We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kozlaks' Royal Oaks Restaurant - CLOSED

Kozlaks' Royal Oaks Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Tanglewood Drive
Transit: Kozlak's is on bus transit route, however I don't think anyone has ever come on a bus to eat here.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My daughter and I had dinner there on a very quiet night. Salad bar that we had heard so much about wasn't great. And we were shocked when we ordered our entrees that we couldn't choose what kind of potato we wanted. One of our steaks came with horseradish mashed potatoes which didn't appeal to either of us but we were told "no substitutions". That same steak had been ordered medium well and came medium rare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Slowly declining, Nostalgic dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Kozlak's has long been our white tablecloth dining establishment in the North Metro. The food has been good and service friendly. We last visited for Sunday Jazz Brunch. The food selection was great and some nice Jambalaya and pecan pie. We used to try and get in on the early dinner at least once a month. Now, the place is starting to look dated and is ready for some classing up. The salad bar seems to have diminished since the 90's. The menu has not changed much either. This is a place for older generations down into aging baby-boomers. There is not much of a young crowd in the place. Perhaps the owners intend to let it go down slowly. We have not been able to take advantage of the patio dining for some time. Disappointment comes from little things, like the no longer having after dinner mints by the coat check, or uneven tables. We hope that it gets spruced up a bit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview
1 review
“Overpriced and understaffed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Recently visited the resturant with a group of 36 people for our annual Christmass dinner gathering. One waiter had the responsibility of serving all of us,[poor guy]. the food came in spurts, some people were totally finished eating at our table [8] while others sat waiting for their plates to be delivered. The food was not exceptional, service was poor because they were understaffed, and with an automatic 17 percent gratuity tacked on it was just a disappointing evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Comfortable,Quiet and Relaxing Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family recently gathered at Kozlak's to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. My husband and I had never been there before and were pleasantly surprised. Kozlak's is an upscale restaurant that is tastefully decorated. The atmosphere is cozy and decorated in light,neutral colors that give off a nice airy feel.
The back wall of their dining room is mostly glass and looks out on a covered,screened-in patio area with a quaint little back yard that is nicely landscaped-very pleasant for a summer gathering.
Because their main dining room is on a smaller scale,we were all able to visit and enjoy the evening without all of the noise that one can experience from larger restaurants.
Their menu has a nice variety of entree's and we liked the option of adding their salad bar to our dinner for just a few dollars more. The chef did an excellant job and everyone was very happy with their meal.
They also have a nice bar area that is separate and well away from their dining room.
Kozlak's is that special little place for your special occasion. We look forward to going back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faeyreprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant is quaint and is frequented by many locals in the community. It appears to have a huge following form the 70's to the present. I had walleye for the first time in my life and it was so good. I hope to be able to dine there again. Service was excellent and great prices also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kozlaks' Royal Oaks Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing