We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel was fine except the parking area was completely dark and there was no lighting anywhere outside. Even the sign on the building was dark. Missed the hotel on the first drive by and going to and from the car was a little nerve wracking with the complete darkness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank BruceK753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Bruce K,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have recently updated our lighting on the exterior of our building and also have revamped our landscaping. You will have to stop by and take a look - you can see us from afar! Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 331 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We travel a lot and have stayed at many different hotels, other Americinns included and this was the worse. We arrived to check in at 8:45pm with 2 crabby kids. When we got there we were told we could not check in unless we went and put the cash for the room back on to some sort of card. We even said we could give a $100 extra cash deposit which has never been an issue. The lady at the front desk said that was not an option. We had to drive more than 20 miles to find a place to load a debit card and wait 20 more minutes for processing. By the time we checked in it was almost 930pm. Then
we were given the wrong room. No one apologized or offered a discount or anything for the hassle. Just a "oh heres your new room" Our new room was dirty. There were Crumbs under all the furniture for our 1 year old to find and try to eat. It looked as if they vacuumed down the middle of the room but didn't want to do along the wall or anywhere else. By this point I had a migraine and was done dealing with the front desk. So we kept our dirty room. Pool was cold. Breakfast questionable. If housekeeping actually took the time to do what they are paid to and they stepped up their customer sevice skills it wouldn't be to bad of a place. Until then stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Jewel5306,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I hope your children were able to enjoy our 'Splash Bay Adventure'! It is a huge attraction and kids love our 108' waterslide. We are completely refreshing our hotel and I hope you will stop by and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The water faucet in the bathtub had a steady drip. The bathtub and the sink drained very slow, the tub was full of water while trying to just shower. The room had no TV guide. I called the front desk , and ask for one, the young lady told me she would bring one up. We waited for at least 30 minutes plus, no one showed up or called. I got dressed and went to the desk, only to be told that they didn't have anymore. She said the manager would be making more for the next day. Then I was told to just stroll through to find the channels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Cassandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have recently installed new fixtures and updated our showers! I appreciate your review and your comments. We have also updated our channel guides and have brand new guides throughout the entire hotel. Please give us a call next time you're driving through Shakopee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at the AmericInn Lodge & Suites earlier this week. This location has a pool, hot tub, and even a water slide. The rooms were kept clean and was also very happy to see that each room had a mini fridge and a microwave. I had a nice lady by the name of Hailey who I made my reservation though who did an amazing job. If I ever need to stay in this area again I will most certainly will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear James T.,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our Splash Bay Adventure is a big attraction that many people enjoy! We pride ourselves on our customer services and cleanliness of our rooms. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I emailed you and never received a reply. Now I'm getting a survey a month later...We were checked in under the wrong name, our A/C didn't work and the receptionist was on the phone with a personal call (she even told us this) that's why no one picked up. She came up to our room to check ...no one was available to fix it or give us another room. We left a day early because of our experience and no one even asked why. Worst experience at a hotel ever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Casey H.,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Junk Bonanza is a great event, there are so many steals and deals you can find! If you could please give me a call at your convenience to discuss your stay with me that would be great 952-445-6775. We look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

When we visit Shakopee, MN, we seek out this hotel every time. We have stayed at others in the area and have done all the necessary research on the surrounding hotels. The AmericInn leads the pack! I am thoroughly impressed with the pool area, the free breakfast and the condition of the hotel in general.
We were able to check in a couple hours early on a Friday even though they were expecting a full house. Check in went smooth as well as check out. Very friendly customer service making sure I was satisfied with my stay.
We will definitely be back,....

Room Tip: I was on the third floor directly off the elevator, (#305) and it wasn't the best room due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wicowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear wicowboyfan,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Next time you come and visit us we should have more of our renovations done so that you can enjoy your stay even more! Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you as our guest here at the AmericInn of Shakopee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is very well kept and is great for the price, if you don't have kids who want to swim. Room was comfortable for the most part, the breakfast was really nice, the location is great, but the pool leaves much to be desired. When we checked in it was closed and would open once they got the chemicals figured out. It opened and we went about 8pm. The kiddie pool was a good temp and my son was able to play, but the regular pool was frigid and could not be used (by me or my family anyway). The hot tub was warm and the dial for the jets was across the room. The second night we went back to the pool hoping that it had warmed up and it was still frigid and the kiddie pool was closed (a couple of signs posted by the kiddie pool said it was beyond the management's control, so not sure if it got peed in or what). I just let the kids swim in the hot tub since no one was in it and it wasn't hot. Very disappointed in the pool though. That was the reason that the hotel was chosen, the pool and water slide. I assume that the pool closures were out of the hotels control, but I've been at plenty of hotels where the water is comfortable enough to swim in, so I know that the temperature could have been increased. Whether or not there would have been enough time to notice that increase during our 2 night stay, I can't say. REALLY would have liked to have been able to use the hotel for the reason it was chosen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Jennifer H.,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our pool area has recently been renovated and refreshed! Our hotel is currently going through renovations. We are going to be renovating the rooms, public areas and lobby. Thank you again for your review! Please give us a call next time your in Shakopee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
3.7 mi away
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Prior Lake
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
2.4 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
30 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park

Address: 4100 12th Ave E, Shakopee, MN 55379-1945
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range: $78 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Shakopee _ Canterbury Park
Americinn Lodge & Suites Shakopee _ Canterbury Park Hotel Shakopee
Americinn Hotel Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing