We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Mexican restaurant in MN”

El Toro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Shakopee
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican restaurant in MN”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I love this place! Especially the white dip they provide you with the chips and salsa. Not sure what's in it, but it's addicting and SO yummy.

Lunch time specials are very reasonable with perfect portion size. Enough to be full, not enough to be uncomfortable, unless you've overdone it on the aforementioned chips and dip.

Diner is a bit more expensive, but portion sizes do increase as well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillybean_stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexical Restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I love this place! We have eaten here several times and gotten takeout too. The food is always excellent and the service is great. You get a lot of food for the price. Can't wait to eat there again soon!

Helpful?
Thank jennifer1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic without the side effects”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I live in Shakopee and frequent El Toro more than any restaurant in town with my kids. They serve solid entrees across the board at reasonable, if not inexpensive prices. Their fresh made chips and salsa are very good and like night and day better than anything you get at Don Pablos, Pepitos or Chipolte. I personally get their Jalapeno salsa (free, but freshly made HOT!) and let my kids eat the mild. My kids, and frequently their friends as well, eat for $5. That includes a drink (for my kids authentic Horchata), a decent sized kids portion burrito, taco, enchilada, etc served with rice and beans. It also comes with fried ice cream or sopapilla for dessert.
Their mexican rice is fantastic, my kids cannot get enough and I crave it when I'm stuck at another restaurant that doesn't compare. As far as entrees, they are all good, I typically get a beef or chicken entree, but my favorite is the combo mexican fajitas with beef and chicken.
Additionally they serve many different kids of beer and tequila, as well as a good house margarita. The other day I had a couple of Dos Equis dark beers on tap. Crisp, clean and delicious, no flat keg here.
The service is decent overall, but there are certain servers who just don't speak enough english and have screwed up an order occasionally for me to give 5 stars. I have my favorite servers who really take care of me when they are there! IF I continue to get the service I've had the last couple of times I visited, I'll move my rating to 5.0 stars. They also have a mariachi band that goes from table to table on occasion. Give this place a try, it will grow on you right away.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I'm writing this review so that when I forget it's name, as I do, I will be able to recall it. I took my father (who came along grudgingly) and two others; we all left big fans. I had a very tasty taco salad but the colossal beer(s) I had hinder my recall of what others had but I'm advised it was all well received.
A friendly family run operation, this place is a gem.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Muy bueno!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great food, good service, and reasonable prices. I was visiting area on business and ate here twice, it was that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imagolfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Toro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing