We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location fantastic and deluxe cabin was excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clairview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview
Goondiwindi, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location fantastic and deluxe cabin was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can highly recommend this caravan park. The location right on the beach is very peaceful and beautiful, and the owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed in the $150 per night new deluxe cabin and it was huge and very comfortable with two bedrooms, main with a comfortable queen bed and second bedroom sleeps three. There is a full fridge in the kitchen and a small separate freezer, with new air conditioners in the living room and main bedroom. Also a large TV and two comfortable recliners in the living room. I recommend the evening meal that you can order as it is good home cooking, and you can buy a drink in the casual bar then drink and eat looking at the beach. It's a shame that in north Qld it isn't safe to swim because of stingers and crocs, but it is lovely to walk along the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliegundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    27
    13
    12
See reviews for
43
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Waterfront view of coral coast, peace, beauty very friendly staff and excellent home cooked style meals at the beer garden which had a beuatiful outlook over the ocean. Showers a bit dodgey but worth tolerating for the natural beauty of this camping / caravan accomodation. Arrived for one night and stayed three.

Room Tip: Choose waterfront istes - no highway and train traffic noise - this was suggested also to us by mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank itchinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

August 2012. Ok the park needs an upgrade but it is clean, friendly and has all you need. We came to overnight and stayed a week. An unexpected oases. Walk on the beach for miles..put your lilo under the palm trees and enjoy the ocean view. Or have a drink at yhe bar or "beergarden"

Will for sure go back next year - with a full tank of water and 2 lilo's!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank roundofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted to stay halfway between Townsville and Bundaberg so looking at the map, decided on Clairview. Looked on Internet and found the Clairview Holiday Park. Rang and found out that only a DONGA(??) was available. On arrival, we asked if a cabin with en-suite was available (obviously, we are not caravaners) and were told, YES, a big one at a cost of $120 per night. How naive were we? Only two of us and in a cabin dating back to Methusela, shabby, stained, dreadfully old cooking facilities and lists everywhere telling us what and what not to do. At that cost, we felt it somewhat a cheek to tell us to wipe out the fridge, wash dishes etc. etc. Bed linen and towels were clean but the rest of the cabin left alot to be desired. Final insult was when we opened the curtains in the morning and found the window broken and blocked up with a beer carton!! If you are not a caravaner, give this place a wide berth. One redeeming feature, the dinner we ordered was very good - sausages, gravy, vegies - just like Mother used to make . (By the way, we checked out a DONGA the next morning and found it to be very comfortable with kettle etc. - just all we needed and paid $70 more than we would have in the first place!!

Room Tip: If not in a caravan, chose somewhere more civilised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Daphne449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodgate, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

just spent four weeks at clairview till 6/7/2012 found staff very frendly and helpful. amendies very clean . very peaceful good fishing. will be returning next year for a couple of months. worth the stop

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The 2 reviews that were entred are from a little while ago, the caravan park at Clairview is now clean-er and has new cabins, I am not saying that it is 5 star but it has surely picked up its standards. My family has a house at Clairview so I am a frequent visitor, there is a shop with lovely staff members that sell all the basics (milk, bread, the paper ect.) plus have clothes, stubbie cooler ect. There are is now new cabins, though I haven't been in them, but judging by the outside they look quite nice. There is also public toilets and showers that are cleaned daily and are amazingly clean. The beach is lovely, although I would not recommmend swimming as there has been crocodiles, but what time you would normally spend swimming is easy to make up playing or walking along the beach, the sand is great and the people are to.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a new cabin as they apper to be cleaner and more comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ammelia412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Travelling from Airlie Beach south and it is a long old drag. This was one of the very few non recommended sites we stayed at and had a non powered site. It was ok it was right on the beach with a bar and restaurant. (We did not eat there ) Thought it was lovely and quaint which should say it all. Do not expect to much. Lots of residents and locals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theliverpool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview

Property: BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview
Address: 1 Colonial Drive, Clairview, Queensland, Australia (Formerly Clairview Beach Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Clairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clairview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clairview Caravan Park is under new management and has been rebranded as "BarraCrab Caravan Park Clairview". The reason behind the name of the Park is because Clairview is renowned for fishing and in particular for catching Barramundi and Crabs.The Park is undergoing general upgrades to both the facilities and the style of accommodation with new beach front cabins in the planning process.Clairview is one of a couple of places on the East Coast of Queensland where the highway almost touches the beach. So if you want a stop over on your way up or down the coast or if you want to come and catch some of the best fish in all of Queensland, call in and say hi to the friendly staff and stay a few days. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing