We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peace of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
Dresden, Deutschland
1 review
“peace of paradise”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a peace of paradise in the middle of the rainforest. I had a really warm wellcome! They picked me up from the bus stop, drove us to night fishing and to the walking tracks. The view from the terrace is awesome! I really enjoyed my time. Next time I hope I will see one of the great Cassowarries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_Hartmann_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    46
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
2
44
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location, location, location.
This place is put on a hill overlooking the rain forest. What more is there to say?
It's a well run, clean and friendly hostel. The way it's constructed gives it's old name The Threehouse a lot of sense. It's just a really nice place to wind down.
It's my third time there (1997,2000,2012) and it might be down to old sentimentality, but I recall the place as being even more chilled and relaxing back in the days when it wasn't taken over by Jackaroo, but maybe I'm just getting old og the crowd's getting younger.
Anyways. It's by far your best option for miles! And it's a really nice option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stay here and you will see why everybody extends their stay, often by weeks! Awesome atmosphere, great crew, amazing setting. Being slightly away from the mission beach township works in it's favour as everyone bonds really well and organises things to do together. Jackaroo shuttle buses are always running so it is really easy to get around. If you are in the tropical north, go to Mission Beach and stay at Jackaroo Hostel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place this hostel is. The setting is amazing & the rooms are comfy. Staff are friendly, helpful & make your stay so enjoyable you dont want to go.
Activities are arranged such as fishing & Free Wine Fridays & the guys are in the process of setting an outdoor cinema up. Yes it's in a remote area but there are free bikes to get around on, a really nice cafe 20 min walk away & rides on the minibus down to Mission Beach or Wongaling if you need them. Really cant rate this place high enough & nearly everyone that stays here always adds a day or two on as the place is so chilled out & relaxing to be in. Basic breakfast provided for free which is a bonus for backpackers on a budget. If you are thinking of hitting Mission Beach to do a sky dive or rafting the staff can arrange these too. I urge all savvy backpackers to stay there you wont regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibbsthetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I got picked up at the greyhound stop. And they drive you to the hostel and you go through beautiful rainforest, and when you arrive, the hostel is on a hill in the middle of the rainforest and the view just blow your mind, rainforest all around and the sea in the distance. Just stunning! Clean, good service, friendly good atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great hostel, great staff, great experience!!
Having stayed in a lot of hostels in the past year i can truly say that the Jackaroo never disappoints me! After staying at their hostel in kings cross sydney and having such a wicked time there and making some great new friends it seemed only right to try out their new mission beach hostel. Glad I did, it was beautiful waking up to views of the rainforest and the beach and cooling off with a dip in the pool. And just like kings cross the staff were fantastic, always making sure that I was enjoying myself and making that effort that other hostels I've stayed at don't bother with. I didn't want to leave!!
Would definitely recommend this hostel, as well as the friendly staff it's clean with good facilities and you get free breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polish In Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

What can I say about this place, it truly is paradise! Set in a rainforest next to the beach, the Jackaroo Hostel is one place you must visit before you die! I was picked up from the greyhound bus stop by the Jackaroo Hostel courtesy bus and right from the beginning the staff were more than helpful. They helped my friend and I with our luggage and then drove us to the hostel. The drive itself from the bus stop to the hostel is incredible. You drive along the shore line and experience some of the most beautiful coastline along the east coast. Luckily, the hostel is located right near Bingil Bay, which is by far the best beach in the area. When we arrived at the hostel, OMG!!!!! What a sight. It is like a giant treehouse set in the middle of a beautiful lush green rainforest... we actually saw wallabies on the driveway as we were going into the hostel.
Once there we were greeted by the two owners Rob and Jade. They are two brothers who know there stuff. After speaking to them for a while we found out that they themselves had travelled for about 10 years around the world and always wanted to be involved with travelling and travelers, so that's why they got involved in hostels.
The hostel itself is incredible. It's two levels with the bedrooms set on the top floor with a huge commercial kitchen and big dinning room and common room. The views from here are spectacular. You can see the rainforest with the ocean in the background. 
After we settled in, we ended up in the swimming pool and lazing around. The good thing about the hostel is that it is located near the best beach in the area (Bingil Bay) and some of the best rainforest walks as well, so we had plenty of things to do besides the whitewater rafting and skydiving...which is a must do!
With such a relaxed atmosphere and so much to do, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who truly wants to experience the beauty of what traveling is really about. I only hope I can get back here and experience it again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Szemplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingil Bay
0.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.3 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#2 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach

Property: Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
Address: 13 Frizelle Rd, Bingil Bay, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia (Formerly Jackaroo Hostel Mission Beach)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Bingil Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bingil Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackaroo Hostel Mission Beach is a slice of paradise set in the tropical rainforest of far North Queensland. This island style spacious Treehouse features lofty ceilings and a sundeck overlooking a stunning pool area with hammocks and sun lounges. The atmosphere is unmistakably friendly and laid back. You can venture out to the Great Barrier Reef, go skydiving, shoot the rapids white water rafting at Tully, hike through the rainforest or spend your hours lying by the beautiful pool. It’s the perfect place to take a break, or enjoy all that the outdoors have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing