We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Hillsborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

hi guys we had a great time staying with you . all your staff were very pleasant. all the facilities were keept clean. thanks to mick we got a nice feed of crabs. keep the good work up guys with your hard working staff you will go along way.renae thanks for stocking those great pants thay kept the sand flys of.we will be back one day. Lindsay andrea xxxxx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our favorourite destination made so by the wonderful mgmt and staff that go out of their way to make yr stay memorable. Collected at airport, taken shopping before staying 3 weeks and returned back to airport with a scenic drive along the coastal route. Always a friendly chat at the cafe with nothing too much trouble. I agree with Mark J, new owners with new ideas trying to update facility after steady decline due to past owners, approaching retirement who were also special people. This is truly a piece of paradise and the new mgmt want to ensure the next generation of converts can enjoy it as we and many others want to in the future. I have nothing but admiration for the new owners and their vision for the resort and hope to continue staying there for many years to come with my wife avoiding the Melbourne cold.Our now grown up children share the same love for this beautiful national park and resort. Booking another 3 weeks soon and cannot wait
Neil & Jennie C.

Room Tip: Cabins close to beach quiet and relaxing with the sound of the waves at night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for this kind review and your appreciation of the little extras we try to provide. We are committed to providing the best possible holiday expereince for all guests and know that small things can make the difference between a good holiday and a GREAT one! Come back to Cape Hillsborough Narture Resort soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have read with interest the comments made by people who stayed at Cape Hillsborough over the Easter break March 2013. I find it very disturbing that people can be so self-centred as to slander others to make a point. My husband and I along with our 3 grandchildren have been holidaying there for about 8 years, over which time we have always paid for our grandchildren to stay with us and fully expected to do so.
As for day visitors coming to the park and using the facilities, such as the pool, toilets, showers etc; why should they do it for free when we all have to pay to be there? There is a shower, toilets, Barbeques, tables & chairs in the park outside for day visitors to use all free.
I must admit I felt $8.00 was a bit steep for adults to visit I think $5.00 is sufficient but hopefully that may be revised. Some other parks have a fee and charge up to $10 a head, one should look at this when deciding to shift camp.
I was there at Easter and I did not complain to Management but I was not happy to be kept awake until 1.30am with campers sitting outside and getting quite loud as the alcohol took over, I was pleased to see management put a stop to it. I felt sorry for those campers with small children, and there were a lot of them. Campers can still play cards we do, but you need to consider others and keep your noise down.
Another point made was no scooters allowed after dark, “Bravo” myself and several others have nearly been run down so many times it’s not funny, I don’t have a problem with kids having fun it’s great but no lights on them and racing is rather dangerous, after all they have all day to ride.
I can’t comment on the activities for children I have always considered that is my job as a responsible adult to take care of my own and arrange things to amuse them. Cape Hillsborough is a wonderful place to take the family and my grandchildren have spent their childhood going there on holidays. There is so much for them to do, fishing, crabbing, building forts & cubbies in the bush, being at one with the wildlife just to name a few.
The facilities are cleaned every day and are much cleaner since people have been stopped coming from the beach and using them. As for the new owners I must say in their defence I have always found them to be reasonable and ready to listen and as far as rude I have never had the owners or any staff be rude to me ever.
Anyone who decides to not go to Cape Hillsborough will be doing themselves an injustice. The place is still the same maybe the new owners approach to things is a little different but that is their privilege. If anything has changed with the new owners it’s probably a change for the better. Cape Hillsborough Resort is still the same as it’s always been as far as I am concerned a great place to holiday.
We will, and I hope you too have many nice holidays in this friendly and family orientated park. Look forward to meeting you.
Kevin & Jeanette

Room Tip: Beach front are in the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Cape for the past eleven years; same time each year, under the past and current owners: The pst owners were beautiful, but they were getting on and the children didn't want the responsibilities of the park: The new owners are very keen and dedicated to making the park a place where people can come and totally relax, without the late night parties and noise associated with them.

This is a glorious place and it offers so much to those who want to enjoy the surrounds, ambience and the quietness so as to be able to relax. Parents have to be responsible for their children; just as the new owners are with theirs. This, along with trying to run a business for others to enjoy, thus encouraging guests to return as often as possible; just as we have.

Ben & Renae, keep doing what you're doing, looking forward to seeing you and your pleasant staff again very soon. This year, next and every year!
Happy Campers
Mark, Nerida & The Boys'

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staff were friendly, has a good shop with fish and chip nights in the weekends. great location, beautiful beach only fault was that the cabins were very run down and not well cleaned, for the price charged. We found a pretzel in our bed- certainly not ours!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemimaPuddleDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I can fully recommend Cape Hillsborough Nature Resort for the total tranquility of the beautiful secluded beach, the nice pool, BBQ areas, friendly staff and the wallabies and kangaroos playing on the beach early in the morning. Definitely a must if you are visiting Queensland.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizReiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Loved the friendly wildlife, the beach,the aboriginal history,tropical rain forrest,there is no shoping close by you need to go back to Mackay about 40km away so make sure you stock up on the esentuals..basic cabins are very clean and right on the beach.. the restaurant is a great place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela60a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Hillsborough
5.6 mi away
Seaforth Holiday Units
Seaforth Holiday Units
#1 of 1 in Seaforth
41 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dolphin Heads Resort
Dolphin Heads Resort
#30 of 34 in Mackay
161 reviews
18.3 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hillsborough Nature Tourist Park

Address: 51 Risley Parade, Cape Hillsborough, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cape Hillsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Hillsborough
Price Range: $29 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven nestled in the forest, and surrounded by the beautiful Cape Hillsborough National Park - the ultimate destination to seek respite from the pace of every day living. Awaiting you is private comfortable accommodation and beach front sites in an environment of natural beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Hillsborough Nature Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing