We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
88
45
10
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
45
10
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moreton island hot shower shared kitchen glamping tents free tea and coffee bacon and eggs bedroom unit cooking facilities wheel drive fishing gear steak sandwich camp kitchen fire pit beautiful location day trip beach watching the sunset friendliest staff
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 160 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice quiet place for couples especially if you like fishing and your own company - make sure you stock up on essentials as transport around the island is limited and services.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is not a reflection on the staff, but the accommodation. All communication with staff was very helpful and friendly. The facility was definitely not what we expected. We purchased the Cudo deal for $299 and figured if it was't up to scratch then at least the deal covered our 4wd and passenger fare on the Micat and we would take the accommodation with a grain of salt as the deal value was worth $600.
We didn't make a booking straight away as the deal was valid until September, but as this was a popular deal the village became booked and there was no weekends left, and you couldn't book in the school holidays so if we wanted to take advantage of the deal all they could offer us was the dormitory, which sleeps up to 40 people but we would have sole use. We accepted this as going during the week was not an option.
Upon arriving we gingerly walked into the dorm to find two large rooms lined with bunks and one room with one single bunk and another bunk with a double bed on bottom. This is where we slept.
The room was dark and breezy, for some reason the windows were missing some louvers.
The bathroom was outside and very disappointing. It was originally a wash house so the old concrete tub was the vanity with a full length mirror placed on one side of the tub. The shower was very basic and the little hand basin in the shower room was stained brown. The toilet was not clean.
The kitchen was well put together. Everything you would need is there. The microwave was pretty gross but I bought my spray and wipe and a container of wipes with me so by the time we left most surfaces we clean and shiny.
We unfortunately had to leave after one night as we had a very sick child and there is no medical facilities on the island, but as the accommodation was not up to our standard it was not hard to leave.
So all I can say is if you are looking at staying at the village come with a very open mind and enjoy the island.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KLoves2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Morten Island Eco Village. We had purchased a deal from Cudo, so was really good value.

The units were not what I was expecting. I was picturing little two bedroom units all the same, like what you get in caravan parks. Well they were all different. Different sizes, different bathrooms and kitchens and all looked like you had step back to the 60’s or 70’s. They must have been all separately owned at some stage.

We had units 1, 3 and 7. 1 and 3 were OK but 7 was very small and it was supposed to sleep 7 people. They was 4 adults and a 2 year old staying in 7 and it was very squishy. If it had been longer than 2 nights, they would have asked to be moved. We stayed in unit 1 which was not bad. Two bedrooms with a bunk in one and a queen size in the other. Pretty big kitchen, which looked like it had been done up. Unit 3 was were my parents stayed. It was upstairs from the store. It was good too. Had two good sized rooms with two bunks and a queen. It had a big kitchen. But the lounge was long and narrow. It had a veranda out the front and down the side which was good.

They were comfortable enough but I don’t think that I would be paying the $150 a night that they normally are. Don’t think they are worth that.

Date of stay: May 2011
Trip type: Traveled with family
7  Thank Beerwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Basic does not begin to describe this place. The accommodation was substandard to say the least. I was unable to use either the gas stove top or the gas oven as there was a serious leak that filled the entire unit with the smell of gas when switched on. All cooking, including boiling water for drinking was done in the microwave as there was no electric kettle provided. .
We were also unfortunate enough to have been allocated a unit which had a pump or generator outside the main bedroom which operated, noisily, all night long. We did not sleep at all that night. Furthermore, at no point during the booking procedure or during the 3 telephone conversations I had with booking staff, was I informed that I should bring my own bed linen or hire it at $20 per person. Quite an extra added expense when traveling with 2 adults and 2 children. Given the cost, I would have expected this to have been included.
The floor covering was torn in several places, the TV did not work well, the DVD player did not work at all and quite frankly it just isn't good enough. We left the village feeling tired and ripped after one night as we were unable to face sleeping in the abysmally appointed accommodation for a second night.
While Moreton Island is a beautiful place and we'd love to come back, absolutely no power on earth could convince me to stay at the Moreton Island Eco Village again. We were looking for peace and quiet and did not wish to stay in a resort however the standard of accommodation we experienced is not one which should be advertised as even remotely adequate. A tent would be better. The only positive things I have to say about your organisation is that your staff are friendly and helpful and the ferry ride enjoyable.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Loveto0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews