We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT even a good value” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 W Frontage Road, Stillwater, MN 55082-2701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Elgin, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT even a good value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Was lucky to get this room on a busy weekend for the motel/hotel trade in Stillwater. They have finished the exterior renovations but unfortunately have evidently not started the interior(if they plan to do it).
The interior had that good old "OLD stale motel odor", which made sleeping very difficult. One of the couples in our party entered their room only to find vomit on the floor. They got transferred to another room. In our room it took several minutes for the sink to drain.
The decor was pleasant but the lighting was insufficient, making if almost impossible to read anywhere but in bed.
We intended to stay 3 nights but were able to get a room in a nearby hotel after two nights. We stayed here years ago and were quite satisfied but, evidently, the property has changed hands.
VERY basic breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to the motel next door to the Lexington. Dave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    10
    14
    25
See reviews for
27
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seffner, FL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed at this property three times. The location is great for us and they are pet friendly, which is important. The desk clerk was very nice and did not charge for the pets.The hotel was having issues with remodeling the outside of the hotel and the side door that we were using was not secured so anyone could walk into the hotel at that point. I suppose with all the coming and going of the workmen it was hard to keep the halls clean so I will not complain about that. Our room was large with a handicapped bathroom which was also large. On the surface it was clean but one evening out little dog smelled something under the bed and dragged out some old fast food containers. For some reason it seems to escape the cleaners notice that under the beds and in the corners dirt does accumulate if you don't clean it daily. The area has lots of grass for dog walking...just clean up after your pet...and the hotel is close to some good restaurants, a Walmart, a Cub's Supermarket and other shopping.They do have a continental breakfast with cereal, juice and pastries..which were fresh and delicious..an almost unheard of occurrence in mid-price hotels. I most likely will stay here again when we come back to visit family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sissyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Probably the worst place I have ever stayed in my 63 years! Approximately 20 rooms for myself and family members were booked at this hotel for a wedding...only hotel available for June 22, 2014. The air was so toxic with the combination of urine, cig smoke, and an over powering room deod that I didn't know whether to turn on the (never been cleaned) air conditioner or leave the window open. I opted for both because I was afraid that I would have an allergy reaction. We could not fall asleep in this enviorment and just waited to check out and get out of there. There was a reason that no one was at the front desk at check out...only a basket for a "key drop."

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 320Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stillwater hotels

East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm so disappointed this stay this hotel was my favorite little place to stay when I would come to town but this time my room reservation was all messed up the room I was put in was not very clean and the pool was too cold. The rates have went up a lot too I guess now I just have to keep looking for a new hotel to stay at

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommy56721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived at hotel after 10:00 at night. We were checked into a room that hadn't been cleaned. The maid came right up and cleaned the room. The problem was when I called the manager to report the problem we had he began yelling at me and said I could have got a full refund that night and whent somewhere else. I told him I didn't want a refund, just to let him know so it didn't happen to the next customer. To which he replied "Have a nice day [--]" and hung up on me. On another note a non-smoking room should not have blankets with cigarette burn holes in them.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro
Level Contributor
269 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were In town for a retirement party and this hotel was centrally located. The rooms were clean, the staff was great and the indoor pool was great. Only downside is that it right off of the hwyand sometimes you cwould get road noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPAMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

the room was very clean. the beds are very dated and not comfortable. the pool seemed clean but there was some kind of dirt or gravel in the bottom. spa was clean. the breakfast was bare. muffins, toast,juice & coffee. it's a $50 room at best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 9 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul
Address: 1750 W Frontage Road, Stillwater, MN 55082-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Stillwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Stillwater / St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing