We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We started our Shakopee vacation at the Canterbury Inn across the street from this hotel and learned that "you get what you pay for" still applies. After that horrible experience I found the AmericInn and my vacation was saved! Super friendly front desk staff, clean rooms, beautifyl pool (with a waterslide! Wow!) my two boys (8&5) loved it! If all of their hotels (I admit I'd never head of this chain) are this nice, they have earned a loyal customer by just one visit!

Lizzy B

  • Liked — Employees appeared to like their jobs.
  • Disliked — Price was a bit higher than others, but well worth it in the end.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank natetheplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    73
    30
    29
    21
See reviews for
183
43
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Loved the hotel. Breakfast was best I've ever had including the fruit topping for the waffles. My boys really enjoyed the waterslide.

  • Liked — Waterpark
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hot_mommaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2005

We (family of four, kids aged 7 & 10) stayed here for 2 nights in early July to go to Valleyfair and the Mall of America. I paid $80/night which I thought was kind of steep, but they advertised that they had a "waterpark" on the premises so I thought the kids would enjoy it. The "watherpark" turned out to be a baby pool with a tiny slide, and one average sized water slide that they shut down for 15 minutes every hour. The pool water was so cold that my daughter could not even go in, although my son had a blast on the slide. The hours of operation are a bit convoluted, make sure you check ahead so you are not disappointed. The hotel itself looks nice and new, although up on the 3rd floor there was a kind of funky, stale smell in the lobby. The rooms are okay, nothing is really bad, but I guess for $80 I just expected a bit more. The desk staff were helpful and the location is not far from Valleyfair, about a 5 minuted drive. If you could get a room for about $60 here, I would say that represented good value. Other than Valleyfair and Canterbury Park (race track) there is not much to see. The track is directly across the street.

I guess the biggest disappointment would have been the breakfast. I had never stayed at an Americinn, but they are known for their free breakfasts, which are supposed to have a good variety way beyond the usual free continental breakfast of stale muffins and bruised fruit. Well, these guys didn't even have the fruit! Admittedly, there was 2 waffle machines, but talk about unhealthy, how can you not even offer a single apple? I have had better "free breakfasts" at most hotels. This one had a VERY limited selection, my advice is go to the Mcdonald's across the street, its worth the few extra bucks!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kidsmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2005

We only stayed one night on our way to Nebraska but wish we could have spent more time there because the sauna & whirlpool are great! Also nice having a coffeemaker in the room and a free breakfast. Room was clean & quiet & bed was ok. Good value for price compared to other places in Shakopee.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
28 reviews
6.0 mi away
AmericInn Chanhassen
AmericInn Chanhassen
#2 of 4 in Chanhassen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
Address: 4100 12th Ave E, Shakopee, MN 55379-1945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Shakopee _ Canterbury Park
Americinn Lodge & Suites Shakopee _ Canterbury Park Hotel Shakopee
Americinn Hotel Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing