We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite run down”

Prinknash Bird And Deer Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Cranham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bird Park is a small park set in a natural Cotswold Valley so there are "hills" as detailed on our web page. There is a stunning new visitor centre where you can buy light refreshments, toys, gifts and wonderful views of the park from extensive balconies. Courses, lectures and events are held here. The park's ideal for families with toddlers as it's not too large and the birds are "free", they are friendly and will come up to you if you are afraid of birds then this is not the place for you as, the birds are free inquisitive and feed from your hand as do the fallow deer and pygmy goats and the miniature donkeys are there in the summer months. There's a huge collection of peafowl, pheasant and a comprehensive collection of waterfowl from around the world, these are not your common or garden ducks. There are follies for the children to play in especially the Wendy House where you will always find toys inside for the children to play with. Bird Food can be purchased on arrival, which is great fun. Again fi you are afraid of birds then perhaps this is not the park for you. In the summer the Kookaburras are flown at noon, subject to weather. This is a casual and very natural park where you can get close to the birds and animals, with lakes, walking and a true outside feel to it so if your looking for an Alton Towers or a Lego Land attraction then again we are not for you. Yes the birds are free, yes there are hills, yes there are gates and yes it is natural. If you want to get out and be with nature then we will look forward to seeing you and you will love the park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quite run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

visited on sat after going to the rococo gdns .felt it was quite run down and expensive for a visitor attraction althrough well sign posted personal taste i guess

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank glenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
togohoudini, Owner at Prinknash Bird And Deer Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
New Visitor Center plans are displayed at the park entrance.
Many thanks for your review and we would like to say that we have planning permission for a New Visitor Centre and Welfare facilities, the contractors have been chosen and the last detailing is in place. However, these things take a long time to get going and planning has taken 3 years from start to finish to get in place and has been very costly.
We are not able to remove our existing buildings until we get the new ones up so we do have a bit more pain to go through yet.
We have a fantastic collection of waterfowl and even without the facilities manage to breed some really rare birds and work well with Slimbridge and Birdland swapping stock and gene pools which is vital and it's amazing that we manage this whilst waiting for our new facilities. Lets hope that we can start building in the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    98
    53
    27
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland - Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Disappointed with the Winter Wonderland theme. Not what I expected. The lights were not fabulous and some were dim. I would not recommend and would not go again even if it was free.

Photos on the website were better than reality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Gaynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I vist this park every few months with my friend as we like to see the animals in different seasons and see the baby's growing up. I do admit it does need some modernisation, but there are plans for this. I was quite surprised to see comments on rudeness from the staff as I personally have always found them very pleasant and more than happy to talk about their animals and the reasons for moving them around.
We find this a very quite and peasfull place to walk around and to feed the animals. It's a place where the world stops and we enjoy the time we spend here. Where else can you hand feed deer and birds like this? Amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieS057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
togohoudini, Owner at Prinknash Bird And Deer Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for your posting and yes we are always a bit surprised by what people post but it's easy to post a rude comment and takes more effort to take the time to be nice. Indeed we have plans for a new building. Planning is in place, contractors have been chosen and we are getting nearer to starting the project but it's taken us 5 years to get to this point and the project is costing £500,000.00 so a large investment but we do appreciate that we need this investment and are just trying to get loans in place but times are hard and banks are not lending but we are nearly there.
This will make a big change for us but we do host lots of lovely children's events that are of a very high quality and are very popular. Thanks again for taking the time to post your view and for kindly noting that WE ARE ABOUT TO MAKE SOME HUGE CHANGES and we can not remove what we have until we have a replacement. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit on a dry day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful few hours here on a sunny Saturday morning. Reading some of the poor reviews on here I can see that on a cold, wet day this place could be seen in a different light. However we had a great time wandering around feeding the animals and enjoying the scenery. The lady on the admissions gate was friendly and helpful and told us they were opening a visitor centre and cafe in the near future which would make for a bit more to do on bad weather days. We also brought some freshly laid eggs to take home which was nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
togohoudini, Owner at Prinknash Bird And Deer Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for your posting and your comment about visiting on a "dry day" well with luck this will not be a problem for ever as we have planning and a contractor chosen to build the new visitor Centre and Welfare facilities which will be massive for us. Loos.....A gift shop....an area to have a cup of tea, lecture rooms, woweeeee! we just can't wait and then people can come and have a cup of tea and then enjoy the park when the rain stops.....please do not desert us now as this project is costing us just over £500,000.00 and will be a National Trust style project and will really bring the park together and allow us to continue all the work we do with Birdland, Slimbraidge and Kirkleatham Zoo in Yorkshire. Thanks for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is terribly run down, dirty and in parts dangerous! If you want to take your children somewhere nice when visiting this area go to Pitville Park in Cheltenham instead...it's clean, great facilities and it's free!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinknash Bird And Deer Park also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Twigworth, Gloucester
 

Been to Prinknash Bird And Deer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing