We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Elk River, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here. We were surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the features of this hotel, for the price! It was a great value! I had a steak at the restaurant and again was very pleased with the quality. I'll go again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Randy S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    14
    34
    64
See reviews for
70
32
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, ND USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Friendly greeting by desk staff. Reservation was accurate. We had a minor plumbing issue that we mentioned in the morning. When we got back in the evening it was taken care of. We had an outside room on the south side. A major highway is close by and the patio door did not keep out the constant drone of traffic noise. A colleague had an inside room and said the nose was not an issue. Room was clean. The hallway had some odor, but it did not come into the room. One night at 2:30am someone decided to crank up the music, but that was short-lived. Hot breakfast of eggs, potatoes, either bacon or sausage, and several choices of breads/muffins.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arlyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Arlyn N,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
It's great to hear the staff came across responsive and friendly; that is what we strive for each day. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is clean and comfortable. Beds are better than most motels. Breakfast if terrific. The staff is fabulous. The only drawback is that the lounge is obviously a local hang out, and is extremely loud. Food at the steakhouse was wonderful

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the pool noise, get a room on the outer edge of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjohnsonret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
tjohnsonret,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We have alerted the staff regarding the loudness in the lounge and are addressing right away. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and room. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had 5 poolside rooms for our 4 adult children and 5 grandchildren. The front desk (Taylor) was extremely accommodating and organized. We had fun at the pool. The food in the Leinkugel Lodge was good but the service was slow. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. The free breakfast was enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Diane M,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Your feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We have been working diligently to improve the speed of our restaurants since your visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now. The location is perfect, not to car from valley fair, the rennasaince festival, or the Mall of America. Their breakfast is awesome, even have bacon and scrambled eggs, bagels, cereal. I would much rather eat there than spend money in a restaurant. I would sray there again although it seems that they have been raising their prices.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Tanya H,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are so glad you enjoyed our free hot breakfast. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night on November 17th. Wow what great facilities! What really blew my mind was how nice the staff was. From the front desk to the young man serving breakfast. The rooms were clean and with a group of young people we were allowed to bring snacks in by the pool! In this tough time it was nice to be able to feed all the kids that way! We are hosting a double 25th wedding anniversary party in January and have picked America's Best Value as the place for our families to stay for the night. The kids can swim and later the adults can dance! It was all in all a wonderful experience. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who will listen! thanks again so much. Sue W.

Room Tip: We had a pool side room, but on the (guess) west end of the pool are suites with patio doors to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Susan W,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We can't wait to see you again in January! Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center City, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped by on November 17th to check in. The room that we checked in for was in our partner’s name. I felt that this may cause an issue to get in, however, the friendly front desk allowed us to check in to both rooms (with the help of a cellphone) both rooms where clean and neatly set. The hotel looked practically brand new, and well taken care of. The pool and spa area looked great (I will admit that the chlorine scent was noticeable, but heck, it’s an indoor pool for crying out loud!!) I liked the idea of a pool side entry door, nice touch! The food and bar service was great, along with the waiter!! The only issue we had was the bathroom sink was slow at draining. What do I do?.......Call the front desk and ask for maintenance. The nice gentleman came to our room in under 2 minutes, quick and easy, out in a flash. Sometimes people need to understand that hotels are visited by thousands of people in a years’ time. I will not knock off the service and great hotel over simple, dumb, little things. This is a great hotel, with great and quick service, and packaged nicely. I have been to cheap hotels, and this hotel definitely hits the top of my list!!

Room Tip: If you have sensitivity to the chlorine scent of an indoor pool, simply ask the front desk to place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey A, Assistant General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
David P,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Canterbury Inn.
I will make sure to share your positive comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are glad you enjoyed having a poolside room. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Jeffrey Abbott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
2.3 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing