We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have just returned from our second prolonged stay at this Hampton Inn. It is located very near our son and his family.

The hotel has a great location, clean rooms, helpful and friendly staff and great breakfasts! They even serve real hot oatmeal every day. There is a hot egg dish, several cold cereals, waffles, pastries, fresh fruits and GOOD COFFEE!

Although this hotel is a little more expensive, the good breakfast will save you money in the end.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the highway. it is near and you can hear it. Other rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    78
    35
    13
    3
See reviews for
113
44
18
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Minnesota for a Viking's football game from Connecticut. I have stayed at a Hampton Inn before, and the room here in Minnesota was pretty much the same. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the free breakfast was a plus. The hotel staff was very accomodating because when I made the reservation I had asked for a room on the first floor, as both my husband and I have trouble walking. There was a nice little area from our room to go outdoors. We plan on staying here again for any subsequent trips to Minnesota and will especially try out the pool area. I think the biggest plus was the location. It was easy access to the highway and you were about 20 minutes from either airport, the stadium, and the Mall of America. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Green Mill restaurant is a great place to grab a bite to eat, and is like a sports bar.

Room Tip: I would ask the staff any questions if you have room preferences. They are extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Was there in Spring 2007. Nice and cosy. Very warm and friendly staff. Tranquil location yet within walking distance to the big supermarket Target and restaurants. In fact, Green Mill (Restaurant and Bar) is just next to Hampton Inn. I turned down my colleagues' kind offers to fetch me from the hotel to work daily. I so enjoy walking to work, the sight of wild flowers in spring and the fresh spring air. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khtanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. It's a two-story hotel with no elevator. Some of the outside rooms have sliding glass doors which open to a small courtyard with chairs and tables. The pool area is not big, but nice with a hot tub and a few video games and a fitness room. The rooms were good size with nice bathrooms and comfortable bedding; very clean. There is a Green Mill restaurant attached that you enter through the lobby which we ate at and it was very good. A convenient place to stay for the MN State fair; would return again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a sliding glass door to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your great comment on your recent stay! I will make sure the entire staff seeing your great comments! We hope to see you again next year for the State Fair! We loved having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel is a two-story building with no elevator. Our ground floor room had a sliding glass door to the outdoors and, thus, no safe way to leave the door open at night. There was no other way for fresh air. Also, the curtains necessarily had to be closed for dressing. This made the room dark. Smoking is on the second floor. Good restaurant and bar attached. Good parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stay at Hampton Inns a lot and would not consider this to be representitive of a typical Hampton Inn. It appeared to be a remodeled old Holiday Inn. No elevators, old rooms, smelly, etc. They have tried to update some of the propertie's features, but nothing could make a 50 year old hotel new... For the price, there are much more modern hotels in the area.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank leonwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnShoreview, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding our hotel. We take guest comments very seriously and use the feedback to improve. We strive to keep our hotel updated and looking fresh and new for our guests. We’ll keep your comments in mind as we plan our continual improvements to the hotel that are coming soon in 2011. Our staff works very hard to please our guests. We will be sure to share your thoughts!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was not always a Hampton Inn. I'm guessing it was a Holiday Inn from the 1970's. Some of it has retained that 70's "charm". Dark halls, no elevator. Smoking is allowed in this hotel. Really. Hallways smell of smoke. Breakfast area is a bit crowded but fine. Thank goodness the staff are nice here - they really are. The attached restaurant is pretty decent and convenient. If it were up to me, I'd stay at the HGI across the lot and spend a bit more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_Traveler_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments regarding our hotel. We take guest comments very seriously and use the feedback to improve. We strive to keep our hotel updated and looking fresh and new for our guests. We’ll keep your comments in mind as we plan our continual improvements to the hotel. Our staff works very hard to please our guests and will appreciate that you noticed and commented about their service. We will be sure to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoreview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Roseville Minneapolis
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseville - St Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Address: 1000 Gramsie Road, Shoreview, MN 55126-2949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shoreview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shoreview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus(R) St. Paul North/Shoreview hotel. Enjoy the convenient location in Shoreview, just minutes from the twin cities of Minneapolis-St. Paul. Whether travelers are heading to a meeting at Boston Scientific, Land O'Lakes(R), Country Financial(R), or Deluxe Corporation or visiting Bethel University or the University of Minnesota, location is important and our Shoreview hotel is minutes from each of these! Guests at this Shoreview hotel are also a short drive from many attractions such as the National Sports Center(R), Mall of America(R), Science Museum of Minnesota, and the Minnesota State Fairgrounds. Discover great shopping at the Rosedale Shopping Center, only four miles away, or catch a NHL game at the Xcel Energy Center(R), MN Twins game at Target(R) Field or some football at the new U.S. Bank Stadium. Our hotel is situated just nine miles from the National Sports Center(R) in Blaine, offering comfortable and convenient accommodations for sports teams visiting the venue. Take the free shuttle service, Monday to Friday, to the wealth of business headquarters, shops, and restaurants within a three-mile radius of the hotel. We offer a range of thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation like free high-speed Internet access in every guest room, room service, a fresh bed, a fitness center and an indoor pool. Wake up to free full hot breakfast every morning. Our on-site restaurant Green Mill serves up delicious meals for lunch and dinner - enjoy in the restaurant or in the comfort of your own room. Attached to the North Metro Event Center, guests can simply walk to the meetings, events or tradeshows that are hosted in this 5600 square foot space that seats up to 280 people. Our dedicated events team is ready to help you create the perfect event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / St. Paul North Hotel Shoreview
Hampton Inn Shoreview
Shoreview Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing