We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious-Love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr Pig Stuff

Mr Pig Stuff
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Shakopee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious-Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love this place. The food is excellent ( I mean everything is very good). I really enjoy the combo platter which has brisket, ribs, pork. If you like spicy food try the spicy coleslaw. They have TC's and board games for the kids. The building is old on the inside and out, but do not let that fool you

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bdutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very good smoky ribs for a place with a quirky name”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

So I have been chuckling about the name all week. I think it is really funny and cute and must be a small family style business. We had a sampler platter with above average portion size and priced lower that I would have imagined. The ribs were the highlight, though I would have liked the rack of 4 to have been cut by a sharp knife in the kitchen as I had to use a plastic knife to cut at the table. I was suprised they have so many "excellent" ratings, but then I probably could rate excellent if I took the food home and ate at my house. The building has many shortcomings such as half of the lights being burned out and my wife said the bathrooms were very bad, so I didn't go in there. This place has been used hard and appears to have been a different restaurant in a previous life. Spend 1k in light bulbs, some paint and put the sauce on the table and Mr Pig Stuff would get to very good. I'd also cut back on the liquid in the "homemade coleslaw". I loved some of the Big 10 sports team pictures on the walls. I really hope the owners read this as I will be back as a few tips and having a bit more operational excellence will help in their success. Weird that I had fries, though no packets of condiments and when I went up to the cooks, they gave me their only bottle of ketchup. Go to Famous Dave's and their interior didn't cost a lot of money, but it speaks bbq. I'd also make the menus above the order area with a bigger font as it is hard to read (and a guy I saw took his menu out to the door to get better light) when you come in. Probably more than you wanted, but then again, I love the name. Cheers!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
265 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best beef ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chris and his team do a great job! This is a great great great place to dine. They also will cook on site. Highly recommend this place,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thewarden501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Redeeming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I ate at this restaurant last summer, and was so disappointed in the condition of the restaurant, as well as the staff. I was forced to eat there again today with some co-workers. Wow. They have definitely turned it around. The cashier/waitress was exceptional, very friendly, accommodating, and personable. Much better than last summers cashier who was rude. The restaurant was neat, clean, and overall looked good. I'm happy to say they seem to take care of the place now. I was able to enjoy my food and it was also excellent. Way to turn it around Mr Pig Stuff, I will look forward to coming back and bringing the office with me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to Mr. Pig Stuff per trip advisor recommendations. Was not disappointed. I loved the baby back ribs. They were tender without being mushy. There are several different BBQ sauces to choose from. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich.. It was quite good also. Even the sides were good, although I thought the baked beans were a little sweet. The restaurant is casual with a nice fireplace & spacious dining area. The prices are reasonable. Will return when in the twin cities.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mr Pig Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing