We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House
Ranked #1 of 1 Squaw Lake B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute trip here in March. It was unseasonably warm and this was one of the only places open. Peaceful, gorgeous, relaxing with truly gracious hospitality. I'd recommended a quick escape from the cities anytime of year. You can always hot tub under the stars. Take any suggestions from Kathryn and don't miss the Lost 40, an untouched piece forest. Oh, and a hugely fantastic breakfast.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiguy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixoninn, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi, So glad to see your happy with us review! As you think it's a perfect get-away I think it's a perfect place to live. Yes this March isn't like last year that's for sure, but I'm really enjoying our ski trails in the warm weather. Hope you come stay with us again, Happy spring, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

WE just need a place to escape the hustle and bustle of the cities and this place fit the bill to a tee I know a lot of people go here for fun but we just wanted to relax eat some good food You know enjoy the peace and quit of nature in northern Mn. Really shines off our great state hospitallity and all check it out and you will be pleastly surprised as I was can't wait for the return visit. Thanks again Katheryn Dominic B and guest

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominicbabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixoninn, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
You are very welcome and I can't wait for you to visit again. Glad all was very relaxing for you, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This spot was just the stress reliever we needed! My husband and I needed to get out of the city, but we don't have a cabin. We found this place and thought it would be nice. What we didn't know was HOW nice it actually was! The place is amazing! Fishing, soaking up the sun surounded by nature's beauty in the National Forest! Plus the breakfast and host were great. We could not ask for more, and will be back very soon. Thank you My Lake Home.
Peacefull>Scott & Amanda

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandakorbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dixoninn, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am so glad you found us and had a peaceful stay, thank you for your business and will see you soon again! Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at My Lake Home Bed & breakfast, and already we can't wait to go back there again!! Summer is going so fast, but it is so relaxing and inviting up there that any time of the year is a good time to go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
As it is a pleasure always to have repeat guest such as yourself. I am so glad you always enjoy our peace and quiet. That is one of our top compliments and we are so happy to be able to offer the beauty of the National park to our guests. Now I seem to remember you were talking about trying out our ski trails this winter... if you think it's quiet in the summer, you should check out winter. As always thanks for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Most relaxing place on earth! This b&b had everything we needed to recharge our life. It was so calming. The view is amazing. We fished,went swimming, went on walks enjoyed a camp fire and just sat and did nothing.Kathryn was such a great host. The house is amazing.I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
So glad you enjoyed our place, appreciate your kind words and hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

1. Owner failed to notify about her cancellation fee at the time we made our reservation
2. They had the nerve to charge our credit card a $32 cancellation fee even though I cancelled our reservation less than 24 hours after we made it.
3. Owner complained about another guest because they had requested vegan food
4. Rates are lower (and no breakfast) for those who find her on Craig's List and higher if you hear about her elsewhere.

Looks like a nice place and would have re-scheduled but were turned off by the surprise cancellation fee on credit card.

I understand the need for cancellation fee if the operator turned away other guests AND the cancellation is so last minute they have little or no time to book a new guest AND as long as they provide sufficient advance notice about their fee policy.

None of these factors were true in this case. The reservation for 1 room was for the middle of the week and the owner specifically said there were no other guests booked. I reserved and cancelled within 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyLakeHome, Owner at My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
So sorry you are not happy! I do clearly state my policies on my web site and on confirmations. Your booking came in 3 days before arrival according to my records and you cancelled less than 24 hours of arrival. Most places would charge for the room, I did not.
I do offer just lodging here sometimes. Some people like a more inexpensive rate and prefer no breakfast. and it fills my empty rooms and gives the other guests more space to themselves. That's an advantage I have with owning a guest home I can include it with the B&B or not, depending on what the guest wants. I try to cater to all budgets and all vacationers. As for your comment about the vegan, I have never even had a vegan request so I don't know where you heard it but it wasn't from me. In the future when you book some where ask about the policies, especially when your giving out your credit card #. I as an innkeeper am answering policy questions all the time, I understand my guests concern and I want my guests to understand my policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Our whole family was took over this B@B nicely. Great lake view. Lots of fun winter activities,clean and comphy. We fished, ice skated and had lots of great food. Kathryn and Lyle are great hosts!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House

Property: My Lake Home Bed & Breakfast and Tree House
Address: 50917 E Dixon Lake Rd, Squaw Lake, MN 56681
Location: United States > Minnesota > Squaw Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Squaw Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, unique, peaceful, elegant, romantic... An oasis of tranquility in a visually stunning round inn! Feel the Harmony in this exquisite space! Modern lake living and many amenities on an undeveloped lake. This lakeside round inn is nestled peacefully in the Chippewa National Forest on the waters edge of Dixon Lake. Around the house ... Guest enjoy 4000 square feet with the entire front of both great rooms glass facing a serene Lake. Some of the homes best features are stained glass windows and ceilings, two majestic fireplaces, the tic-tac-tin ceiling in one great room and the 20 foot vaulted ceiling in the other, this ceiling has clouds by day and northern lights in the evenings. Guests enjoy the warm pebbled floors, the open floor plan, homemade artwork and carpentry along with all the unique built ins. Cable TV, wifi, billiards, kitchenette, game tables, bar, in and outdoor music, grand fireplace, huge lounge and indoor dining area.Outdoors guest enjoy comfortable lounge chairs, lakeside log swing, dining courtyard, garden veranda, fire pit and grilling terrace, kayaks, canoe, paddle boat, sandy beach, several gardens, 250 feet of lake shore, wooded 8 acre setting, boat rentals, great fishing & water sports, pristine lake. Boat & ATV rental. Fishing is popular in Dixon lake, this 670 acre lake is connected to Lake Winnie, (MN 5th largest lake) Great walleye, crappie, sunny, perch, bass, pike fishing can be found in both lakes. Breakfast and snacks included. Other meals & extras available. Massage services available (Ever have a Lakeside massage in a tree house spa) Groomed XC ski trails on site, Rentals available. Back woods Snowmobile trails and groomed trails close by. Reduced winter and spring rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing