We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and each time we are greeted with a smile. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room is always clean and very comfortable. Our children love the pool area. I think this is a great place to stay and will continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistillwater, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We are always ecstatic with a enthusiastic customer as yourself. Please let us know if we can help with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great location with nearby shopping and restaurants. We had reserved a room with just a king bed. When we got there to check in they said they were over booked and gave us a free upgrade to a room with both a king and queen bed in it. Tried laying on both beds and the king was softer and more comfortable. Quiet weekend, suprised we didn't hear a lot of noise considering the hotel was over booked and the parking lot was full. We even had the pool/spa to ourselves for awhile. Basic breakfast with not a lot of choices. But at other hotels with these low rates you don't always get a free breakfast or a pool. Was also nice to have a mini fridge in the room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4jewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is approximately 30 miles away from the house, so still close by if we needed to go home in a hurry. They allowed for a late check-in (we checked in sometime between 9pm-10pm) with no fee. Check-in was easy. We had no issues with the interior decor of the hotel itself. Our room was nice, clean and had no smoke odor (we booked a queen bed non-smoking room). There were no extranious noises (kids running in the hall, thin walls). However, with the noises we were making in OUR room, I wouldn't be surprised if someone complained on us! The continental breakfast left much to be desired, but at least they had orange juice! Overall it was a nice getaway from the kids & we plan on returning again next week (asking for the same room)!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcso911mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Was lucky to get this room on a busy weekend for the motel/hotel trade in Stillwater. They have finished the exterior renovations but unfortunately have evidently not started the interior(if they plan to do it).
The interior had that good old "OLD stale motel odor", which made sleeping very difficult. One of the couples in our party entered their room only to find vomit on the floor. They got transferred to another room. In our room it took several minutes for the sink to drain.
The decor was pleasant but the lighting was insufficient, making if almost impossible to read anywhere but in bed.
We intended to stay 3 nights but were able to get a room in a nearby hotel after two nights. We stayed here years ago and were quite satisfied but, evidently, the property has changed hands.
VERY basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to the motel next door to the Lexington. Dave
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed at this property three times. The location is great for us and they are pet friendly, which is important. The desk clerk was very nice and did not charge for the pets.The hotel was having issues with remodeling the outside of the hotel and the side door that we were using was not secured so anyone could walk into the hotel at that point. I suppose with all the coming and going of the workmen it was hard to keep the halls clean so I will not complain about that. Our room was large with a handicapped bathroom which was also large. On the surface it was clean but one evening out little dog smelled something under the bed and dragged out some old fast food containers. For some reason it seems to escape the cleaners notice that under the beds and in the corners dirt does accumulate if you don't clean it daily. The area has lots of grass for dog walking...just clean up after your pet...and the hotel is close to some good restaurants, a Walmart, a Cub's Supermarket and other shopping.They do have a continental breakfast with cereal, juice and pastries..which were fresh and delicious..an almost unheard of occurrence in mid-price hotels. I most likely will stay here again when we come back to visit family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sissyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Probably the worst place I have ever stayed in my 63 years! Approximately 20 rooms for myself and family members were booked at this hotel for a wedding...only hotel available for June 22, 2014. The air was so toxic with the combination of urine, cig smoke, and an over powering room deod that I didn't know whether to turn on the (never been cleaned) air conditioner or leave the window open. I opted for both because I was afraid that I would have an allergy reaction. We could not fall asleep in this enviorment and just waited to check out and get out of there. There was a reason that no one was at the front desk at check out...only a basket for a "key drop."

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 320Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm so disappointed this stay this hotel was my favorite little place to stay when I would come to town but this time my room reservation was all messed up the room I was put in was not very clean and the pool was too cold. The rates have went up a lot too I guess now I just have to keep looking for a new hotel to stay at

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mommy56721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
339 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
103 reviews
9.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul

Address: 1750 Frontage Rd W, Stillwater, MN 55082-2701
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range: $68 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing