We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Pristine Private Beach””
Review of Sea Dragon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Dragon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner & I spent 5 days at Sea Dragon Lodge. The highlight for us was their beautiful private beach called Pink Bay. The only way you could get to beach was through their property or a solitary neighbour’s who we never saw. Needless to say we had it to ourselves. The beach is really safe for swimming and crystal clear. We went snorkelling around the rocks and were really impressed with the range of fish life. We even had a school of dolphins join us one afternoon and an enormous school of salmon on another day.
Needless to say we got the rods out and were able to enjoy some salmon sashimi that night !!
There is a small Gazebo down near the beach which is a great place to take a book to while a way a few hours.
The Lodge itself had absolutely everything we needed, lovely fresh linen, even provided beach towels and a picnic set for the beach.
It was very well presented and clean. We thought it was very good value for money.

We are going back in June with another couple and this time look forward to enjoying the log fire.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lscotland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks very much for you great review. We really appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Sea Dragon Lodge for 2 nights in April. The only way to describe our experience is AMAZING. The lodge location was simply stunning, with views from the balcony down to the private beach below. We felt totally relaxed as soon as we entered the house...it was perfectly equipped with everything you could think of, right down to plastic glasses for sun-downers on the beach (which I would highly recommend!)
We spent the evenings sat reading and drinking wine on the balcony, where we were surrounded by wildlife, from the cows and sheep from next door to the kangaroos drinking water directly outside the house. Whilst fishing on the beach 2 of our party had a seal swimming past them. Too good!
It's a convenient location in terms of being relatively close to the ferry port and Dudley Winery is close by, which is a MUST DO for lunch. The only negative we had is that 2 nights really isn't enough time to explore the island, as we only had chance to explore Penneshaw, the Dudley Winery and Seal Bay, and the island is quite big so getting about takes some time. But that's only inspired us to return!
It's one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed and would recommend it to anyone.
Take me back :)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank KendraG613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hi Kendra,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it. It sounds like we might see you again, which would be great. Hopefully not too far in the future. Thanks again
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Sea Dragon Lodge over Easter (2 couples). Couldn't have asked for a better experience! It was exactly what we were looking for - an escape from the every day grind. Very quiet and relaxing, beautiful part of the world!

The house was perfectly equipped for cooking our own meals (using the amazing produce on Kangaroo Island!) and was well-appointed. Can't recommend Sea Dragon Lodge more highly. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The room/house is perfect for two couples, as the rooms are on opposite sides of the house with thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hi Ed, Thanks for the review. We are really pleased you and your friends had such a good time and appreciate your feedback. We have tried to ensure the kitchen has everything you'll need and it is nice to get your confirmation. Look forward to having you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow. We were lucky enough to get in touch with Steve & Gail for a week of availability over the holidays which in most years is reserved for them and their family. As it happens, Steve & Gail both made us feel like family. We arrived on KI not knowing what to expect, but were open to adventure. We originally had expected to be sharing the lodge with others and when I asked Gail about what we could expect, she giggled and said, "It's all yours. Just the two of you. And the property caretaker, also named Steve. You wont see him too much though, the property is +300 acres." We were completely surprised, and excited. We rented a Land Cruiser and set off on our way. Gail had given us a heads up to stop in Kingscote to get groceries before continuing on because the lodge is secluded and about 30 mins of dirt roads from the closest town, Penneshaw.

The drive in seemingly takes a while and several times we wondered if we had passed it, or if we were lost. My advice - just keep going until you see the lighthouse. If you havent seen it, then you arent there yet, LOL.

When we arrived, they met us with Champagne and open arms to give us a tour of the lodge and the area as well as some great advice about the wildlife and what we could expect. (Possums on the porch at night, Kangaroos on the porch and dawn and dusk, Chickens strewn about, Wallabies, and more.) It was like a wild life preserve/private beach paradise/ cliff side retreat/ and cabin in the woods all rolled into one! (And the cappuccino machine is AWESOME!)

I can not say enough about Steve & Gail. Once they met us, got us settled in, they took off to another property where they were staying about 30 mins away. Steve graciously offered to meet us in the morning if we like and give us "the real" tour of KI, rather than pay for the touristy version. It couldnt have been better, or even more meaningful because you also get the history, the 'off the path' local spots and more. We spent an entire day with Steve (he drove our truck) and we saw it all (pictures attached.) It was an amazing adventure.

We spent the next few days at the property just relaxing. It is insanely peaceful. Only noises are birds and animals and the soft methodic crashing of waves down below. We ate dinner outside on the porch every night watching the sun set and the entire area turn an amazing pink hue. I know they call it Pink Bay for the outcrop of Pink granite that lines the beach, however, I think the real reason was the sunsets.... Amazing.

The beach is secluded, private, and yet large. If you catch a calm day you can snorkel as well and the fish are pretty amazing. The beach sand is like talc powder, soft. The granite boudlers that line the beach are also beautiful. We would recommend that if you are going down to the beach, that you have a 4WD truck and just load it up with a cooler, some pads from the lounge chairs and towels and drive down the hill. It is a nice walk down, but after a day in the sun, the walk up is a workout. Besides, driving a 4WD truck up and down the 30 degree hill is just really fun to do!!

We were scheduled to go to Adelaide for the 3 days at the end of our trip, but after 6 days at the Sea Dragon, we never wanted to leave. We cancelled our Adelaide trip, changed our flights and stayed 3 more days at Sea Dragon.

At night, there is NO light pollution. I have never seen so many stars! You can even make out the band of the milky way with out a telescope, it is truly something you have to experience. I was awestruck.

There is so much to this place and so much to the island that it truly is a place you could never leave. As crazy as our work lives are, this was the perfect place to shut down, unplug, and just be with each other.

It is a shame that it is as far away on the planet from home as we can get without starting to come back around the other side of the globe... because if we could go every year, we would.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_HAWK_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you Geoff and Jessica for your very kind words! We would love to see you again, and are very happy indeed that you enjoyed your time here at the Lodge and on our lovely Kangaroo Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Incredible location (very remote), great place, friendly and helpful hosts... we could have stayed there for ever.
Also loved the chooks!
Hopefully we'll be back.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Greg, Regine & Edith

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gweginoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you very much - so glad you had a lovely time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Sea Dragon Lodge, and although the drive up to the property was a bit rough, we were rewarded with the most amazing view over Pink Bay and Investigator Straight. The house was immaculate and very well presented. The views from the balcony and the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks in Pink Bay created the most relaxing holiday we have had in a long time. The kitchen, lounge/dining and bedrooms all overlook the fabulous view, and when the weather was nice we sat out on the deck to enjoy the view. We managed to see a few kangaroos around the property as well as the friendly chickens! Sea Dragon Lodge had everything we could want in a holiday house and more, this was a fantastic place to base our Kangaroo Island holiday and we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our two days at Sea Dragon Lodge were wonderful. The peace and tranquility of the property was a highlight, as were the views from the balcony. They were some of the best seen on the island during our stay. The private beach was very special - a lovely little sandy beach with rocky outcrops and the mainland as a backdrop. It was made even more special by seeing an echida slowly wandering its way up the beach. The house was very comfortable and filled with quality furniture and fittings. It had a very well stocked pantry and well equipped kitchen. The complementary bottle of sparkling and cheese platter were a nice touch and unexpectedly delivered to us down at the gazebo on the beach. This thoughtfulness was much appreciated. If you want peace and quiet, and total relaxation, this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillane, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much. Hope to see you back at Sea Dragon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
19.8 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
75.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
13.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
904 reviews
30.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
60.2 mi away
LifeTime Private Retreats
LifeTime Private Retreats
#12 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dragon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dragon Lodge

Address: 2575 Cape Willoughby Rd, Willoughby, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Willoughby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Willoughby
Price Range: $357 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Dragon Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dragon Lodge offers luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation providing a unique combination of:. Our very own Private Beach. Spectacular Coastal Scenery. 250 Acre Seafront Estate. Amazing Wildlife At Sea Dragon Lodge Resort, both the Lodge and our new Eco-Villas, offer luxury Kangaroo Island accommodation that overlooks stunning coastline and woodland. Our private sandy beach is just below. Wildlife abounds: kangaroos, echidnas, goannas and a bevy of birdlife. Coastal splendour and enchanting wildlife. Blissful seclusion and stunning views. A private world of relaxed, informal luxury. That’s the Sea Dragon Lodge experience.... Sea Dragon Lodge provides a tranquil Kangaroo Island retreat, with several types of luxury Kangaroo Island holiday packages to choose from ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Dragon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing