We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Nearby Hotels
Grand Superior Lodge(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$85
$62
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Point Lodge(Beaver Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
245
99
35
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
99
35
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorepool areasteam roomwafflespool and water slideblack beachsplit rock lighthousehospitality roomkids loved the poollake viewamerican inna great place to stayquiet hotelcentral locationhockey tournamentnice pooltettegouche state park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 395 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my third or fourth time staying at this establishment. I have always liked the experience--and this time was no exception. Our family of four people stayed for five nights in August 2013. We had a suite with a whirlpool (or jacuzzi) tub, fireplace, and balcony which faced the lake. (This was our second stay in this suite).

This time, I am giving this establishment "Four Stars" instead of "Five Stars"-because things appear to be in transition at the present time. They are currently painting/staining the outside of building. This is a great and timely upgrade--but it is also a bit of a distraction while it is happening. (There were painters working on hydraulic lifts painting the building during much of the daytime hours). The interior of the building, while still in very good condition, is just starting to reach that point where perhaps some remodeling might be beneficial. I am guessing that such remodeling will happen as part of the current work that is being done.

The suite that we had was very quiet and relaxing--especially for an establishment where many children are constantly present. There seemed to be no maintenance issues with our room. The pool area is great. The staff is generally pretty helpful The complimentary breakfast was adequate, but it seemed that the staff had some slight trouble keeping the food items and beverages fully stocked at all times. (i.e. Guests were eating the items faster than the staff could restock them).

The hotel staff remains very helpful--but are perhaps not as outgoing and "pro-active" as they were 2-3 years ago. They still kindly and promptly respond to guest requests. However, 2-3 years ago, they were perhaps more likely to initiate the customer service. (Example: In the past, they might have asked : "Are you going out to dinner tonight? Would you like some restaurant ideas or would you perhaps like to see some sample menus?" Now, they would be more likely to wait for the guest to initiate the request--and then give excellent suggestions).

This hotel is still a great place. However, it seems to have slipped ever-so-slightly from where it was 2-3 years ago. That is why I am giving it Four Stars instead of Five Stars Overall, it was still a great lodging experience and I would HIGHLY recommend this place. However, with the exterior work and distractions going on outside, the interior of building starting to slightly show its age, and the staff still being great--but perhaps a bit less proactive than in the past---I could not quite give the place Five Stars.

Room Tip: I prefer second floor lakeside rooms--but the early morning sun can make those rooms a bit brighter than a late-riser might like.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prain4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family stayed for 2 nights (August 19th and 20th) while vacationing up north. We really enjoyed our time here. The hotel has a nice look to it, also a lot of unusual stuff( ice cream treats and frozen dinners) to purchase which I thought was great. The water slide and a mini one for younger kids was awesome, but the chlorine smell from the pool area was more intense than other hotels we have been to, gave a few of us headaches. The room was nice, extreamly quiet, even with it being busy. The room looked clean but when observed closer there was a lot of really dusty items in the room, one being the coffee maker, definitely glad We didn't need to use that. Also a lot of garbage from the previous guest under the bed skirt. The big issue we had with the room was the shower head, it constantly feel down while showering and sprayed the wall instead of you.I did really liked the beds and thought the duvet cover and pillows were great. Our room on the first floor was also on the lake side so it had a door in our room that led to the back of the hotel which included a private patio area. There are also picnic tables, which we used to eat our breakfast outside by the lake. Though you can't see a ton of on the ground level, but it was still very nice. Especially since the breakfast area was super crowded. Also the room had a fireplace which would be nice during winter. We encountered 4 members of the staff, the older gentleman working the overnight Monday (19th) and the other gentleman working the morning mon and tues (20,21st) were both the great. However the breakfast attendant ( 20,21st) was very off putting, she never smiled or said a word to anyone, even after we said hello to her. Made us feel very unwelcome. All in all we definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a lake side room, if you prefer your own entrance and patio area then choose first floor. Prefer a good view try for 2nd or 3rd, though we noticed not all rooms have balconies so make sure to ask if you want one.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ames K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were clean. There were lots of choices for breakfast including waffles, biscuits and gravy, muffins, toast, eggs, juice, coffee and more. The only negative thing was the breakfast area was very small and very crowded. Way too many tables in the area where you pick up the food. They did open up a conference room for the overflow, but that didn't help the area where you picked up your food items.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakerfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our extended family stayed in a king suite and a king room. Both were clean and roomy. Having a small fridge in the room was handy. The young children enjoyed the small water park. The complimentary breakfast was so-so but very popular, as the lobby area was jam packed for it each morning.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank GBCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family of 5 (6 including our dog) had a great experience at AmericInn at Silver Bay. We got a room with a king size bed and whirlpool. The room had enough space to put a king size air mattress on the floor for our kids. We had notified them ahead of time that we would be bringing the air mattress, so they had bedding and pillows waiting in the room for it. The king size bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The whirlpool bath got used every night, which was especially nice after long hikes seeing the waterfalls in the area! We were pleasantly surprised with all of the food offered at breakfast. We never left hungry! Service was excellent!!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony looking out at Lake Superior was a nice addition for us!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews