We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulwer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaways Moreton Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Top staff”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there during Xmas peak time, had a very pleasant staying.

Gail helped me to end up my holiday perfectly. I have left one of my luggages on MiCat with my 2 years pandora collection in my bag, didn't want to spoil my husband's holiday so decided not to tell him just yet, he thought there was nothing valueble in the bag. But I expressed to Gail that how devastate I was as this was the present from many occations. When we came back from tangalooma, Gail n her staff surprised me by warping my bag with Xmas decorations... I was speechless, words can not describe how thankful I felt. I know I wouldn't get it back if Gail didn't try so hard ... They are bunch of decent people, enjoyed both dinner n breakfast.
Water was unbelievable clear, beautiful sunset!! Will go again next time but with fishing rod!
A huge thank you to all helpful staff and MiCat !
BTY, meat pies on MiCat was delicious!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIA-Castaways, Front Office Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Horsesp,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay and experience at Castaways on Moreton Island.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time on the island exploring and relaxing.
There is nothing worse than losing something that you cherish and something so valuable, we are so pleased to hear that Gail and the staff were able to find your Pandora bracelet. They are a great team and will do anything to help people on the island.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, with a fishing rod hopefully.

Kind Regards,
Moreton Island Adventures & Castaways Accommodation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
67
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Gail and the crew would have to be up there as the nicest people
This is a great place, ideal for a getaway
I myself live on the Gold Coast
And this is just an hr away
Then a ferry ride
Do yourselfs a favor and go for your selfs
This place really is gods island
Forget your tangalooma if you have kids
You can snorkel around the wreaks here they are very close to shore
Loved it
So did my wife and daughter
Thank you all at castaways

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51gns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIA-Castaways, Front Office Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi 51gns,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay and experience at Castaways on Moreton Island.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time on the island exploring and relaxing.

We are so pleased to hear feedback about Gail and the staff, they are a great team and will do anything to help people on the island.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, with a fishing rod hopefully.

Kind Regards,
Moreton Island Adventures & Castaways Accommodation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been going to Moreton Island for my birthday for the last 8 years. We normally camp on the surf side but this year we packed up the camper early & decided to spend the last night at Bulwer. We had dinner at the restaurant and spent the night in comfort. The food is good, the rooms were basic but had all the essentials and Gail & her staff bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our stay. My fiance & I wanted to get married over the surf side in 2013 but after talking to the helpful staff we decided to get married at Bulwer instead. I am looking forward to see the improvements that have been made this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narangba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After terrible service at Tangalooma Resort we decided to have our wedding reception at Castaways Restaurant Bulwer and were not sorry we did.
The service is outstanding! They could not help us enough, nothing was to much trouble and what a beautiful location. The food is incredible, much better than any other place. I have no regrets or bad things to say and if you are considering this place for a similar function you will not be disappointed. Prices were reasonable. We did not stay in the accommodation there so can not comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked this budget accommodation for a one-night stay - my first visit to Moreton Island. Having read the negative reviews, I advised my companions not to expect much.

They were pleasantly surprised by the facilities. As promised, the Unit 2 bathroom had a new shower curtain, shower rose, and had been repainted. The carpets have been replaced with practical vinyl with a timber pattern - the island is made of sand, so expect to track a bit inside. The flat-screen TV received digital channels, but after a day of sand driving and hiking up sandy hills, everyone was too tired to watch it.

The sign on the store says it opens till 12 mn, but a smaller sign says they close much earlier (5 pm) in the off-season. We were caught out but managed to find a hot meal at Tangalooma.

The maps of the island are poorly detailed, making navigating your way to Castaways a bit of a challenge. When you arrive, you won't regret taking up the 2-for-1 lunch deal (great value).

You can save money on this trip by packing your own linen and sandboards, which were simply rectangles of masonite. The Micat website lists the discount offers which make this trip affordable. We saved over $100 with a group-buying coupon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrX1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Firstly, Moreton Island is the epitome of untouched paradise. We swam with dolphins, snorkelled, fished and climbed the dunes, the weather was perfect the sky was blue and the ocean was some of the most amazing colours I've ever seen.
The staff at the Bulwer General Store (where the Eco Resort is located are brilliant, helpful, friendly and full of local knowledge.
The units however are just a step up from camping. So treat it as such!! If you like getting back to nature, (and lets face it with so many amazing things to do on the island why would anyone stay in their room??) tell yourself you are camping, except you have a flushable toilet a shower and a matress to get off the sand. Oh yeah and there is a TV in the room, if your not to exhausted to keep your eyes open at night. There is also a fridge / freezer which is a bit of a luxury for an island with only solar electricity and generators.
We enjoyed a beautiful meal at the Castaway Restaurant, everything else we supplied for ourselves and as it is advertised as self contained, prepared for ourselves.
Yes its very dated and could do with some loving but the location is great and the people are very helpful. Aussies who have grown up camping will appreciate it for what it is. Enjoy the island and dont build your hopes up about the room.
We cant complain about the value as we too used the Cudo deal and have paid more than that just to take our 4WD and family over on the Micat.

Room Tip: We had Room 8 I didnt see any others. It has 2 bedrooms a bathroom and a good sized kitchen / dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_hc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

OUR EXPERIENCE: UNIT 3 - outdated decor but very large, absolutely clean, flat screen tv - very unexpected, generator power necessary unless you wish to sit in the dark, have no refrigeration, fans or TV, of course to boil water you used either the microwave or the gas cooktop. The store was very modern and appeared recently updated as was the restauarant very relaxing with a palm frond thathed roof - island style

Generator power does not support energy hungry appiliances such as kettles, hairdryers, hair straighteners but will recharge your mobile, ipad etc

Budget - absolutely, but this is an island where everything needs to be shipped in, theres no industry or manufacturing here just a pristine picture perfect island 75mins via the Micat from Brisbane !
Unfortunately our 4WD had an overheating problem and we limped back to the Wrecks, with no shortage of help from fellow 4WD enthusiasts - big thank you to everyone that stopped to support us! There was intermittent mobile phone signal particularly transitting Middle Road where we broke down.

The assistance that was offered to us by the fabulous caring team at Castaway Eco Resort was just fantastic, we really wanted to let them know how valued they made us feel when we had trouble with our 4WD.

Note there is no RACQ support on Moreton Island, the only mechanic belongs to the 4WD hire company affiliated with the Tangalooma Resort, the man at the 4WD hire said their mechanic was far too busy to help tourists but he could hire us a car for $325 + + from 0800am -500pm BUT ONLY IF WE WERE STAYING AT THE RESORT ! More ++$$$.

We were given a mobile number for a transfer from the wrecks at a cost of $80 each way so you could see our dilema when all our gear was still at the Resort miles away,

Surprisingly even the National parks office in Brisbane were unable to provide a mobile number for the Islands rangers, so they contacted Policelink who in turn ramped up the local SES to assist us, but fortunately we were able to difuse this response as we had by now reached The Wrecks.....

So after many frustrating hours in the hot sun It was more than we expected when the team at Castaway Eco Resort packed up all our gear and then brought it to us when we were stranded at the Wrecks - all for FREE.I

Gail, Angie & ++ need to be congratulated !

We managed to get home safely and uneventfully, the 4WD is now fixed, just a small heater hose ruined an otherwise fantastic weekend !

We want to acknowledge the entire team at Castaways/Micat they really were very helpful and welcoming when we arrived and overwhelmingly so when we had the 4WD break down !
Such an amazing island, who would know anything so pristine, was so close to Brisbane – we didn’t for many years, now we tell everyone !!

Go with an open mind. don t expect too much and enjoy the warmest welcome at Castaways !

We wont be deterred and feel sure we ll be back at the first opportunity.

Thanks again for your hospitality

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safari747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
7.3 mi away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Tangalooma
1,540 reviews
10.3 mi away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
10.2 mi away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Woorim
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Moreton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Property: Castaways Moreton Island
Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bulwer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing