We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better hotels of the summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
MARION
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels of the summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our room was very nice/clean and quiet.The curved shower curtain even closed completely. The Pool/2hot tubs were a great way to relax at night. Downside- no fridges/microwaves in the room (fee) and the curtain didn't block out all the light from outside (we like it dark when we sleep). Clean and pet friendly- only $5/night! This hotel is only a 5 minute drive from Valley Fair, which is why we stayed mainly, but that was awesome! No long drives after a day at the park. The restaurant attached is very good too, and they have nightly specials on food. Prices can be compared to a a mid-scale restaurant, but the specials really help and they have very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNIFER N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    14
    34
    64
See reviews for
70
32
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jordan, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This place deserves nothing but 0 out of 5 stars!!!

Have a wedding planned here? RUN....!!!! Trust me, you will thank me later!!! The contract you signed will no longer be honored and you will be charged for things that were not in the original agreement! We were told that if we didn't like it that was okay, they would just charge us the price that was agreed upon and absorb the cost somewhere else! Really!? Having a chef to cook for your guests is a must, right? Well, they don't even have one of those! Did they tell you that they changed their name AGAIN!? If not, hopefully you haven't mailed your invitations out yet and can plan on spending hundreds of dollars getting them re-printed!! One might think that contacting the owner will get you somewhere....well, that is definitely NOT the case!! Tony is the owner and isn't willing to work with us at all!! We get nothing but the run around with him!! All we want is our $600.00 deposit back ( I don't think this is too much to ask for after all they put us through and additional money it's costing us and not honoring the original contract!) and after a couple months of doing everything we can we now have no choice but to contact the BBB and if that doesn't get us anywhere, we will be taking it to court!

If you know of anyone planning on Americas Best Value Inn and Suites in Shakopee, MN (name changing AGAIN/SOON to The Lexington) as their wedding venue....PLEASE warn them!! If you are thinking about using them....DON'T DO IT!!!!!

GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK!! This could have all been avoided if you would have just done what is right in the first place!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

If I could give a zero stars, I would. We had to check in late into a FILTHY, SMELLY room! Bugs in dirty windows, dirty towels, dirty bedding, Filthy microwave. I would NEVER, NEVER return! Stay Away!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Autumn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We checked into one of our rooms at 3:30. The other wasn't ready until nearly 5. Both rooms were nasty. Mold everywhere, filthy microwave, dirty towels and bedding, broken toilet paper holders (or none at all), popcorn on the floor, cigarette burns on the tables- in nonsmoking rooms no less, torn furniture.... I could go on and on.... We went through SIX rooms trying to find one decently clean. Tried to find another place to stay for the night, but the area was booked solid. We will never stay here again! 0/5 stars!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

AC and "air mattresses" didn't work in our first room, #136. The toilet leaked all over the floor (all of the time) and the shower (drain?) smelled TERRIBLE. There was also black mold on the ceiling. The room was very damp - so damp, that the water on the floor that we tried to wipe up never dried.

They switched us to room #252 - hadn't been cleaned yet.
Then they switched us to room #392 - also hadn't been cleaned yet.

Switched us to room #207 - was the best of all 4, but still subpar.

We checked our bank acct today and they charged our account twice -$711. Great. I wonder how long it will take to get this fixed.

Don't stay here. It's a total POS and isn't worth more than $40/night. Each room we checked was gross, dirty, and outdated. The only reason we stayed was because of a wedding. Stayed Aug 15-18, 2014. All of our friends and family complained about how gross and outdated their rooms were. I don't know what the problem is here; is management not aware of how sh#tty their hotel and staff is? Or do they know and they don't care?

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Broken doors, no smoke detectors, dirty, smells, no air conditioning, brother got stuck in elevator for 15 minutes, ants crawling in room, dirty blankets and sheets with blood on them. I do not care if this place is cheap, find a new hotel and pay the extra $30. Every person we talked with said they would never come back and I agree.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here as a default choice due to an unexpected change in plans. What a mistake! Exterior is deceptively nice. Interior - rooms are disgusting! It does appear that they are making some changes but in a very bizarre, haphazard manner. Nice new rooms near pool were unused! Assigned folks to dumps! Stayed in Rm 234. New granite counter in bath with new vanity sink. Grout in tub surround had been painted a dark brown - to cover-up dirt?? A creative alternative to complete tub and surround replacement - which is what was really needed. Tub itself was an antique. Tile was somewhere between Harvest gold and mud. No holder for TP at all. Roll sat on counter. Tub drain had broken piece of soap in drain and, while maid service was in room during day 2, the only thing that was touched was the bed for straightening! Tub still had broken soap and hair. Clearly no cleaning done there! Furniture mismatched with some brown wood tone pieces and some beat-up decrepit white provincial pieces. Rm 234 was second room assigned, Original room was unmade or already occupied when entered at 10:00pm. Suffice it to say we will never use this property again when visiting the Twin Cities!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vconvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
2.3 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing