We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for short stays if that's all you're going to do.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Shakopee Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is very typical Best Western, the chain that thrives on granting franchises to just about any mom and pop hotel. What sets this hotel apart from others is the amazing service. The senior staff including the sales director Nick lives onsite with his wife and young daughter, so they have a vested interest in keeping the hotel in good, not great, shape.
The hotel is all about the environment, so everything is on motion sensors, from the lights in the hallways to the air conditioning in the room (it does get a bit warm when not in the room in the summer). The rooms are totally unremarkable, older decor, older tv and older albeit relatively comfortable beds.
The deluxe breakfast is the usual hot items you see in about every chain, bagged and heated eggs, bagged gravy, frozen and reheated biscuits, a waffle maker, etc.
Hate to post this here but during my time in the hotel, the Orkin man was out twice, and although I only saw a few bugs, it appears to be an issue since pest control keeps coming out.
Overall, a fine place to stop for a short stay, staff is fantastic and really makes the hotel, otherwise I wouldn't say it's much better than average at best, and probably not advisable for an extended business class stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bummedwiththebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWShakopee, Director of Sales at Best Western Shakopee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time to reveiw our hotel and we hope that your stay was an enjoyable one.
We have tried to really upgrade our ameneties in the last two years to offer a better breakfast and to make a our property a more eco-friendly hotel.
We are also proactive in making sure that we do not have pest problems which is why we have Orkin come out on a regular basis.
Thank you again for your comments and for your stay.
Sincerely,
Nick Galgan
Director of Sales
Best Western Shakopee Inn
Shakopee MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Shakopee Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed 2 nights and the experience was great. Arrived at 4 am as drove down from Canada, Was greeted kindly and process of getting the room keys was fast. Was also offered a bottle of water.

The hot breakfast in the morning was great. Wasn't too busy and they had lots for everybody. Little bit early as the breakfast ends at 9:30. Staff came around and asked how the food was and if anything more could be done. Very attentitive and thorough.

Tv and Inet service at the hotel were great as well, although we didn't spend much time in the room itself. Main area has a free arcade for the younger crowd, and although we never got a chance to use the pool, it looked very appealing from the breakfast lobby.

Check-out was great as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Valley Fair, as it's about a 5 min drive. Mall Of america was a little bit further at about 15 mins.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWShakopee, Director of Sales at Best Western Shakopee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,

Nick Galgan
Director of Sales
Best Western Shakopee Inn
Shakopee MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western the night before attending ValleyFair. It was a convenient and reasonably priced hotel. I would recommend it to my friends if they need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWShakopee, Director of Sales at Best Western Shakopee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2010

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit to Shakopee.

Sincerely,

Nick Galgan
Director of Sales
(866)434-6835

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly, so this property ranked high on those two important attributes.

They are trying to be eco aware, and had CFL's all over, but in some cases didn't have the right light spectrum ones for indoors (some seemed high spectrum which can be a bit irritating over time indoors), but that is a nit. There are also areas where it seems dark in this hotel, like in the entryway of the room.

Our room seemed very clean though, as did the rest of the property. They had several hot options for breakfast, and the food was typical Best Western, though a notch below some of the better free breakfasts that are out there (like Drury's for instance are better). The bed was Ok, but the pillows were harder than we are used to.

The hotel is close to restaurants and gas stations.

All in all, this is a good value hotel. Clean, with friendly workers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWShakopee, Director of Sales at Best Western Shakopee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nick Galgan
Director of Sales
(866)434-6835

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I enjoyed their free hot breakfast. WiFi was lightening speed, never had any issues. They have delicious cookies at the reception. All the Staff was very helpful and friendly. There were signs of carbon footprint reduction everywhere - Very Refreshing to see a hotel focus on Green! I'd highly recommend this property to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muhnster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

I always stay at Best Western and this one is on the top of the list. Staff was the best. Appears to be family owned and they go out of the way to make you feel welcome. Rooms were clean. If there was any dirt, trust me I would have found it. Thank-you for your kindness and clean, safe place to stay while we were visting MN.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obrieninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWShakopee, Director of Sales at Best Western Shakopee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2010

We appreciate your time in filling out a survey for our property. Thank you for the great comments; We are striving to be more eco-friendly and do the right things for our guests.

We hope to have your family stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nick Galgan
Director of Sales
Best Western Shakopee Inn
Shakopee MN
Phone: (866)434-6835

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This was simply a perfect hotel. It was clean - which is difficult to perfect, but then they also were extremely complimentary to my family. Free arcade games, nice pool, fresh baked cookies, a breakfast that was fabulous and the people's personality was warm and inviting. We also bought Valley Fair tickets at a reduced price from them which was an incentive in itself. You really should book at this hotel - they deserve your business - no, I'm not at all related to them - they are just great people with a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SarahMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
0.5 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
30 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shakopee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shakopee Inn

Address: 511 S Marschall Road, Shakopee, MN 55379-2612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shakopee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to all of the Twin Cities attractions, the Best Western Shakopee Inn Minneapolis is waiting for you! With its recent renovation and certification as Minnesota's First Energy Star hotel, you can expect the best as soon as you walk in(including freshly baked cookies).Start your day right with a jog in the fitness center (with weights) and the new Hot Breakfast with eggs, sausages, Cheese-Garlic biscuits/ gravy, hash browns, Belgium waffles and much more!Then relax with our at-home atmosphere which includes a heated indoor pool and hot tub,micro/fridge, HD_TV, new beds with triple sheeting, duvet in every room and luxurious Jacuzzi suites. The hotel boasts Free Arcade games (no quarters required),Screaming fast Fiber Optic WIFI,including several free computer kiosks in the lobby for all your email and web surfing needs. Whether you are here for business or leisure, the Best Western Shakopee Inn Minneapolis welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Shakopee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shakopee Hotel Shakopee
Holiday Inn Shakopee
Shakopee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing