We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Overpriced Accomodation.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Hillsborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Terrible Overpriced Accomodation.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort. Unless you have your own camper or caravan DO NOT stay here. The cabins are atrocious and we were slugged $165 a night. Hardly bigger than a shipping container, the beds were so uncomfortable no one got any sleep. You can feel the springs and wire through the mattress, there is mould throughout the dingy ensuite, graffiti imprinted throughout the entire foam roof, cracked and filthy tiles on the floor, filthy windows and screens. The shower was pretty much a pipe sticking out the alcove that cut in and out of hot water continuously.

There were intimidating signs all over the cabin indicating that if dishes weren't done and rubbish removed a $70 cleaning fee would be charged. There was also a sign about the resort only being liable (if proven) for $250 of stolen valuables, with several examples of property theft, which left you feeling your belongings weren't safe to be left. Only the sliding screen door could be locked, the glass door and windows all unsecured.

On booking, was told a beach front cabin was all they had available and on arrival found all beachfront cabins were obscured by thick scrub and had no water view at all. The cabin and camping area of the park was unkempt and facilities poorly maintained.

I feel we were fully taken advantage of as Cape Hillsborough is a national park which can be visited for free and really has nothing to do with the "Nature Resort". You can come as a day visitor and have access to all the walks and beaches and kangaroos on the beach, and also a BBQ area, playground and toilet facilities all without entering the glorified campgroup.

For $165 a night, had we known better, we would have stayed at Seaforth in a cabin for $79 as we found when leaving the area, or even Mackay and come up for a day visit.

Not long after arrival we found the couple that ran the business both arrogant and unaccommodating in the fact they would not allow us to leave with a refund as we were very disappointed in what we had received for our money.


Mary S

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_S255338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodation. As new management we are in the process of refurbishing all accommodation and the park as a whole after many years of neglect.

The tariffs we charge do reflect demand for accommodation in our out of the way area. The national park location restricts the actions we can take in regard to the local flora and fauna. Just as we are not permitted, or would want, to remove native animals from the park nor are we permitted to remove the flora that runs along the foreshore. It also serves to protect all guests from inclement weather which is often much appreciated.

Being located in the tropics and an eco friendly park we do struggle to control mould especially with the higher than average rainfall of the past few years. Our housekeepers strive to maintain a high level of cleaniness in the humid environment without harsh chemicals and we can assure that we are constantly reviewing ways to improve both cleaning and maintainence.

It is standard industry practice to advise visitors to secure belongings and it is not our intention to over emphasise more than the unfortunate reality that we are not immune to this type of event. It is difficult to find the balance between providing the relevant information to guests in a way that is not misinterpreted. We will continue to review ways to action this.

Our cancellation policy is clear however we do consider refunds on a case by case basis. A full refund would be considered if we were advised of your disatisfaction on or soon after arrival and before the cabin facilities had been used.

We hope you choose to return to Cape Hillsborough in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    76
    20
    10
    19
See reviews for
88
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic location being in a national park surrounded by wildlife, and a beautiful beach. The accomodation was disappointingly poor, basically size of a freight container, with basic amenities. Staff are friendly, and plenty of things to do, we stayed for 3 nights and that was sufficient. We paid circa 160 per night and we thought it was overpriced for the accomodation we had, compared to other destinations we visited.

Room Tip: Take your caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have lived in NQ for 14 years now and had missed this gem. Yes the cabins are basic but I don't feel I was mislead about that from the start. We had cabin A24, yes the loo and shower are tiny. We are skinny people so ok but better to use the amenities if you are bigger. A real effort made for families...movies, table tennis, swimming pool plus visiting "blo karts" on the beach. I found the staff friendly and accommodating and all facilities were clean. And the surroundings.....a magic place. Lots of walks and a fabulous beach. Good fishing I believe. One tip...ask for a shady site if you are camping. Our friends had a site that had no shade and it wasn't pleasant. But all in all...great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obeethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had stopped here on our travels down the east coast in our campervan. It was just by chance I had picked this place, we were expecting any normal caravan site but we were amazed by its beauty. The beach the rocks and the ocean is breathtaking. We were advised to get up at 6am for sunset thats when the kangaroos would be on the beach and we were not disappointed. It was amazing to seem them up close, and the views of sunrise over the ocean was spectacular.
The campsite itself had all the amenities and the toilets and showers were very clean.
I would definitely recommend this place to anybody who is in the area. There is so much to do and see here. You can walk to the other island when the tide is low and there are many walks up through the mountain and the views are breathtaking beautiful. We will definitely visit again one night was not long enough.

Room Tip: We had a campsite close to the beach excellent for all the walks and to see the roos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

On our recent trip to the Whitsunday's we wanted to revisit Cape Hillsborough National Park, a lovely place that we hadn't seen for 23 years. The national park is as beautiful and untouched as we remembered, and the nature resort is well set up for both caravans and campers. However our overnight stay in Beachfront Cabin 5 at the Nature Resort was disappointing, cold, uncomfortable and comparatively expensive, and I would not recommend a stay in their cabin accommodation to anyone in winter if they feel the cold. In addition we found the telephone booking service was misleading with resort staff providing a variety of feedback on availability of accommodation. In general the park lacked the warmth and hospitality we have found at other Whitsunday tourism establishments which is disappointing as this area of the coast is so unique and beautiful.

The Nature Resort has a variety of cabin accommodation, of which full details with pictures can be found on their website. After reviewing the available choices, my preferred accommodation was in a two bedroom beachfront cabin. I contacted the resort to book accommodation well in advance but was informed they would only take bookings for the minimum of two nights. However if I called back 48 hours beforehand, they would take overnight bookings. I gladly accepted this policy as accommodation in this area is scarce and I understood that a small business such as this resort would rather accept two night stays where possible. I concluded that if accommodation at the resort was unavailable, we could still visit the national park as a day visitor if we wanted.

Three days prior to our travel to the area, I again contacted the nature resort to check on cabin availability. A male receptionist told me that there were still beachfront two bedroom cabins available and to ring back the next day and they would take my overnight booking. The following day a female receptionist told me she had received a run on bookings and there was no accommodation available however please ring back a few hours beforehand as some times there are late cancellations. Annoying as this was, accommodation is scarce in this area, so my daughter rang back as we approached Cape Hillsborough and she was told there was luckily one studio Beachfront Cabin 5 available at $150 per night. We accepted the accommodation. Later that night we noticed that only half the cabins were occupied including the biggest 2 bedroom Beachfront Cabin vacant.

There are many things about the Beachfront Cabins that are disappointing. Although they are called “beachfront”, there is no view of the beach as it is obstructed by shrubbery. A better view is available on the level higher up the resort. The cabins are very old, draughty and not particularly clean. We also noticed that the windows could not be locked securely. The shower and toilet are very substandard with hot water that takes almost 5 minutes to warm up. The kitchen is poorly equipped with limited old mismatching crockery. Above the sink is a sign in large bold capital letters to inform guests that a fee of $70 will be charged to their credit card if they leave any dirty dishes in the sink! Our cabin had two uncomfortable queen sized beds. Unfortunately the night we stayed experienced very cold temperatures. To stay warm we needed to put on more clothing as there were few warm bed covers and the air conditioner could not be set to warm the cabin. At one stage I arose to try to have a hot shower to warm up, however as the water temperature took forever to heat, I abandoned that plan. Needless to say we were up early to greet the dawn and watch the kangaroos feed on the beachfront, yet this did not compensate for a poor interrupted nights sleep in an uncomfortable bed.

During our holiday we noticed huge differences in the pricing of tourist accommodation in the Whitsunday’s which was determined by supply and demand. These varied from $170 per night to stay in a huge new five star 2 bedroom waterfront apartment at Airlie to a $150 per night for a stay in older style two bedroom cabin in the mountains at Eungella. To me it doesn’t matter how old the accommodation is where I stay. What does matter is that the place is clean and warm, the beds are comfortable, the shower is hot and works well, the kitchen is functional and the management is hospitable. The Beachfront Cabins don't tick any of those boxes. At present the Nature Resort is well set up for caravans and campers but their cabin accommodation (which is nothing more than upmarket camping) needs to be improved or reduced in price considerably to stay competitive. Only those visitors who adore Cape Hillsborough will keep returning to the Nature Resort as there are so many nicer places to visit and stay in the Whitsunday’s.

Room Tip: If you don't have your own caravan or camping gear just visit Cape Hillsborough as a day visitor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review as this feedback helps us to continually improve our accommodation and service.

Minimum stay periods are determined by several factors including those that you have pointed out. We understand that it can be frustrating to have to wait to confirm your reservation and are constantly reviewing how to make this process more simple.

The park is under new management since August 2012 and we are working our way through a refurbishment process after many years of neglect. Our rates do reflect demand although this is not often apparent as guests come and go at varying times. The night you stayed is not necessarily a reflection of occupancy the days before and after.

We do take on board your comments and regret that the accommodation did not meet your expectations. We hope that you return to Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been going to cape hillsborough for 10 years! We find the new management enthusiastic and keen to make our stay fun and comfortable. I love the 9.30 pm quiet time rule.
New management doing a fantastic job!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebarnard78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We love to hear that long term guests continue to enjoy their time with us. We look forward to providing you with another ten years of holiday memories :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newstead vic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

hi guys we had a great time staying with you . all your staff were very pleasant. all the facilities were keept clean. thanks to mick we got a nice feed of crabs. keep the good work up guys with your hard working staff you will go along way.renae thanks for stocking those great pants thay kept the sand flys of.we will be back one day. Lindsay andrea xxxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Hillsborough
17.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
17.1 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.4 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#18 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Seaforth Holiday Units
Seaforth Holiday Units
#1 of 1 in Seaforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#30 of 34 in Mackay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

Property: Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Address: MS 895, Cape Hillsborough, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cape Hillsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven nestled in the forest, and surrounded by the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park - the ultimate destination to seek respite from the pace of every day living. Awaiting you is private comfortable accommodation and beach front sites in an environment of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hillsborough Nature Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing