We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Go here.”
Review of Shovel Point

Shovel Point
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Silver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Tettegouche State Park, visitors can walk out to this scenic and rocky area.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow. Go here.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. Traveled the North Shore many times but somehow missed this lovely spot. The hike starts from an easy stop off of 61 to a beautiful new state park center that doubles as a rest stop. It's a bit of a hike up as others have mentioned here but you can stop off at points to rest and you are rewarded with spectacular vistas of Lake Superior and the coast line. Well worth the stop!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldmrhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hard climb of 300 steps”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Maybe it's my age showing, but when we started this trail up I did not know that there would be sooooo many stairs. The view from the top was good, but I found other spots along the Lake Superior shoreline with equally good views and easier access. The stairs were very well-maintained; there were just too many of them for my knees.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank C0untryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth the hike”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Amazing views & some of the best photo ops along the lake. One of our favorite stops when visiting. Previous reviews are spot on. If you walk right from the parking lot the trail will take you down to Baptism River & the rocky "beach". Some people were swimming during our trip. There are overlooks along the way from the river to shovel point. Lots of steps, good workout! Definitely keep kids close!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best views of Lake Superior”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Shovel point is about 200 feet above Lake Superior and definitely worth the walk. Park in the north parking lot in the Tettegouche State park and the trail starts about 100 yards to the east. Trail is good for just about every age because the state has boardwalks and stairs.

Keep the children close to you because there are some very dangerous cliffs!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“do this hike”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

you must do this hike - great views of the coast...lots of stairs, but worth the effort. And that's all I have to say about that...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gottdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shovel Point also viewed

 

Been to Shovel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing