We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Red Ginger China Bistro
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Shoreview
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Mpls., MN
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have gone here with groups and as a couple and have always been pleased. Red Ginger provides good food and predictable quality time after time. At times, as English speakers, we've been in the minority of patrons in the dining room. I think that's a good sign in a restaurant that provides ethnic food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6554321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've eaten in once and taken out several times.

Everything we've tried has been delicious. The Pad Thai is just the right spiciness. Flavorful, but not mouth-burning. There is plenty of meat in all the dishes we've ordered. Veggies are cooked just right too - not mushy, but not too crunchy. The menu has an excellent variety.

The last take-out order we got 3 meals from each entree! So you get lots of tasty food for a reasonable price.

The time we ate in, we had excellent service.

I'd love to see this non-chain, locally owned restaurant get more visitors. It deserves it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't count on it”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Never know what to expect. Sometimes it is great other times not so good. We ordered Sweet & Sour chicken. The chicken was over cooked and very tough. We also had the House fried rice was heavy and very greasy.

Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is excellent”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

During a recent trip to see family, we stopped in to have the lunch buffet. We enjoyed it so much, that we stopped in the next day. Little did we know that they were having Dim Sum that day. Oh my that was good! The carts traveled around the restaurant, offering a variety of hot appetizers. We liked it so much, we went back again for a third day! As some of the reviewers have stated, the service isn't great. The first day we were there, we had to go find someone to pay the bill, and even when we found someone, we had to wait until her phone conversation concluded. It wasn't awful, but not the best way to leave a good impression. We had no trouble with service the other two times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomOboysOmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Red Ginger has great food, but their lunch buffet is something to talk about!
Lots of choices that are fresh, they keep it well stocked during lunch,
You can also order off the menu, they serve off the menu family style if you like.
They also have live Lobster and crab you can order and have prepared fresh!
Full stocked bar, you won't be disappointed going here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger China Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Ginger China Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing