We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner no drinks”

Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque
Ranked #15 of 94 Restaurants in Stillwater
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner no drinks”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited here for a dinner with friends one evening. It was a bit late and raining so there wasn't a problem getting seats. Had a jerk chicken sandwich which was pretty good. Thought the sides were a bit bland - needed some salt at least. Service was so so. At check out, I did notice the waitress had her phone out while she was processing our payments. Am hopeful she was texting and not getting numbers from our cards. The location around the restaurant is beautiful - would recommend a visit just to walk around and see neighboring shops and sights.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    97
    39
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I guess most people on here don't eat out much”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

With all of the great reviews on here, we thought this would be the place to eat! Admittedly, the rum list is incredible, so if rum is what you are looking for, then you've found the right place. Other than that, the food was average tasting at best. The outdoor seating is a joke, unless you just want to be outside with no view except for the parking lot, garbage area, and a giant silver building. However, our waitress was excellent, and displayed the coolest tattoo ever on her thigh. Overall, not a good experience though with spending our hard-earned money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Rum!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Smalley's has an amazing selection of rums; if you like Cheery Coke, try the Kilo Kai Rum with coke; it's tasty! The meals are flavorful and the service was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got in the door.....but thats it”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having heard good things about Smalley's and loving hot spicy food this was a natural choice for a family evening out. Upon arrival we walked by a table in front of of the entrance setup with a young women busy chatting on the telephone. Not a smile or any indication she even worked for Smally's. Upon entering the restaurant we went to the area that says please wait for hostess to seat you. A young woman manned this area and told us we needed to go outside and talk to the hostess outside. While inside we noticed about half the tables were open. When we back outside we approached the hostess again and asked if we could get a table for 3. She looked at her list and all the reservation names had be crossed out except 1. So thinking we could get immediate seating we asked for a table. The unfriendly non smiling hostess responded its going to be a least a 40 min wait. Having seen half the restaurant was unseated with not much of a waiting list I was puzzled why we couldn't get seating. I never mind waiting 30-45 minutes for a table when the food and waitstaff is good. But when I get non responsive employees that ping pong ball you back and forth coupled with the main hostess that looked and acted that she didn't want to be there....Well its a one and out. Maybe I will go back there on a different day or take a detour around that hostess. Anyways...wanted to try Smalley's but they definitely name employees that are better trained.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yep!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

With so many restaurant choices, we had a hard time deciding where to go. After eating at Smalley's, we were definitely satisfied. We loved the corn fritters for an appetizer and BBQ pork ribs as an entree. Variety of choices for sauce for those who can or can't handle spice. It was a unique place that you can't find just anywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smalley's Caribbean Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing