We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hospitality at a first class lodge with a wonderful view.”
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Dragon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious hospitality at a first class lodge with a wonderful view.”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The Sea Dragon Lodge was exactly what we were seeking for our visit to Kangaroo Island. The lodge and the gracious hospitality of Dale and Quentin far exceed our expectations. The lodge’s rugged exterior is fitting for the island and carefully conceals the very modern, beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. The rooms all have a spectacular view of the private cove. The meals were great, especially Quentin’s signature King George Whiting. The evenings were heavenly just sitting on the verandah sipping a glass of wine while watching the ocean and the kangaroos in the field.

For first time visitors to the island, or anyone who wants a local’s prospective of the highlights of the island, the day long tour, that was included with our reservation, was a very much enjoyed highlight. Not only did we see the major parks, but the little known unique places that make the island such a fascinating destination.

We wished we could have stayed longer and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
116
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed hear for our twentyth wedding anniversary, it was all and more than we expected. The location had views to die for, the Bay was secluded,with doplhins visiting the bay. It was quiet and away from the normal tourist places of Kangaroo Island, but they where with reach if you have a car, or Dale and Quentine(Your hosts) can organise a tour guide. Dale and Quentin have a great knowldge of the island and are willing to give the insiders guide to Kangaroo Island.
Dale and Quentin are great hosts, there when you need them but quickly slip away when you what quiet time. Both great cooks and the food highlighted the produce avalaible on locally on the island. You have dinner with the other guest around a table. Dale and Quentin make the conversation at dinner time easy.
Our suite had a bedroom and seperate sitting room, with ensuite facilities.Views from both the sitting room and bedroom.
If you want nightlife, single table dinning this is not for you, but if you want a truely australian experience then this is for you.
We have yet to return to any place we travel to , however I am working on a date tfor us to return perhaps for our next anniversary.
Dale and Quentin Thanks for a great anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This place is magical. Our suite was luxurious with direct access to a personal space on the deck overlooking a fabulous stretch of coastline. We went to sleep every night listening to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. Food was excellent, with fresh local ingredients and the wine list was well pitched. (The fish and the lamb were highlights.) This lodge exemplifies Australian service at its best, in our opinion: relaxed but respectful; personal and attentive but not imposing. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padua35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

(Apologies for delayed review - stayed in Sept 09.)

Stayed at Sea Dragon 2 nights as part of a 6 week tour of Oz. Recommended here when the lodge we chose ceased taking visitors, but when we arrived it had just changed hands and the new managers had been in place only a day. We felt we were their guinea pigs!

Fantastic situation, with effectively your own beach a few hundred yards from the veranda. Rooms large and spacious.

Everything rather at sixes and sevens - hadn't worked out portion sizes for meals, no wine list so we were unsure what we were going to be paying, couldn't have bacon the second morning as the smoke alarm kept going off, they forgot the cutlery in the packed lunch box, hospitality tray in room not complete, etc.

Having said that, they were friendly and welcoming, and once things settle down it should improve (had hoped to see other reviews by now to confirm this!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinkBay, Managers at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Just to clarify a few things. The lodge ownership has not changed - only the management. It's true, we were new in the role at the time of this visit and a faulty smoke alarm did cause a couple of 'moments'. It has since been replaced and relocated. And yes, regrettably, the cutlery wasn't there for one of the picnics.
As to the other points, our evening meals are usually served buffet style, so we are not sure about the reference to 'portion sizes'. To the best of our knowledge this couple were provided with a printed wine list complete with prices. (Their selection was a Mike Press 2008 Shiraz - good choice!) As for the hospitality tray, we don't recall any mention to us of it being 'incomplete'.
We're glad these guests enjoyed the spectacular setting here at Pink Bay and the lodge's friendly, personalised service. We're also pleased to say that the other guests staying at the same time, and the many since, have offered positive feedback and enjoyed the fact that this is a boutique-style lodge in a very special location.
Quentin Chester & Dale Arnott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

This is a great, place to stay, with lovely bedrooms opening onto their own verandah area. Views from the verandah are straight out over the southern ocean. The peace is only broken by the sound of the ocean below and there is easy access to a very quiet sandy beach for swimming and lolling, including a shady gazebo. Kangaroos and birds are all around the house.
Rooms are clean, beatifully furnished and very comfortable, hosting is first class.
Kangaroo is a beautiful island and this is a top place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrionascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Dragon at the end of November and absolutely loved it. The hosts, Wendy & Lisa, made the stay - they were friendly, welcoming and fun. The B&B is very intimate with a lovely view of Pink Bay. Kangaroos came up to the backyard in the morning and evenings to feed from the trees, Wendy's cooking was delicious and the wine they offered us was perfect for each dinner. The first night Wendy was not sure if we'd be there for dinner or not, but she had steaks ready in case we were hungry - which we were. The second night she made us King George whiting, that she caught and filleted herself - it was delicious!! We took a 4-wheel drive tour with Lisa on our first full day there which was well worth it; it really helped us see the island. We did have to rent a 4-wheel drive to get to the B&B, since it is down a dirt road, but the road wasn't bad at all. If you are looking for a serene and relaxing experience with friendly hosts then this is the perfect spot.

  • Liked — The beautiful location, the hosts, the food and the free wireless Internet access (they also have a computer you can use if you don't have your own with you)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympiaCremina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
75.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
29.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
19.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
30.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
38.8 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Property: Sea Dragon Lodge
Address: 2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing