We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaceful place to stay and relax amongst the kangaroos. kookaburras and butterflies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Hillsborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place to stay and relax amongst the kangaroos. kookaburras and butterflies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

Our little beach hut was but a few steps away from the beach. Clean and tidy with ample cooking equipment in the kitchen. Laundry was easy to use and the staff very friendly and helpful. Really relaxing place to spend a few days just soaking up the sunshine, swimming and walking along the expansive beach. Great sunrise photo opportunities and it was especially fantastic to get up close and personal with the local kangaroos and wallabies through the park and on the beach. We enjoyed the Hidden Valley walk which was well signposted with interesting information about the plants the Aboriginals used for food etc. Would certainly return to this little piece of paradise.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NZKiwiNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    76
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
87
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in a beach hut, and it was small, charming, but expensive for what it is. The location is what you really are staying for, and the walking straight from your front door is AMAZING. I would stear a million miles from the onsite catering, which means you have to bring your own, or purchase foods from the on site shop to cook in your kitchenette. This resort is down a long track and so there is nothing else nearby. The wallabies being hand fed at dawn on the beach is great, be sure you ask nicely to join in, and you will be permitted. There are wild kangaroos across the whole place, which is lovely.

I loved the location, and at the end of the day, you'll not want to spend your whole day in the accomadation.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiegoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed at Cape Hillsborough Resort in May 2009. It was a short stay of only 2 nights but it was one of our best weekends ever. The staff were friendly, helpful and the little huts fantastic!

We went in the hope of maybe we would see the kangaroos & wallabies on the beach. Not only did we see the regular wallabies and kangaroos, but Bridget (the resident Eastern Grey Kangaroo) met up with her girlfriends (the wild kangaroos that came in to see her on the beach). It was beautiful & we wanted to share a couple of our favourite photos.

Never will we forget Bridgets face as her 3 friends ran off into the distance, it was like she was torn & almost sad, but decides she wants to stay in the security of her resort.
How can they say that animals have no soul?

Ray & Sue

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank west1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

We camped in a tent for the weekend and found the park to be clean, well-kept and the staff friendly and helpful. Our two teenage children also enjoyed the activities (table-tennis, pool table, tv room and the swimming pool). The wildlife and nature trails are awesome. This is definitely one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozfamilyMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackay
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

Cape Hillsborough national park is an absolute gem. Unfortunately the so called "resort" leaves alot to be desired. The amenities block is so old and dirty. The timber benches in the showers are literally rotting and it smells. The grounds and outdoor furniture are filthy. In fact the council amenities block outside the resort are cleaner. It is such a shame. I am surprised the health department hasn't gotten onto it.

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — amenities and lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rntMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We stayed at this resort in 2000 and loved it then, but only stayed overnight on a trip to Townsville.

So when we booked our trip to the whistsundays also booked 2 nights at Cape Hillsborough.

The decor unfortunately is the same as in 2000, but we found it to be clean and decent (for 100 a night). We stayed in the motel rooms and has a mini kitchenette which was useful.

The food at the restaurant we found to be WAY TOO EXPENSIVE For what you get, and they serve frozen fish!!!! IN TROPICAL QLD THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE by any standards.

Besides that it was ok for the price but the appearance could be improved.

LOVED the kangaroos on the beach at sunrise.

  • Liked — Price was ok and the beach is very nice!
  • Disliked — very busy in camping grounds attached over public holiday w/end
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rjkroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKS BEACH MACKAY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

Having only been resident in Mackay for 2 years and previously lived in UK almost a decade, I think Cape H. is a hidden gem. If you have a 5 star travel intinerary- don't go there (and miss out!). Cape H. is the first place I go when my family and I have spare time and also first on the list when we have visitors. My family and I have always stayed in the beach huts and found the facilities to be more than adequate. You just can't beat nature strolls, kangas on the beach and marshmallows on the fire, plus very nice meals in the restaurant. Don't take my word for it - just go!!
*My mother broke her foot at Cape H, which was not the perfect end to a very perfect day but thank God (even though it was not Cape H's fault) we're not Americans- the place would have crumbled under the litigation!!
*HAVE ALWAYS FOUND THE HOME COOKED FOOD IN THE RESTAURANT TO BE BETTER THAN MANY MACKAY RESTAURANTS!!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank Insomnimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Hillsborough
21.5 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
22.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
18.0 mi away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaforth Holiday Units
Seaforth Holiday Units
#1 of 1 in Seaforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
16.7 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#30 of 34 in Mackay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

Property: Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Address: MS 895, Cape Hillsborough, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cape Hillsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven nestled in the forest, and surrounded by the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park - the ultimate destination to seek respite from the pace of every day living. Awaiting you is private comfortable accommodation and beach front sites in an environment of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hillsborough Nature Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing