We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic traditional inn in the countryside with great beer, food and rooms!”
Review of Bluebell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic traditional inn in the countryside with great beer, food and rooms!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for a couple of nights and were incredibly impressed with the whole package.

After a friendly welcome from the owners (Ivor and Joanne), we were shown to our room, which was magnificent! Very spacious and clean, with all the necessary mod-cons missing from many B&Bs these days. The room was based in a separate building from the Inn, but easy access to the pub was always there when a pint was needed! Had a very private feel to it.

The pub served a good selection of alcohols, and Ivor (the landlord) couldn't be friendlier. What makes a nice touch is the pubs' regulars, who were extremely friendly and could offer a good chat (but most certainly did NOT pester!). The food (which I hear is new) was fabulous! Traditional pub grub with the exception of that the "grub" was of very high quality.

The village setting is very quaint. Lound is a beautiful village with friendly faces everywhere. There are many places to go if you fancy going for walks and Retford is a short 5 minute drive away. It is definitely a dog walkers paradise!

Definitely a place worth a visit if you are in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited for a weekend break and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are in converted stables and have been beautifully renovated with everything you could want. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had dinner here as well and were impressed with the quality of the food. We liked the continental breakfast in the room because it meant we could come and go as we pleased and there was plenty of food supplied to keep us going until lunchtime. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N_O_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not only does the Blue Bell offer excellent accommodation - it is now offering great food. I ate there three times last week! - sampling both the Sunday Lunch and the regular menu. Both were excellent - everything fresh and home made. I had smoked salmon and prawns with a fresh salad, home made steak and ale pie and home made treacle sponge and custard - all delicious!
The pub has undergone a make over and the decor is fresh and tasteful without loosing the country pub charm.
Its the ideal location for a walk around the wetland nature reserve - followed by a pint of real ale and a hearty home made meal! Well done Joanne, Ivor and your excellent chef.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Recently stayed at the Bluebell for one night with my Husband after a family party. Room was lovely, looked all freshly decorated. Nice friendly Landlord.
Could benefit from providing a cooked breakfast, as cereal and a pastry doesn't really hit the spot after a night out :-)
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheps1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for a two night stay whilst visiting family locally. I found the Blue Bell via the local council tourism website and, after 20 years of business travel and hotels/B&B's, my standards are pretty high. To say the Blue Bell now ranks in the top 10 of the thousands of places I've stayed, is no exaggeration..

Joanne and Ivor, the geniuses behind this real gem of a traditional English pub & B&B were not only very welcoming and helpful but made me feel like one of the locals. The pub serves fine ales, the locals are wonderful and the room is spotless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Bluebell and found it to be a very friendly pub with a congenial landlord and landlady. The beer was excellent.and the accommodation roomy and comfortable. Continental breakfast OK. We will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444raymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived around 3pm and were immediately welcomed to our room which was spotlessly clean and well equippped. Provided in the room was an abundant supply of teas, coffees, hot chocolate as well as a continential breakfast for the next morning consisting of danish pastries, fruit juice, yoghurts and fruit which lasted us well until mid afternoon.

We would highly recommend staying here and the price was very reasonable too compared to other places we have stayed that were not up to this standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lound
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#2 of 10 in Retford
71 reviews
5.5 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#1 of 23 in Doncaster
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Inn

Property: Bluebell Inn
Address: Town Street, Lound, Retford DN22 8RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford > Lound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lound
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite bed and breakfast available at BlueBell Inn, Retford. Top quality modern bed and breakfast just outside Retford, in the countryside village of Lound. Bed and breakfast, B&B accommodation in Retford and close to Clumber Park, Sherwood Forest and Doncaster Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing