We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Silver Bay
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
287
122
39
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
287
122
39
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north shore pool area steam room black beach waffles atv trails hospitality room split rock lighthouse lake view hot tub hockey tournament very nice place to stay the hotel manager state park free breakfast excellent breakfast the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 475 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

I absolutely did not appreciate the cold shower! I ran the shower for 5 minutes and still no heated water. Finally, it became Luke warm and had to go with that. Everything else was ok in the room. Quiet and clean. Breakfast...not so great.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnsilverbay, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Silver Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Thank you for the review and the nice rating in spite of the fact you did not have hot water. We seldom have that issue at our hotel and there has been no report of any of the hot water malfunctioning. I wish you would have reported the problem at the hotel so we could have troubleshooted the problem, provided you with a hot shower in another guest room and/or compensated you in some way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

A one stop shop. Hotel is actually on the trail. Start right there. When you get home you have pool, sauna and whirlpool to ease those beat up bodies. Next day awake to an excellent breakfast so you can do it all again. Yes. Paradise

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank avchiropractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnsilverbay, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Silver Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I could not have summed it up better myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We've always been pretty satisfied with this hotel when we visit the north shore. They've obviously put a little more effort into upkeep recently, as everything worked properly on our most recent visit. The hot tub had been out of order on our 2 previous visits (for a different reason each time), but it was fully operational this time. The property in general is pretty clean, better than many other places we've stayed. Only gripe is the usual continental breakfast gripe, they had these egg/cheese things that were gross, the bacon is the thin tasteless variety, most ingredients would barely pass as "fresh", and of course no gluten free options. Good news is Northwoods is just up the road, and breakfast there is to die for! Overall, this is a good place to stay, we've been here a dozen times and keep coming back, usually for snowmobile trips, as we can ride right from the front door.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wizardmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnsilverbay, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Silver Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thank you very much for the review. I am glad, that overall you enjoy our hotel and I really appreciate that you keep coming back because the property is clean, well maintained, and because you can access the snowmobile and ATV trails directly from our parking lot. I am sorry that you are not happy with our breakfast buffet. We are a limited service hotel and we do not have a kitchen where we can prepare foods from scratch. We do offer a large variety of foods including eggs, breakfast meats, fresh fruit, a variety of baked goods and cereals, make your own fresh waffles, some gluten free options and more. Also, the breakfast is also complimentary which is a great option for families. Thank you again for the review and see you again soon. The trails have been great thus far this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

Filthy shower. Desk clerk was absolutely no help whatsoever. Manager was supposed to call me but never did. Then I found out I could have stay at a better place in town for $30 less!i will never stay at this hotel again!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank capling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

An amazing place with a great view, friendly staff and a super yummy breakfast!!! They go all out for you. You can not go wrong staying here. Lots of wonderful trails and things to do outside both in the summer and the winter.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank budnicklisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinnsilverbay, Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Silver Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews