We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband & I just returned home a six night stay at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a king room w/ a whirlpool for the first 3 nights but had to change to a regular king room for the rest of the stay as the room had already been booked. The whirlpool was wonderful - large and was in the room (not the bathroom). And the balcony had a nice view of Lake Superior. The other room was nice and clean but the room was smaller and the view looked out over the parking lot. The breakfast was typical. I did appreciate the fresh fruit everyday. And there was hot coffee & water for tea 24/7 in the lobby. The pool was very popular w/ all the kids staying at the hotel. We went there once for a quick swim and a ride down the slide. There is also a hot tub & steam room in the pool area. The staff was very friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    88
    33
    3
    8
See reviews for
197
86
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We decided to leave grand Marie one night early on our way back to the twin cities so our 6 and 9 year old could enjoy the pool and water slide.
Turns out that u must be 48 inches tall to ride the slide! Please understand that this is not a huge water slide. Our six year old was in tears as he is the slide lover in the family. My husband offered to ride with him or to catch him at the bottom, but to no avail.
The location for hotel is a little misleading as frm the road it looks like u are on the beach. We where told by staff that u must drive to the beach.
All in all the lobby is nice, the rooms are average, not our best experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just got home from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and the property was very nice! We had a spacious room that included a balcony with a view of Lake Superior in the distance. The teenagers I had with really enjoyed the pool, that included a slide contest. Complimentary breakfast was good with the standard fare. We had a slow draining bathtub, but I told the front desk person that evening and the next day it was fixed. My only complaint, which is minor compared to all the positives is that the front desk person wanted to charge me $3 for 1 tampon! Silver Bay is a very small town and when I went out looking for a store on a Sunday night, I discovered that the only grocery store in town closed 20 minutes before I arrived. I think the hotel could do a better job of accommodating guest's needs without overcharging for items that would normally be complimentary or a minimum charge at other hotels.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WItraveller53090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everyone on the staff was so nice and inviting! We LOVED our room with the whirlpool in it, and I completed the infamous "Mile Slide" challenge. So fun! The view out of our room was so pretty... Nice to wake up and see Lake Superior! The location of the hotel was very convenient... You are right in the heart of all of the beauty on scenic Hwy 61; an hour to the north is Grand Marais, and an hour to the south is Duluth... Travel in either direction features cascading waterfalls and state parks. I loved everything about my stay, and I'll definitely be back. THANK YOU! :)

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtiger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We chose to stay at the AmericInn during our family vacation because we could ride our ATVs right up to the hotel. The location was superb with great trails right out our front door! We also spent one day traveling along the scenic highway to the north and found many fantastic adventures, including several state parks, more waterfalls than I can count, great little roadside shops, and we even made it to Lutsen Mountain for a ride on the Alpine Slide! The next day we took the highway to the south all the way down to Duluth, again visiting Gooseberry State Park with it's breathtaking waterfalls, Split Rock LIghthouse, the Two Harbors pier and lighthouse, and enjoying a full day of activities in Duluth. The hotel was perfect with the pool and waterslide for the kids, breakfast every morning, and even though the hotel was full the entire week were there, we never heard a peep from neighboring rooms. The beds were comfortable and the nights were quiet. This was by far the BEST family vacation we have taken.

Room Tip: We chose the third floor to avoid any noise from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in July. The kids loved the pool with the water slide! I'm guessing this was the reason for the higher rate then at the other AmericInn we stayed at.

The location was perfect for all the sights along the northshore. We couldn't have asked for better. Since we traveled with a dog that they don't allow you to leave in the room, we had limited dinner choices for delivery.

Breakfast was disappointing because they had biscuits and gravy for each day of our stay - and I'm not a fan. With the exception of this, there were many choices of muffins, bagels, sweet rolls, cereal etc.

We had a room on the first floor facing the "lake". You can see a bit of lake above the tree line.

If you stay, ask for directions to the beach area. It's lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice welcoming feel to the hotel at the entry, smiles with the receptionists and staff, offering many suggestions of where to go for meals and hiking. The beds were so comfortable! Nice having the mini fridge and microwave in the rooms. Love the "pine cone" decor. Nice and clean and the breakfast menu was nice also- between bisquits and gravy or waffles and bacon, cereal and much more. Five of us spending time together and Americinn made it that much better!

Room Tip: Beautiful view of Lake Superior on third floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
4.8 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
522 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#2 of 6 in Two Harbors
502 reviews
23.0 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Address: 150 Mensing Dr, Silver Bay, MN 55614-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Silver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime location in Minnesota's Superior North Shore region and wonderful amenities make the AmericInn Lodge and Suites your best lodging choice while in the Silver Bay area. The AmericInn is located on scenic Route 61 just outside the city of Silver Bay approximately one-half mile from Lake Superior and just minutes from the Superior National Forest and several showcase state parks. A variety of room types are available, including rooms and suites that offer whirlpools, fireplaces, balconies and spectacular Lake Superior views. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. The hotel also features two spacious meeting rooms for business meeting and social gatherings. Start your day off right with our complimentary AmericInn Perk breakfast buffet and stay connected with our free High-Speed Internet access throughout the hotel. Guests of all ages enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, large whirlpool, steam room, kiddy pool with frog slide, and, of course, our 110 feet figure eight Big Splash Waterslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver Bay
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay Hotel Silver Bay
Americinn Hotel Silver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing