We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could of been a bit better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could of been a bit better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Decent room-very comfy bed-mini pillows suck !-pros:room was nice but dated-aarp discount made it what the room was really worth-air worked good-small but functional bath.Cons:get to room,out of toilet paper,had to chase down a housekeeper-could never reach front desk with room phone-no phone book in room-no info in room about onsite restraunt-if it wasn't for the fact that we ate dinner in the restraunt,we wouldn't of known about the free breakfast in the morning-not a very informing hotel-4 floors,only 2 ice makers,with only 1 working-elevator slow as hell & sounded like it's overdue for maintenance.Will have re-think staying here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Greetings Jeff B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback you provided and are glad you found our beds comfortable and our rooms nice. As you mentioned our rooms are dated however in early 2015 we will be doing a full renovation. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we have a chance to exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Lisa Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    11
    9
    23
See reviews for
33
8
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plum City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel was definitely sub-par... The room smelled so much like smoke that I had to wash everything when I got home,there was white stuff on the floor, the toilet was broken, they didn't give me the internet code and when I tried to call to the front desk, the phone didn't work. The shades didn't close properly. The entire hotel was definitely run down looking.

I did have some positives: The breakfast was good, although the employee who munched throughout the time I was there was interesting.... They also did refund me 50% so that was nice. They said that my room shouldn't have been opened but they were overbooked. Wish I'd known that ahead of time.

The bartender was extremely nice, courteous and stayed open until late in the night! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room that has been opened and aired out appropriately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings Michelle H.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and your visit to our restaurant. I would like to sincerely apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel. We hope you will reconsider staying with us next time you are in the area. If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to email me directly at lcooper@globalvisionhotels.com.

Regards,
Lisa Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Saint Paul hotels

South St. Paul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff was very efficient on check inn and departure. Very helpful and courteous. The last time my experience was not as good as it was this time and I seen many improvements in the staff. Also, the breakfast was hot and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings Dennis S.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be efficient, helpful and courteous. We appreciate you taking notice of the many improvements we are trying to make.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel!

Regards,
Lisa Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently stay at the Clarion Hotel in South Saint Paul we were very please with every aspect !The front Desk staff was very friendly, The entire Catering Staff was Awesome ! Great food . This is a hidden treasure, The Breakfast was better than if we were to go to a sit down off the menu Great selection and included with our room.

Room Tip: Call them Direct they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings Emmett,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of our hotel. Ensuring guests have an enjoyable experience is something we are working very hard to do so we appreciate the great comments about the friendliness of our staff and how much you enjoyed the food.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to South Saint Paul!

Regards,
Lisa Marie Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had an event at Clarion hotel in south saint paul, MN from may 23rd through may 25th. we had a lot people from all over united states and Canada. the event went very well, it would not have been better anywhere else. the hotel staff were very efficient and accomodating, they went above and beyond to make our stay a very plesant one. Banquet room was well arranged and decorated, the cleaning crew were on top of stuff, managers were available for questions and very helpful through out. Staff were very honest, we left some checks and cash in the room and was turned in by the staff, you cannot get this kind of honesty and great service in too many places. if I have to choose hotel in future I will choose and recommend this place.

Room Tip: I like all there rooms, you will be pleased any one you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolasoyomokun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Greetings Lolasoyomokun,

Thank you so very much for using our hotel to host your gathering. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations for your event and stay in general. Our staff is very dedicated to ensuring all needs are met and the guest leaves with a lasting fond memory.

Once again we would like to thank you for your kind words and look forward to hosting your events in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I recently had to make a business trip to Minnesota. I stayed for 3 days and was pleasantly surprised by the welcoming reception I received as well as the accommodations I stayed in. The pool was clean and quiet and was extremely relaxing after a long journey.

It is obviously not a new hotel and is slightly dated. With that said, it still falls into the realm of a very comfortable place to stay. I was informed by the General Manager that the hotel is in the process of renovations. From what I learned from a repeat guest at the hotel, they have made major strides in making improvements to the hotel in a short time.

Housekeeping did an excellent job of keeping the rooms, and hotel in general, in a very clean state.

I ate in the restaurant for the three days I was there and was quite impressed with the variety and quality of food on the menu. The Chef did a fantastic job of making meals an experience to enjoy.

For a Clarion Hotel, it is an excellent place to stay. Would I recommend it? You bet!

Room Tip: Try the restaurant, you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Greetings Murray C.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. As you mentioned we are very excited about the renovations that will take place in early 2015. We work very hard to ensure every guest has a positive stay, such as maintaining the cleanliness of guest rooms, a warm welcome and safe departure.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to South Saint Paul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Clarion because it is right down the hill from my brothers house after he became a little grumpy having us there every year (just kidding). The hotel is comfortable, dog friendly and yes a little dated and worn, but good service and always a smile.

Room Tip: Room 310 dated but big and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa Marie C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you therope for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you some solace away from your brother! We are very excited to see you next year as we should be finished our renovations and will have a completely new look!

I hope your travels home went well!

Lisa Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Saint Paul
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#35 of 43 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Eden Prairie/Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
17.9 mi away
Quality Inn Lakeville
Quality Inn Lakeville
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 701 Concord St S, South Saint Paul, MN 55075-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > South Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion South St. Paul Hotel & Conference Center is newly renovated including flat screen televisions and all new bedding. We offer free Wi-Fi,pool, hot tub, 24 hour business center and fitness center, and complimentary breakfast to all of our guests. We have approx. 9,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space, including a ball room that is great for weddings or special events. Our bar The Concord Bar and Grille is opened for business and our hotel is UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Saint Paul
South Saint Paul Best Western
South St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing