We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Dragon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was going to Adelaide for a business meeting over a couple of days, so thought I would take in some sights for a short break on the weekend before.I had been to the Barossa & Clare Valley thought I would give Kangaroo Island a try. From the minute I contacted Sea Dragon Lodge the response was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. Steve organised to pick me up & return me from Kingscote airport.
The couple of days couldn't have been better planned. The pace of the days & Steve's guiding knowledge, not overwhelming but very informative was superb.Visiting Islander Estate Wines with a tour by the very engaging owner Jacques Lurton was a highlight. A wonderful 3 course Greek lunch with wines at an old boathouse was a welcome relax in the middle of the day.The location was exceptional, the food excellent & the company engaging.The stories of the flying fox at Weirs Cove so very interesting.
I will leave it to Steve to let you know the great sights he can take you to, some wonderful surprises.
Sea Dragon Lodge has magnificent views & a private beach. The rooms are very comfortable & very clean. The shared lounge is very welcoming & homeley.
Steve & Gail are the perfect hosts, gauging exactly the amount of time to spend with you.
I will be returning with my grown up children & their children for a family holiday.
Kangaroo Island is still wild & unspoilt with no high density modern living.
Go there while it's still like this & stay at Sea Dragon lodge or maybe one of their new Eco Villas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Rosie,

Wow!! Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate it.
You were a lot of fun to have at the Lodge and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very excited about having you and the family come back and stay. We look forward to it.

Thanks again
Steve & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Sea Dragon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Lodge at Cape Willoughby was a perfect spot from which to explore the island and with the help of Steve and Gail we were able to see some amazing sights. We saw Kangaroo Island as it really is.....from the Australiana of the Eucalyptus distillery to the delights of kangaroos literally outside your bedroom window. Our stay was a unique experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was freshly prepared (try apricots in the Moroccan Lamb Steve) and excellent. A stay made more memorable by Steve and Gail's kind hospitality. This is Kangaroo Island as it should be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Ken,

It was great to meet you and Annette. We really enjoyed having you stay and thanks very much for your terrific review. Look forward to seeing you back. I'll try the apricots this time :-)

warm regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our second visit to Sea Dagon lodge. It's the perfect setting for a secluded getaway, and we came away completely relaxed and satisfied that we'd seen enough of the Island.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and you can wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing on the private beach. Previously we hired the whole lodge, this time we stayed in one room and shared the living area with other guests. It was nice to get to know some really lovely people. There's a lot of wildlife spotting to be done on the property, even from the deck you'll see kangaroos, lizards, eagles, hundreds of birds and some very friendly chickens.

Steve and Gail are great hosts, managing to strike the balance between helpful, welcoming and entertaining and giving us space to do our thing. They tailored our visit right down to the finest detail. Steve gave us a snapshot of everything the Island has to offer – the pristine, deserted beaches; wineries; wildlife (so much wildlife!); and of course the key attractions Admirals Arch and The Remarkable Rocks. But the highlight of the trip had to be the five star, three course lunch in a converted shack on one of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen.

We're already planning our next visit. They're installing a couple of Eco-villas in the coming weeks, and we're really keen to check them out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi Matt & Lex,

Glad to have you back again. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Lex the chickens are pining for you :-)

Cheers
Steve & Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just had one of the best holidays I've ever had at Sea Dragon Lodge, Kangaroo Island. Run by Steve nand Gail Lane, they welcomed and looked after us like we were family, while at the same time gave us tme and space to do our own thing.
The smallest detail was taken care of and from the moment we were picked up by Steve at Adelaide Airport we had nothing to do but relax and enjoy, From the first wine tasting to the last home cooked meal, the food and wine were superb. Steve and Gail catered for every taste(we had 1 vegetarian and 1 coeliac amongst us). Fresh seafood to exotic curries, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done without a fuss. Their passion for the Lodge and property, their business and Kangaroo Island showed in all they did and couldn't help but rub off on us as guests as Steve showed us the wildlife and landscape delights around his property and the whole island.
Sea Dragon Lodge itself has amazing views and its own beautiful private beach. It's loving looked after and maintained and as far as comfort goes no detail spared- coffee machine for early mornings, freshly baked bread daily, and a warm fire ready for your return if the weather demands it.
I wanted my husband to be spoilt for his 60th birthday and he and the whole family( two 30 yr ols and their partners) received the best break we've had together for a long time, right down to the gluten free chocolate birthday cake and french champagne!
Thankyou Steve and Gail. If I could rate you 6/5 I would so I guess you'll just have to settle for 5/5!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi Margaret,

It was an absolute pleasure having you and the family stay. So glad you had a wonderful stay. Look forward to seeing you again

best regards
Steve & Gail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we have a 4-day stay at KI with two kids. It's just enough time to get a glimpse of the island. We hope we could stay longer. This is a stylish lodge with spacious rooms, and spectacular view. We were greeted with good food and wine, and our host, Steve, fed us well everyday. He also helped us out in exploring the island, and showed us walks around the area. The friendly chickens, the sheep from the neighbourhood and the wildlife at our door step keep our children occupied. We also enjoy swimming at the secluded beach within walking distance, and relaxed at the gazebo with a cup of tea and some drinks. It was a wonderful holiday for our family!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nova F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hi Nova,

Thanks very much for you very kind review. I enjoyed having you and the family stay.
warm Regards
steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

wonderful place to stay.
great food, spacious rooms, very friendly host, fantastic view, private beach on walking distance, surrounded by wildlife, ... what else do you need?!
Perfect to relax!

The unsealed road is ok to drive with a 2WD

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Belgian_trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thankyou very much for your review, its greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from a short break at Kangaroo Island with my wife and teenage daughters. This place is in a more isolated part of the island overlooking a beautiful secluded beach. Steve, the owner was very friendly and helped us out with plans to explore the island. There were many animals around the lodge which kept the children entertained.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

HI Stephen
thanks very much for you review. I'm glad you and kids had a lovely time.
Best Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
75.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
19.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
843 reviews
30.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
30.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Address: 2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range: $351 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing