We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Silver Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secluded Stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed one evening at the Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wanted to find somewhere quiet, beautiful, and relaxing; this definately was the place! The view of the woods and the sounds of the river were very nice. Lura was very welcoming and accommodating and breakfast was delicious. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whirlpool bath was great for soaking and relaxing.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
180
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent two lovely nights at the Baptism River B&B. The room was nicely outfitted with antique furnishings. The rooms are sooo quiet - never heard a sound from another room unless the windows were open! Loved the breakfast both days, tasty and interesting. The walk down to the river revealed a beautiful scene. We really enjoyed this B&B. It is very lovely, and well thought-out.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a balcony - but the others did. It was not a problem, but next time I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicteacher66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time on our recent stay at Baptism River B&B. Beautiful location and so quiet and relaxing. The home is beautiful as you drive up and even more so when you see the inside. Breakfasts were amazing! Absolutely loved our room and the views of the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Lura was great. We hardly met Andy but he was very friendly in the short time we did see him. Breakfast tasted wonderful both days. My wife and I stayed in the summer for a couple of days to escape the heat of southern Missouri. It was a great stay and I was to go back sometime soon for a chance at seeing the Northern Lights. Lura and Andy are very non invasive and yet will answer any question you ask as honestly as they can. We felt great about being in a somewhat remote location and yet having someone there to give advice on where to eat, what to do, and things to see. Great stay!

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at many B & B's and found Baptism River Inn to be among the best. The attention to detail by Andy and Lura was very noticeable in every aspect of our experience. From the cleanliness and decor of our room, to the extraordinary breakfasts each morning, to the "just the right amount of time" spent with Lura getting ideas of where to eat, hike, explore, etc. it was a great get-away. Would I recommend this destination? Highly!

Room Tip: Three of the rooms have balconies - which is an excellent way to start the morning with a cup of cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msc220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Travel the B&B route frequently enough and you discover that idiosyncrasies often accompany the charm. Not so at Baptism River. Here, with seemingly effortless hospitality, the innkeepers welcome guests into a setting that deftly combines elegance and comfort. Nothing has been overlooked in terms of conveniences, amenities and atmosphere. The sounds of the river coming through our windows set the proper mood and maintained it. Lura took very good care of us from arrival to departure and she went above and beyond the call on more than one occasion. Inside and out, from the beautiful surroundings to the scrumptious breakfasts, the Inn left a lasting impression. Our stay in the Evergreen Suite was picture-perfect and we hope to make regular returns to this very special place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Baptism River B&B. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The surrounding area is gorgeous. The river is just a short walk and can be heard from the B&B. Lura and Andy were so nice and felt like new found friends by the time we left. Our room did not have a balconey which was okay because the weather wasn't quite right for sitting outside. But next time we'll get a room with a balconey. Our breakfasts were delicious and Lura even catered to my vegetarian needs. We loved the jar of fresh cookies and hot drinks always available. After a day of hiking we showered in our big, beautifully appointed bathroom and then curled up with a good book in the guest living room - it was like being in a cosy, north woods home with out the distractions of being at home! We definitely want to return. We have stayed in B&B's throughout the U.S., Scotland, England, Germany and Wales and the Baptism River B&B is one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesotapip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North_Shore_Lodging, Owner at Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such great compliments with us. We're lucky to have this place tucked away in the woods to assure quiet for our guests (that and our 4 kids are mostly moved out :-) ).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
9.5 mi away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
515 reviews
21.7 mi away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
496 reviews
5.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
23.1 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
19.0 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baptism River Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6125 Highway 1, Silver Bay, MN 55614-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary B&B. We built the Baptism River Inn so you could be as social or private as you choose. Our cozy log lodge is centrally located on Minnesota's Lake Superior North Shore bordering Tettegouche State Park. Enjoy our secluded tranquil riverside setting. Expect an unpretentious atmosphere and friendly hospitality. Each guest room radiates its own relaxing casual comfort and warm rich detailed character. Luxuriously appointed private baths feature 2 person whirlpool tubs. Compare us to any quality North Shore accommodations. You’ll find our privacy, quiet, comfort, character, amenities and value will outshine most comparable area hotels, motels and resorts. Snuggle up to a crackling fire in our stone fireplace and unwind in our Finnish sauna. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing