We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice time”
Review of Spicer Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spicer Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Spicer B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We went for a Thursday and Friday evening getaway. This would include the "Murder Mystery" dinner on Friday night. We arrived and given a good deal of availability, we were able to choose the cabin we wanted to stay in. We ended up in Williams cabin. which worked out well, except it was a little far from the wireless access point. The wireless worked extremely well in the Inn itself.

The 4:30 wine and snack reception was nice, free glass of wine with cheese, crackers, and veggies. We went for a short walk and drive afterwards around Green Lake and the town of Spicer. There was an all you could eat prime rib special that evening. The prime rib was about the best I have ever had, truly outstanding. In fact I changed my order for the next evening's "Murder Mystery" meal from walleye to prime rib as I wanted it again.

We spent much of the next morning at the Inn using the wireless in the parlor, drinking a few cups of their very good coffee, and having a very good breakfast.

The "Murder Mystery" was a bit lame but entertaining enough. There were several couples there who knew each other and they were obviously having a blast. I think if you had several couples there who knew each other, the experience would have been very fun. The dinner was good, the prime rib was not as spectacular as the night before but still way above average.

Overall the cabin was clean, comfortable, though the toilet and sink are a bit small. The bed had a very firm mattress and I slept very well. Parking was kind of random and given the melting snow, a lot of it was quite muddy. Guests who stayed at the main Inn said that their beds were very comfortable but the floors creak quite a bit so getting up in the middle of the night was announced to all. We peaked in on the rooms which we thought were quite cute and roomy.

Overall, it was a relaxing stay that made you feel like you were at a small mansion in the countryside. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassOut76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    13
    9
    21
See reviews for
10
87
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I attended the murder/mystery dinner and stayed overnight. We stayed in Eunices' Room. It was a very quaint room with a queen bed suspended from the ceiling. The house itself is old - that is part of the charm. The staff were all very nice. We were impressed by the food. It was all homemade, very tasty and very plentifull! We are looking forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica4239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Cute ambiance, nice staff, beautiful area and lovely old house but it still wasn't worth the cost. We went in the winter and our room [Russell] was cold when we arrived and took till the middle of the night to get comfortable, the nice claw foot tub in the room couldn't even be used because there wasn't enough hot water [and the staff just said that they can't say if we would get enough water for the bath since they just did dishes in the kitchen!] needless to say we never got more than a couple of inches in the tub before it went ice cold, the food was plentiful but was only average not exceptional [corn syrup instead of maple, nothing organic, etc.] and the staff's response to our water concerns were disappointingly apathetic. It is a little sad because this place could be so great with a few updates, like plumbing and water heaters and organic food! The way it is now, I would not recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Mason's room on a Saturday night and also attended the Mystery dinner. We checked into the hotel at 5:00 pm and had NOTHING to do until the dinner at 8:00 pm. The place felt more like a large old house than a "castle". The building was supposed to have wireless access, but the service ran too slow to run a lap top. There was no common area other than the restaurant. The room was very cramped and there was not enough space to turn around in the bathroom. There was a leaky sink which dripped all night and we had to tie a towel around it to stop the annoying sound. With no television in the room we felt trapped and bored. We paid extra for a room with a whirlpool tub, but didn't have enough hot water to fill the tub to cover the jets. We tried several times to fill it and didn't even have hot water for a shower in the morning. We had other dinner guests walking into our room as they "toured" the place on their own. The food was excellent as was the service in the dining room. The mystery dinner was mostly made up of locals who were brought in to fill parts, but they were unfamiliar with the game and except for one character (Socks) they weren't really "in to it." This did not make for a fun mystery. In another circumstance, I think the mystery dinner could be fun. Perhaps in summer, this place would be a lot more fun, but it is NOT WORTH THE MONEY in winter and it is not worth paying for a whirlpool tub that cannot be used. This would be a great place to go to dinner, but not to stay overnight.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Spicer Castle for a weekend. We did both the dinner cruise and the Mystery dinner; both were fun and delicious, but perhaps a bit overpriced. The house is gorgeous. Our room was small but pretty with a TINY bathroom; I think we had Amy's room. We couldn't turn the ceiling fan on because it shook alarmingly. The breakfasts were awesome both days and the staff was great!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Spouse & I returned from anniversary trip to Spicer Castle. Stayed in Frances' Room and attended Murder Myster Dinner. Overall pleased and would stay there again.

Our room had a king size bed, table with 2 chairs, vanity, night stand, antique sewing machine, bust, and additional chair, still with plenty of room to move around. Room had a window air conditioner. Windows along onewall that faced south. Water Closet was oddly shaped (previously a closet). Claw foot tub/shower.

Were able to peek into a number of rooms and found them to be fairly large for B&B. Yes, all water closets were formerly closets, meaning some tubs were in the bedroom rather than "bathroom".

The inn is very original, which does mean not pristine. For example, the linen covering the family & dining room walls is very old, but waterstained and tore in some places. It was neat to see original stuff, but there is wear when you see something that is 100 years old. The inn was clean.

Breakfasts were leisurely...4 courses in 1.5 hours. Food was fine. Each day there was a juice, fruit, muffin, & egg course. Coffee/tea available. They were good about offering alternatives for those with allergies. I saw 2 different people cite an allergy when their dish was cooked and brought to the table and staff responded by offering alternatives that fit their need.

Grounds are shady, right on the lake with a patio but no shoreline access.

Murder mystery was fun. Took about 2.5 hours. Food was plentiful. Choices were Pork Loin/Gravy, Chicken Piccatta (breaded w/mushroom sauce), or Shrimp Alfredo. Pork & Chicken came with mashed potatoes & green beans. All came with appetizers, punch, French Onion soup, roll, salad, pie a la mode. Wine service was available for an additional rate.

Recommend Glacial Lakes Vineyard & Orchard , which offers approximately 15 wines to taste for $6/ person or pick 6 for $3/person. Red, White, Blush, Dessert. Prepare to be pleasantly surprised with the samplings, it's not your typical Merlot, Chardonnay, etc. They do tours, offer wine for sale, cute wine related shopping, supplies for DIY, and a separate room with a couple card/board games to play while enjoining a glass of wine.

Melvin's on the Lake for dinner -- very good! O'neil's -- pretty much a biker bar, with slow staff and loud music.

Spicer, New London, Paynesville do have antiquing available. Spicer has a nice golf cource with 36 holes, mini golf, movie theater, go carts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We went for our honeymoon. Very charming location, historic and quiet. We went in the winter, and stayed in John's Cottage. We picked that location for privacy, and the whirlpool spa/tub. We stayed about 4 days and had a pretty horrendous time. The staff was hit and miss. They made a nice effort to make it special in terms of putting some chocolates on the best and wine, candles, ect,. but that is where the positives ended. We had the same egg bake breakfast 4 days in a row. (we were the only ones there, so they didn't seem to want to do anything that would be work) the circuit breaker in our cottage (Which is pretty important in the winter) was on and off, usually about 6 or 7 times a day, so all the lights and heat would go off each time. The biggest complaint was the whirlpool. The staff actually TOLD us that the water heater for this cottage only stores enough water to fill it about 1/3 of the way full. Suffice to say, not a lot of fun times in the hot tub. Overall, a very weak effort. We reported all of these issues to the staff and were given no discount, and let me tell you, for 4 days we spent over just over 560.00 which is just about criminal if you ask me. Probably much better in the summer, but we will never go there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Too many horrible aspects to mention.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JRE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2008
Regarding your review, we are truly sorry that you had a "horrendous visit" at our bed and breakfast inn last January 2008. We are a small family business and take pride in what we do. Two thirds of our guests come here on the recommendation of their friends. We wish that you were recommending us and regret that you are not.

While explanations after your disappointment are hardly satisfactory I feel you deserve such. The days you reserved are off season and while many guests enjoy the privacy, others are looking for fellowship.

We did mention that if you plug too many items into one power strip overloading that circuit, part of the electricity in the room would trip and we showed you were the breaker was located. If the power was tripped it would have shut off a portion of the room. There are other outlets available in the cottage for guest use. The heater is gas and therefore would not shut off. Due to today's electrical gadgets, we have an upgrade scheduled for the cottage.

I spoke with our cook and she mentioned she used the ramekin dishes each day for your egg strata's, however she said she did not make the same egg dish each day. I have informed the cook of your comments. Ramekin dishes will not be used every morning for guests staying multiple nights. The result will be breakfasts with alternate presentations so not to appear to be the same entree.

Last spring (2008) we installed an additional tankless water heater in addition to the gas water heater to address the hot water issue. We are happy to report that there is ample hot water for the whirlpool tub and shower.

Lastly, we are truly sorry that our B&B did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Willmar
Days Inn Willmar
#5 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Willmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
12.3 mi away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.8 mi away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#4 of 8 in Willmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicer Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicer Castle Inn

Property: Spicer Castle Inn
Address: 11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288-8626
Location: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Spicer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spicer Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spicer Castle Inn, circa 1895, is located on five wooded acres along the beautiful shores of Green Lake. There are 18 guestrooms, private cabins. Enjoy central Minnesota's lake region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spicer Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicer Castle Hotel Spicer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing