We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night at clifton gardens but man oh man I wish I had morw time. April is the best time in orange the leaves are all falling which makes the grounds of clifton gardens extra beautiful.
John n kay are the best hosts
So friendly and always willing to chat.
The breakfast was perfect.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaront658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having only two suites, this B&B is nice and intimate. Situated a short drive from town, you feel like you're away from it all. The property is on a lovely plot, with breath-taking views over the surrounding area.

Kay and John ( and Saffy!) are wonderful hosts, and happily provide information on all there is to see and do in the area. They're super friendly and made us feel very welcome. The suites are well equipped, comfortable, modern, spotlessly clean and roomy. For someone that usually likes to run around seeing everything an area has to offer, this place was so comfortable I would have been happy to do nothing as well, and just relax at Clifton Gardens.

We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We don't normally stay in b & bs but it was the Bathurst Races weekend and Orange was booked out except for a cancellation at Clifton Gardens - how lucky were we! The accommodation consists of a lounge/sitting room, complete with tv, DVDs, magazines (including one featuring a 3 page article about Clifton Gardens), bathroom and bedroom. We particularly liked the fact that the other guest suite is on the other end of the building and we had our privacy. Kay and John have their quarters in between the two suites. They are perfect hosts -there when needed but never intrusive. They recommended Racine for dinner - most enjoyable. Breakfast next morning was superb, enhanced by watching the birds in the beautiful garden. We look forward to staying again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gubsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from two wonderful days at Clifton Gardens B&B. The only way I can describe it is - WOW! We stayed in the "Winter Suite" & had our own Lounge/Dining area, bedroom, walk in robe & ensuite. The suite is beautifully furnished, spacious, spotlessly clean & very comfortable, with lovely views from every window. A delicious breakfast was served each morning in our suite & our hosts, Kay & John, were so friendly & gave us great suggestions on what to see & where to dine. If marks were given for hospitality they would definitely come out on top. The B&B is on a two hectare property which is a delight in itself. Beautiful shady trees, lovely gardens & amazing bird life abound.We loved walking in the gardens & taking in the views of the surrounding countryside. This place is truly a little piece of heaven. We hope to return in April next year & would not contemplate staying anywhere else. Thank you, Kay & John, for spoiling us & enabling us to have such a relaxing & enjoyable time in your beautiful home.

Room Tip: Both suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Kay and John Gransden share a passion for providing hospitality that others could only aspire to, and they maintain a level of presentation that can only be described as "spotless" inside and out. Our 4 night stay eventuated as one of life's pleasant surprises, after we were unable to find accommodation in Bathurst .What a gem!

Clifton Gardens is set on 5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, commanding an "infinity view" of rolling hilltops. The house is configured in a "Y" shape, with guest accommodation situated in each wing, separated by the owners quarters in the other. The house design captures the views, and provides an accommodation experience where guests are insulated from the activities of others. The property is situated in Clifton Grove which is an easy short drive to the outskirts of Orange.

We stayed in the "Winter Suite", an apartment comprising lounge/dining area (complete with log fire), bedroom, walk in dressing room and en-suite. Top quality furnishings, floor coverings, linen and bedding are complimented by tasteful decorations, a well stocked library, tea and coffee making facilities, and complimentary welcome glass of wine. We did not use the in house entertainment facilities but there was an extensive selection of DVD,s and CD,s to set your mood.

Kay and John have over twenty years experience in hospitality, and they have a wealth of local knowledge that added another dimension to our stay. They took time to ascertain our interests and were able to suggest recommendations which met or exceeded our expectations.

We are serial travellers, with an appetite for new destinations and experiences. However we keep a short list of destinations that make our "must return" list. Clifton Gardens is one of them, and we hope it makes your bucket list too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We only had one night at Clifton Gardens, but one night was enough to make us feel relaxed and spoiled and if time had permitted we certainly would have stayed two. The 5-acre property screams out peace and serenity with beautiful views and landscape and a variety of bird life. We stayed in the Sunset Suite, which was very comfortable and cozy throughout and with a view of the front and back gardens.

Our hosts John and Kay were delightful and available if we needed anything, yet not intrusive. We did enjoy a cup of coffee and good chat with John in the beautiful garden after breakfast, which complimented our time at Clifton Gardens. Did I mention the wonderful breakfast we had? That alone was worth staying for.

Thank you John and Kay for being such wonderful hosts and allowing us to stay in your beautiful property. I hope we will get to come back one day soon but for two nights not just one.

Nan & Gunther Weijers
Gold Coast

Room Tip: We had the pleasure of viewing both the Sunset and Winder Suites and would have been more than happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanweijers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonGardens, Owner at Clifton Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We were delighted to receive this very positive review and accept it as a "Gold Medal".
Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at John & Kay's Clifton Gardens B&B. What a lovely stay we had!
John & Kay are very warm, welcoming & full of local knowledge. They were very kind to accommodate the 3 of us on short notice. The B&B is generous in size, with everything you will need - especially heating! Only a 7 min drive to the centre of town, it is conveniently located. They also serve a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Clifton Gardens definitely contributed to the wonderful & memorable stay we had at Orange.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancing_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Grove
3.5 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 10 in Orange
159 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#5 of 10 in Orange
268 reviews
8.2 mi away
Borrodell Vineyard
Borrodell Vineyard
#1 of 23 in Orange
96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Clifton Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Templer Pl, Clifton Grove, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange > Clifton Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seasons of Orange in a quiet and picturesque rural setting just minutes from the Orange CBD. Quality bed & breakfast accommodation with attention to detail ensures you have a comfortable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing