I sense it is unique in it's offering and rare in it's execution. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDub73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I loved celebrating our anniversary here at The Rivertown Inn in Stillwater, MN. We stayed in the Lewis Carroll bedchamber tucked under the eaves on the third floor. It had a very comfortable king sized bed, fireplace, whirlpool hot tub, and whimsical decor. I especially loved the dangling pocket watches, quirky mirror, and beautiful chandelier. There is a terrace just outside the room to step out onto to look at the view and stars. We were welcomed with a tour of the house and wine with scrumptious horsderves. There was a refrigerator filled with Fiji waters and sodas, and a tray full of cookies. The service, chef, gardens and detail of the house were outstanding! A top-notch breakfast was served by the chef who came out to give an intro. to each course. Delicious! Stillwater is a great town to visit as well. I highly reccomend staying at the Rivertown Inn!

Room Tip: Because the Lewis Carroll bedchamber is under the eaves it might not be the best room for a tall per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We've been to the Rivertown several times and will definitely go back. The rooms have been updated over the last couple of years to make them even more comfortable and cozy. On our last visit, we stayed in the Tennyson suite. Two fireplaces (one gas--near the bed and the other electric--near the sitting area), a HUGE tub, cozy sitting area and very comfortable bed made the room wonderful. We enjoyed the social hour with several different wines and a big assortment of crackers, crisps, cheeses, meats, and fruit and brought some homemade cookies back to the room with us for an evening snack. We chose to have the continental breakfast delivered to our room in the morning. The chef delivered it personally and set it up in the room. He brought everything (fruit compote, baked oatmeal, scones, muffins, coffee, and orange juice) except the vegetable strata which was only being served in the dining room. Overall, a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor (Tennyson suite, Lewis Carrol room, and the Jayne Austen stuite) are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was an incredible experience, and our favorite Bed and Breakfast by far. The home is furnished with unbelievable artifacts and eclectic furnishings. It is kept up to the best of standards with many different types of rooms to choose from .We stayed in the Lewis Carroll Bedchamber on the top third floor. It was very unique and immaculate, complete with a whirlpool tub and your own fireplace!The king sized bed was awesome, with wonderful linens, pillows and trappings...LOVED IT! We had our own bathroom and the stay was quiet and peaceful. The staff was wonderful, attention to detail was important to them to help make your stay memorable. The chef was entertaining and informative when we attended the breakfast in the morning. The meal was excellent, all local goods and organic, and we enjoyed meeting the other guests staying as well.After questioning the others who were also there, all were pleased with their rooms. The gardens are beautiful and I only wish the weather would have cooperated even better to spend some quality time out on the porch and wandering about.....definately worth a return visit. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: You may want to stay on the main floor, second floor , or the Carriage House ( suites), as the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedneckCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.3 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
4.8 mi away
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
#1 of 3 in Oak Park Heights
252 reviews
10.7 mi away
Afton House Inn
Afton House Inn
#1 of 2 in Afton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: $246 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing