We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells and Litter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smells and Litter”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

While the room was clean and we didn't have trouble with the reservation, when you've waited and planned for over a month for a nice get away which you need greatly ... spend the extra money & do NOT stay here! I was trying to save money and yet get everything that came with the 2 Bedroom Grand Master Suite, the fireplace, whirlpool tub, balcony... while the fireplace and whirlpool did save the night, the smell in the room was overwhelming. It was in the bedding, pillows, towels, etc... like a female musky perfume. Outside on the balcony -- forget about opening the windows for fresh air because out there all you could smell was propane. Which, at least it was the beer cans that were scattered about the lawn below.

Then for breakfast... they ran out of hot food (it's only two items! since I'm not counting the make your own waffles), staff wasn't around and when things were refilled it was only a few pieces and the meat wasn't warmed up enough and the eggs were only better because at least those weren't slimy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    88
    33
    3
    8
See reviews for
197
86
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The community campfire ring outside our patio door was a nice bonus to our stay at this hotel. We met several other couples around the fire and shared north shore experiences. This was an unexpected amenity for a hotel stay. The room was what we expected and the location was convenient to several north shore attractions. We took advantage of the discount tickets for the North Shore Scenic boat cruise out of Silver Bay Marina to Split Rock Lighthouse. It was more than we expected! Not only was it a great way to view the north shore, but we saw an eagle, divers over shipwreck sites and a coal ship unloading coal at Silver Bay Mine. We recommend this excursion to everyone staying at AmericInn-Silver Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very friendly staff! Place was very clean and quiet. Bed was super comfortable. And they have a waterslide! Hotel is just a 15 minute drive to Gooseberry Falls and the Split Rock Lighthouse and other scenic overlooks of Lake Superior are close by. By far, the best value along the North Shore. Will definitely stay here again whenever we visit the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock_n_roll_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierz
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

They were booked solid yet we were treated as if we were the only ones there! The view was beautiful and breakfast was excellent!! Beaver bay is where we hung out the most, but downtown Silver Bay is a cute area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The AmericInn in Silver Bay is an excellent budget conscious place to stay on the North Shore. It is clean, has a very friendly staff, a well stocked continental breakfast, and a nice pool area with sauna, hot tub and water slide. It is close to three of the most popular State Parks along the North Shore (Gooseberry, Split Rock, and Tettegouche). The Lemon Wolf in Beaver Bay is an excellent dining option and only 3 miles away. We have stayed here twice now during our fall hiking trips and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushing, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here August 16th during a North shore trip. This hotel was very clean and quiet. The staff was polite and very helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. Staff kept the food items stocked and the area cleaned. The sitting area was crowded but that was only because of other travelers that were oblivious to all other travelers trying to get to around. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here on the way to Lutsen because my favorite Duluth hotels were all booked. My kids loved the watersides. The hotel was charming and the breakfast was free. The whirlpool in the room was great. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noahelijastella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
4.8 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
522 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
23.0 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Address: 150 Mensing Dr, Silver Bay, MN 55614-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime location in Minnesota's Superior North Shore region and wonderful amenities make the AmericInn Lodge and Suites your best lodging choice while in the Silver Bay area. The AmericInn is located on scenic Route 61 just outside the city of Silver Bay approximately one-half mile from Lake Superior and just minutes from the Superior National Forest and several showcase state parks. A variety of room types are available, including rooms and suites that offer whirlpools, fireplaces, balconies and spectacular Lake Superior views. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. The hotel also features two spacious meeting rooms for business meeting and social gatherings. Start your day off right with our complimentary AmericInn Perk breakfast buffet and stay connected with our free High-Speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Guests of all ages enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, large whirlpool, steam room, kiddy pool with frog slide, and, of course, our 110 feet figure eight Big Splash Waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver Bay
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay Hotel Silver Bay
Americinn Hotel Silver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing