We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving convenient and mobility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If one does not have a car, it is quite inconvenient to visit places of interest from this hotel. It would good if the hotel provides such services or help to make the arrangement such as car rental/bus services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Soo Keong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 366 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I booked a block of rooms at your hotel for our hockey team and we are extremely satisfied with your hotel. The Green mill and Red Robin were awesome. We stayed up until 2am playing cards in the breakfast area and had a great time. Sat out in the beautiful courtyard on Saturday afternoon. The location was great, we played in WBL and Roseville. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed our newly renovated breakfast area and Green Mill restaurant while you were staying with us. I hope you consider us the next time you are in the area. It was a pleasure hosting your group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Always pleasant and helpful. Kinda like a home away from home. Like the new looks and upgrades in decor. Always enjoy the a joining Green Mill Restuarant. Location is really good for us and or visits to our son at the university close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much! That is our goal, to be a “home away from home”. We appreciate you, your loyalty to our brand and hotel, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenage girls) stayed at this Hampton Inn in a pinch during our recent trip out west. We had driven for nearly 18 hours and desperately needed accommodations, but many of initial choices along I-694 were very limited due to a local event. I made this reservation (or thought I did) on our iPad on the road without much information to guide us. As Hilton Honors members, we've grown to expect certain things from Hampton properties and while this property did not meet those expectations, I have to say we weren't displeased either.

On to the good, the hotel staff was very helpful. As I noted above, I thought I had made a reservation via my iPad on the road, but I apparently had failed to confirm the reservation before heading to the hotel. When we got there, the reservation was not listed. The clerk checked with a neighboring Hilton Garden Inn to see if somehow they had my reservation...they didn't. Fortunately, the Hampton had rooms available and the clerk made sure to put us in a larger room (because we had 5 people). The room was more than big enough to accommodate our crew. We had a roll away put into the room and there still was enough room for us to move about comfortably. Breakfast was free and consisted of what I would expect from any free Hampton Inn breakfast....cold choices, a waffle iron and several hot items of the day (cheese omelette and ham slices)....nothing to write home about, but adequate for its price. I did notice that a bar/restaurant was attached to the property, but our family did not eat there, so I can't comment on its quality.

On the not so great...the property is undoubtedly a converted property. I doubt it was always a Hampton Inn and, as such, it doesn't have the usual Hampton general "look and feel." The property is dated and needs some TLC. The room we were in, while large, must have formally been a smoking room as we could detect an undertone of smoke in the room. This would most likely bother someone sensitive to the smell, but it really didn't create an issue for us non-smokers. As I noted above, there was a restaurant attached to the hotel and a few fast food choices close by. Access to the hotel from the highway was a cinch, but due to construction, getting back on the highway was a pain.

In summary, this hotel was good for what we needed it for.....and while it wouldn't be my first choice on a return visit to the area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. So glad to hear the staff was helpful and attentive to your needs and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We have recently undergone some pretty extensive renovations throughout the hotel. I'm sorry you had a smoky issue in your room. We will be sure to follow up and resolve that problem.
Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you will consider us once again the next time your travels return you to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were visiting the Twin Cities for college visits, so we thought the Hampton Inn was a safe bet (since we are pretty loyal HHonors members and have stayed at a number of Hilton properties for both business and pleasure).

This is a Hampton Inn impostor. From the facility to the service, this is a sub-par Hilton property. While some of the items are very minor, it adds up to why this is not a great facility to stay at.

Facility - from the start, you have a problem: There are no automatic, sliding doors. Yep, you get to try to prop the door open to get in with your luggage. So if you only have one roller bag, you are fine, but anything else can become tedious.

The hotel has two floors, but no elevator! So you have to lug your stuff up the stairs. Again, anything bigger than a small roller, you will get your workout! I hope any handicapped enabled rooms are on the first floor.

The wi-fi at the hotel was very low end resulting in a lot of connectivity issues, so we had to resort to our own wireless hot-spot to communicate to the outside world.

Now for the service, when we went to the front desk for both the internet issue and then later for some extra blankets, front desk staff could not be found. As seasoned travellers, you occassionally get someone away for a moment, but on two different times of day for two different issues and no one is around?

While the basics of a clean bed was provided, this facility falls short on both basic amenities and service. You can probably find a better place to stay in this srea for comparable $.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Chitown63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel and I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stay at this hotel several times a year and couldn't ask for a more friendly, comfortable place to stay! It's in a quiet neighborhood, but it is not too far from many of the main attractions in the Twin Cities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had spiders/cobwebs and dead bugs all along the ac unit on the main floor. When we called the front desk at 10:30pm they asked if we wanted it cleaned in the morning! We told them they needed to send someone with a vacuum ASAP. The lady that came was very nice and grossed out as well. They did refund us our money for that night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Manager at Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we strive to provide our guests with 100% satisfaction. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problem is addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis-New Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heights
Holiday Inn Express Vadnais Heig...
#3 of 3 in Vadnais Heights
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roseville, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview

Address: 1000 Gramsie Rd, Shoreview, MN 55126-2949 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Price Range: $113 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus(R) St. Paul North/Shoreview hotel. Enjoy the convenient location in Shoreview, just minutes from the twin cities of Minneapolis-St. Paul. Whether travelers are heading to a meeting at Boston Scientific, Land O'Lakes(R), Country Financial(R), or Deluxe Corporation or visiting Bethel University or the University of Minnesota, location is important and our Shoreview hotel is minutes from each of these! Guests at this Shoreview hotel are also a short drive from many attractions such as the National Sports Center(R), Mall of America(R), Science Museum of Minnesota, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. Discover great shopping at the Rosedale Shopping Center, only four miles away, or catch a NHL game at the Xcel Energy Center(R), MN Twins game at Target(R) Field or some football at the new U.S. Bank Stadium. Our hotel is situated just nine miles from the National Sports Center(R) in Blaine, offering comfortable and convenient accommodations for sports teams visiting the venue. Take the free shuttle service, Monday to Friday, to the wealth of business headquarters, shops, and restaurants within a three-mile radius of the hotel. We offer a range of thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation like free high-speed Internet access in every guest room, room service, a fresh bed, a fitness center and an indoor pool. Wake up to free full hot breakfast every morning. Our on-site restaurant Green Mill serves up delicious meals for lunch and dinner - enjoy in the restaurant or in the comfort of your own room. Attached to the North Metro Event Center, guests can simply walk to the meetings, events or tradeshows that are hosted in this 5600 square foot space that seats up to 280 people. Our dedicated events team is ready to help you create the perfect event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / St. Paul North Hotel Shoreview
Hampton Inn Shoreview
Shoreview Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing