We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family Reunion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spicer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spicer
Fergus Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had our Family Reunion early this year to share our new baby with everybody, we had great time, got a use of this nice weather not typical for March in Minnesota but it worked out great.
My nieces enjoyed the pool a lot.

Room Tip: they have a lot of room types that will accommodate smaller or larger family, poolside rooms are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_SFF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My two small children and I travel a lot, which can be a challenge. We found this hotel to be very accommodating to our needs. The rooms and pool area were very clean and I felt comfortable with the baby crawling on the floor. The staff was kind and helpful. We were able to get into our room early for a nap, which was a bonus. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stay in Spicer once a year for the Green Lake Triathlon and we always stay at the Northern Inn. We have always found the staff to be very accommodating and easy to deal with. Our rooms have always been clean and well made up. The hotel is very conveniently located and offer a small continental breakfast. The only suggestion I would have would be to offer us athletes some hard boiled eggs or something similar for breakfast. Other than that, I think the staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is an older hotel with no frills. It is in a great location across from Green Lake. However, I have nothing good to say about my visit. I was there one night with my Mother and sisters. When we pulled back the sheets to go to bed, we saw that the sheets were full of hair, etc. and had not been cleaned from the previous guests. The towels were extremely thin, old and smelled. I do not believe they had been changed either. When the owners were informed, they did come remake the beds, however we still paid full rate and they seemed a bit put out by it all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briggsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

The room was clean but needs updating, hotel is in a nice quiet area. Rate was adequate.

However, I was disappointed in the afternoon staff. Not friendly at all and trying to locate them (by dialing '0' on the phone even) was hard to do. Not very accommodating. They did have wireless internet but it cut in and out a lot. It was as if I was bothering them when I called the front desk with a wireless question. The hot tub was luke warm and the pool was cloudy (to the point you couldn't see the bottom drain cover) and I was shocked they allowed people to use it (We refused to use it). Breakfast was a few things thrown on a tray and the bagels looked old. Coffee was cold. I guess if you don't want to use the pool area, don't eat the breakfast in the morning, and have the least amount of contact with staff, it's okay to stay here. Unless I hear things have changed, I won't be back and I won't recommend to my clients, family, and friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls Mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

After looking through other guest on here and reading the ratings I had to check it for myself. I send alot of Customers to this Hotel and have never had complaints from any of them,
It is a shame that after the owners have worked so hard to update and improve this Hotel someone trying to over accomadate a room has to put such a bad report out there.
I hope other customers will see that that report was put out there to try to hurt the reputation of the Hotel because they did not get their way.
I will continue to send Clients to this Hotel . I have stayed there myself and know that I have not had any Rude personnal . Sometimes it's the way you treat people that has someone react to you .See for yourself this Hotel is very clean and nicly decorated has a great indoor pool and is in a Great Location!!!!!!!!!
Give them a Try....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerMplsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

We always stay here while visiting our family. This place has been updated, especially pool area looks nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Great location and we enjoy being so close to lake when we come in summer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerMN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
2.4 mi away
Spicer Castle Inn
Spicer Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Spicer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Inn Hotel

Property: Northern Inn Hotel
Address: 154 Lake Ave S, Spicer, MN 56288-9617
Location: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spicer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Inn is the place to stay whether you are on vacation or in the area for business. Located minutes from Willmar, adjacent to beautiful Green Lake, make this a perfect spot for recreational or business travel. We offer a breakfast bar, indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and FREE wireless internet. Our friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms will keep you coming back again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing