We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Good Stay for a great price”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a very good experience with this location. From when I started to plan this and the helpfulness of the staff. Megan was a great help in the planning and getting us a great weekly rate. While there she was also very helpful in planning day trips to the surrounding area attractions. I would recommend staying here and if you get the help of Megan it will be a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Doug M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
We are happy to hear you had such a great time visiting our hotel. I will share your comments with Megan. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope you consider us in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    17
    34
    64
See reviews for
73
32
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room that we were given had a bad oder and the bed was practically sitting on the floor. We were given a different room which was better but dated and not really clean. We stayed for only one night instead of two.

Room Tip: Room away from the pool is best if you don't want the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Pat K,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I apologize our rooms were not up to your expectations. I will alert our housekeeping staff of your comments and we will address right away. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope you consider us in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's a nice enough hotel -- clean, comfortable. The suite we had was fine. But the advertised high-speed Internet didn't reach our room. Is that because the Internet was temporarily malfunctioning? No, it's because the Internet at the America's Best Value Inn & Suites simply doesn't reach some of the rooms. So ... if that's important to you -- or, by extension, if it's important to be able to trust the statements about the hotel made by the hotel's website or its administration ... you might want to consider someplace else. By misrepresenting what was available at the hotel, Shakopee Americas BV Inn&Suites deprived us of the option of finding someplace that better suited our needs.

Room Tip: If you want Internet, I guess you have to ... call the main desk and say "Can I get a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
JohnWolfe,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I apologize our wireless internet did not reach your room. We are in the process of updating our routers so this will not be an issue much longer. We are glad to hear you found the rest of our property and rooms clean and comfortable. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed from 17-24 August 13 for a golf trip. I made my reservations over the phone and the girl who assisted me was extremely friendly and helpful. Upgraded to a suite but wish we hadn't. The suite part of the room was very dated with a small bar in the corner. Had to squeeze between the couch and the bar to get back to the small frig. Other than that the room was adequate. Breakfast is included and was OK. Nothing special, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage, cereal, etc. The pool is indoors and was OK. Lots of kids during the weekend. The elevator broke about 4 times so we had to take the stairs. Just one of those things. The only thing that we really had a problem with is that they only made our bed once the whole time we were there. I would pull the sheets up to the pillows before we would leave for the day and they were exactly where we put them when we got back. I spoke with the front desk about my concern and they told me they did not really know what housekeeping was supposed to do. One day they did not even bring us any clean towels, no service that day. Other than that, everything was just OK. If I were going to play golf in the area again, I would look at some other hotels first.

Room Tip: Don't reserve the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Brian K,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I apologize our main elevator went down while you were here. Thankfully we have 2 elevators, so everyone just used the other elevator that day when the main one went down. We did call our servicing company right away and they came out to fix it. I am sorry your room didn't get cleaned every day, if you had your 'do not disturb' sign up during the day our housekeeping team will not enter your room that day. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We walked in & were able to get into a room early - our central air at home had broken and we needed a night to cool down! Front desk staff was very friendly!
We had a poolside "suite" on the 2nd floor. Room was very outdated and tight! Smelled weird, furniture was stained, but otherwise was pretty clean. The bed was made, but when I turned the bed down, there was black body hair on the sheets like perhaps the linens hadn't been changed after the last guest. I asked if we could have all of our bed linens changed. Within 10 minutes, 2 women knocked on our door & quickly changed the sheets.
pool, hot tubs and breakfast are great!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eckle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Eckle75,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I apologize that the room did not meet your expectations, we are always looking to make improvements. I will forward your comments on to our management team. I can assure you we do change the bedding after every guest checks out. We are so glad you enjoyed our indoor pool area and hot breakfast. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The location was good but the service was horrible.1.They said that we would have a pool side room well we were facing the wall.2.The arcade was closed.3.our tv barely worked.The beds are comfy and the rooms are pretty clean.But it's average.They could have better service if you go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiurwyikjjbcxssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Fiurwyikjjbcxssd,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I apologize we did not meet your expectations. Our poolside rooms are the most popular during the weekends and we sell out of those very fast. I am sorry we did not have the availability when you arrived. Our arcade is now in working condition and I will have our maintenance team check all our TVs for and issues. We are glad you found the bed comfortable and the rooms clean. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came down on a spur of the moment trip. My son and I went to Valley Fair. The room was simple and comfortable. WE very much enjoyed the continental breakfast, very good selection of items (hot and cold).
I have two complaints, 1) our coffee maker leaked, and 2) there was a weird smell in the hallway...smelled kind of like rotten fruit.
We would definately stay here again though

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconny_woman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
pulabean,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
We are glad you found the room comfortable and had time to enjoy our hot breakfast. If you could email or call me with the room number you stayed in I will replace the coffee maker right away. Also, we have used a new scent to shampoo our hallways. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
2.3 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Address: 1244 Canterbury Rd S, Shakopee, MN 55379-8944 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing