We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castaways Moreton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My family takes an annual holiday to beautiful Moreton Island and for the past 6-7 years we have been staying at these units at Bulwer which have recently been renamed 'Eco Lodge'. After this years 5 night stay, we will not return to this accommodation until a serious upgrade has occurred.

We have only ever expected budget accommodation as was reflected in the price, however this year the price increased significantly to $150 per night and hence we were expecting to see some improvements to the property. How wrong we were. We stayed in unit 3, above the shop, which was in such a sad state of disrepair it's hard to know where to start - the 20cm ring of mould around the bottom of the cheap plastic shower curtain, the dilapidated bathroom vanity with peeling strips of laminate and rotten interior, the bunk bed mattresses so thin my kids had to double them up so they couldn't feel the bed springs, the stained and threadbare carpet, the broken or missing fly screens, light fittings with blown bulbs or the shabby 70s kitchen which didn't even have basic cooking utensils anymore. Clearly the unit had not been occupied for some time before we checked in as evidenced by the thick layer of dust on all the surfaces.

It was disappointing to see the deterioration in the unit since last we stayed there. The only improvement, to support the 'Eco' claim, is the installation of solar power to supplement the noisy generators. Also, the shop has been refurbished to include a cafe/restaurant, however it appears to have reduced it's stock of basic items to the extent that we had to pre-order and pay in advance for bread and milk to ensure supply.

As mentioned, we have been coming to this establishment for years and have never expected much. We accepted that the noisy generators ran 16 hours a day, that power used to cease around 11pm each night, we weren't there to watch TV or DVDs so poor performance of these appliances didn't matter, however is it too much to ask to provide a set of kitchen tongs to turn the steaks on the barbie? Oh and that's another thing, the BBQs have been removed, so no more barbie's on the verandah. Although none of the verandah lights worked anyway.

In our opinion, Moreton Island is one of the best destinations in this country and we will definitely return BUT we will find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RobTeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice quiet place for couples especially if you like fishing and your own company - make sure you stock up on essentials as transport around the island is limited and services.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is not a reflection on the staff, but the accommodation. All communication with staff was very helpful and friendly. The facility was definitely not what we expected. We purchased the Cudo deal for $299 and figured if it was't up to scratch then at least the deal covered our 4wd and passenger fare on the Micat and we would take the accommodation with a grain of salt as the deal value was worth $600.
We didn't make a booking straight away as the deal was valid until September, but as this was a popular deal the village became booked and there was no weekends left, and you couldn't book in the school holidays so if we wanted to take advantage of the deal all they could offer us was the dormitory, which sleeps up to 40 people but we would have sole use. We accepted this as going during the week was not an option.
Upon arriving we gingerly walked into the dorm to find two large rooms lined with bunks and one room with one single bunk and another bunk with a double bed on bottom. This is where we slept.
The room was dark and breezy, for some reason the windows were missing some louvers.
The bathroom was outside and very disappointing. It was originally a wash house so the old concrete tub was the vanity with a full length mirror placed on one side of the tub. The shower was very basic and the little hand basin in the shower room was stained brown. The toilet was not clean.
The kitchen was well put together. Everything you would need is there. The microwave was pretty gross but I bought my spray and wipe and a container of wipes with me so by the time we left most surfaces we clean and shiny.
We unfortunately had to leave after one night as we had a very sick child and there is no medical facilities on the island, but as the accommodation was not up to our standard it was not hard to leave.
So all I can say is if you are looking at staying at the village come with a very open mind and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KLoves2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Morten Island Eco Village. We had purchased a deal from Cudo, so was really good value.

The units were not what I was expecting. I was picturing little two bedroom units all the same, like what you get in caravan parks. Well they were all different. Different sizes, different bathrooms and kitchens and all looked like you had step back to the 60’s or 70’s. They must have been all separately owned at some stage.

We had units 1, 3 and 7. 1 and 3 were OK but 7 was very small and it was supposed to sleep 7 people. They was 4 adults and a 2 year old staying in 7 and it was very squishy. If it had been longer than 2 nights, they would have asked to be moved. We stayed in unit 1 which was not bad. Two bedrooms with a bunk in one and a queen size in the other. Pretty big kitchen, which looked like it had been done up. Unit 3 was were my parents stayed. It was upstairs from the store. It was good too. Had two good sized rooms with two bunks and a queen. It had a big kitchen. But the lounge was long and narrow. It had a veranda out the front and down the side which was good.

They were comfortable enough but I don’t think that I would be paying the $150 a night that they normally are. Don’t think they are worth that.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank Beerwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Basic does not begin to describe this place. The accommodation was substandard to say the least. I was unable to use either the gas stove top or the gas oven as there was a serious leak that filled the entire unit with the smell of gas when switched on. All cooking, including boiling water for drinking was done in the microwave as there was no electric kettle provided. .
We were also unfortunate enough to have been allocated a unit which had a pump or generator outside the main bedroom which operated, noisily, all night long. We did not sleep at all that night. Furthermore, at no point during the booking procedure or during the 3 telephone conversations I had with booking staff, was I informed that I should bring my own bed linen or hire it at $20 per person. Quite an extra added expense when traveling with 2 adults and 2 children. Given the cost, I would have expected this to have been included.
The floor covering was torn in several places, the TV did not work well, the DVD player did not work at all and quite frankly it just isn't good enough. We left the village feeling tired and ripped after one night as we were unable to face sleeping in the abysmally appointed accommodation for a second night.
While Moreton Island is a beautiful place and we'd love to come back, absolutely no power on earth could convince me to stay at the Moreton Island Eco Village again. We were looking for peace and quiet and did not wish to stay in a resort however the standard of accommodation we experienced is not one which should be advertised as even remotely adequate. A tent would be better. The only positive things I have to say about your organisation is that your staff are friendly and helpful and the ferry ride enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Loveto0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheGoodKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
7.3 mi away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Tangalooma
2,281 reviews
10.2 mi away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Woorim
96 reviews
18 mi away
Scarborough Beach Resort
Scarborough Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Scarborough
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Moreton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bulwer
Price Range: $74 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Castaways Moreton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing