We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay at the Farm”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Billinudgel, Byron Shire, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brittany...
1 review
“Amazing stay at the Farm”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would highly recommend staying here. It was a really cool farm experience. The animals were all so beautiful and friendly. I thought it was amazing how all the animals were rescued. The hosts were so accommodating and kind, they really took care of us and made us feel at home. Would happily go back and stay here again. Thanks guys for making our stay enjoyable :)!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Many thanks Brittany - I'm glad you had such a nice time! Hope to see you again in the future x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Beames
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, tranquil surroundings in a home away from home”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Could not be happier with my choice to stay at Sanctuary Farm for my first visit to this wonderful part of Australia. The accomodation is homey with everything you could need, including wifi and Foxtel. The setting is serene, with calming bird noises and the opportunity to interact with the endearing rescue animals collected by the hosts of the property.

The hosts could not be friendlier or more helpful - but also very respectful of your privacy.

The property is a quick drive to places to eat and shop - and ideally placed to visit everywhere in the area - the scenery to be viewed from the winding hinterland roads is simply spectacular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm feeling which washed over me as soon as I arrived
Liked least: Love it all
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyhius...
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family fun on the Sanctuary Farm”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You know you're onto something special when you turn off the main road to Sanctuary Farm Stay. A long drive with towering pines on either sides guide you across two rickety bridges to the main gate. And still the drive meanders, past the goat paddock, past Mable and Clover the cows, Tower and Rosie the horses, the lake with resident pelican-stud Percy and up to the oasis of calm that is Sanctuary Farm Stay.
After a gruelling 9 hr drive from Sydney (we drove cause we wanted to bring both our children - the 9 year old daughter and the 2 year old poodle), we were warmly welcomed to the home of Heidi, James, Jodi and Matthew. Along with an array of dogs with an eccentric range of names from Peter Parker the ball of fluff to Willow the aloft and elegant rescue greyhound.
So the holiday began, nestled in this hidden Brunswick Valley hinterland a sanctuary not just for rescued animals but also city slickers seeking respite and sleep.
The farm is located just outside Billinudgel - exactly 6k round trip - I know I ran it. The setting is serene and the hosts incredibly accommodating. I don't think I've ever seen such hard working people! They were tending to the needs of the animals and us morning, noon and night.
I think we pretty much slept for the first 3 days, and then went exploring. It was an hour to Dreamworld (went there on the tuesday) and hour to Sea World (went there on Saturday) and 20mins to Byron Bay. Every where else was simply minutes - 6mins to New Brighton Dog beach and the amazing Yum Yum cafe, 5 mins to the supermarket at Ocean Shores, 8 mins to Brunswick Heads. It was so well located that I managed to go for a run almost every day on a different beach.
The hosts, as mentioned, where so welcoming. Nothing was too much.
What was so great was that they managed to create something so unique, so calm and so relaxing and welcoming. Not only did we get to relax and recharge, explore and experience a new pace of life. Our 9 year old also got to learn about what it takes to look after animals and how a farm works. She collected the fresh eggs for breakfast and helped feed the horses and walk the goats.
Above all that, we felt good cause this is truly a sanctuary for these animals and the cost of our accommodation goes to covering the costs of these animals so that they can have a better life than what they would have had.
Thank you guys for a lovely holiday and we look forward to coming back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek G
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week at the farm”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just finished an eight night stay at Heidi's Farm Sanctuary. Despite arriving later in the evening, we were met by the home owners who were helpful and showed us around the property. The property provided us with the "home away from home" feeling. We could leisurely walk around the grounds, play with the animals and enjoy the charm that surrounded us. The room was very tidy, beautifully decorated and things were well organized. Our two sons loved the animals that surrounded the property and both claimed that it was their favorite place we've stayed on our eight week trip through NZ and Australia. Also, Heidi, Jodie and James put us in touch with people in Byron Bay (25 minutes) who took us out for surf lessons and snorkeling at the Julian rocks, both of which are highly recommended. It was great to stay at a place where people are so concerned about your well being during your stay. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing