We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely few hours”

Prinknash Bird And Deer Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Cranham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bird Park is a small park set in a natural Cotswold Valley so there are "hills" as detailed on our web page. There is a stunning new visitor centre where you can buy light refreshments, toys, gifts and wonderful views of the park from extensive balconies. Courses, lectures and events are held here. The park's ideal for families with toddlers as it's not too large and the birds are "free", they are friendly and will come up to you if you are afraid of birds then this is not the place for you as, the birds are free inquisitive and feed from your hand as do the fallow deer and pygmy goats and the miniature donkeys are there in the summer months. There's a huge collection of peafowl, pheasant and a comprehensive collection of waterfowl from around the world, these are not your common or garden ducks. There are follies for the children to play in especially the Wendy House where you will always find toys inside for the children to play with. Bird Food can be purchased on arrival, which is great fun. Again fi you are afraid of birds then perhaps this is not the park for you. In the summer the Kookaburras are flown at noon, subject to weather. This is a casual and very natural park where you can get close to the birds and animals, with lakes, walking and a true outside feel to it so if your looking for an Alton Towers or a Lego Land attraction then again we are not for you. Yes the birds are free, yes there are hills, yes there are gates and yes it is natural. If you want to get out and be with nature then we will look forward to seeing you and you will love the park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love this park. Good value at £8.90 per person and bird and deer food only 20p. Really interactive I especially liked feeding and stroking the lovely deer. Beautiful grounds and lots of space and seating for a sit down. There is a great cafe also and gift shop.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"few hours"
in 36 reviews
"animal food"
in 8 reviews
"hand feeding"
in 8 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 13 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 6 reviews
"wash your hands"
in 5 reviews
"nice visit"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 16 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"wander around"
in 7 reviews
"cake"
in 8 reviews
"little gem"
in 5 reviews
"wendy house"
in 21 reviews
"free roaming"
in 9 reviews
"trout"
in 8 reviews
"goat food"
in 6 reviews
"different species"
in 5 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018

Great day out, especially if you have children. Various birds and deer. There is also a really nice cafe.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jenze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Lovely morning spent here as grandparents with our 2 year old granddaughter.
Birds and deer very tame and recognised the bags of food as soon as we walked into their area. This freaked out our little person a bit as they pushed and shoved to get at the food.
However, this is not the place for buggies,wheelchairs of any kind. A steep walk from the car park leads to reception and then about a dozen deepish steps to the park itself. Some paths were unmade which made pushing quite difficult. Luckily our granddaughter walked for some time but soon made for the sanctuary of her buggy when the deer became too friendly.
Just something to be aware of, otherwise a pleasant way to spend a morning. Take a picnic though as coffee shop sells next to nothing

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ICU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for the bird sanctuary as we had visited before there was so much more this time they had new born baby deer and Gorgeous young deer roaming around freely in the park they're quite comical you get bags of seed to feed the ducks,hens,geese, turkey's and other birds and the deer try to steal it off you, there's also pellets for hem and they come up to you and very gently take it from your hand it's well worth a visit and there's a lovely tea Room where you can watch all the animals roam around including 3 beautiful reindeer too we will most definitely be back as you need a good few hours to see it all including the Abbey

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank lizstewart2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Such a lovely, tranquil, enjoyable place. We live so far away but wish we could bring children here. The birds and deer are so tame and happy. Environment is very relaxed and peaceful. We spend a couple of hours wandering around and sitting watching the stunning peacock displays! DON'T forget some 20 pence pieces for the deer and goat food. You buy this at machines on the way round. The bird food you buy when you get your ticket. You will not want to miss feeding the deer and stroking them. A true privilege. I hope this sanctuary keeps growing strong x

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank julieclayton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinknash Bird And Deer Park also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Prinknash Bird And Deer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing